We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, college dorm atmosphere”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over July 4. The hotel was filled with loud college kids walking around with alcohol in their hands. The room was last updated in the late 80s early 90s except for the granite counters in the bath. First thing I noticed is that the coffee table had not been wiped from the last guest. Rings from spilled drinks were very apparent as soon as I walked in. The mattress was thin and was visibly lumpy. The sofa and chair was very worn and stained. The location is good and in close proximity to lions head village. Also very close to the hospital. If you don't care that your hotel room is sticky and the public areas are filled with drunk college kids- here's your place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diedre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 326 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at this hotel in Vail. June is off-season, so the prices are more reasonable, although still above average. The physical facilities at the hotel are somewhat dated (e. g. there is no air conditioning, the carpet in the room looked worn, etc.), but the employees were extremely helpful in providing information about reasonably priced restaurants, various activities, etc. When we left, my wife had inadvertently left behind some valuable jewelry (a bracelet, earrings, and a pendant); before we even realized that these items were missing, the Head of Maintenance called us at home and told us what the maid had found. After verifying that the items were in fact ours, they promptly returned them to us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is not the worst place in the world but after experiencing others in vail this is squarely no better than a 3. We got a decent price for this hotel, and overall I couldn't justify paying more for this place.

I want to start off by saying we stayed during the go pro mountain games, and perhaps this affected the stay. But overall the stayed had the feel of staying in a party house.

Upon arrival later in the evening, the front desk attendant was kind enough to give us an extra parking pass for free, (in exchange for two positive comment cards.) Oh well. The bar is right off the lobby and it has the feel of a dive sports bar. It was pretty loud and dogs were running freely through the lobby and bar. (Again i'll chalk this up to the mountain games, but can't say for sure if that's normal.) it just felt like we were walking into a party.

The room was decent. The bed was comfortable. Small, older tv , desk and a chair. Small refrigerator. The bathroom was also fine, but the fan didn't work. There is no AC but that's normal for vail. Towels were scratchy/ uncomfortable.

We could hear dogs barking throughout the night from neighboring rooms. Guests were smoking weed on patio/outside seating area.

There seems to be a nice pool and hot tub.

The location is in the middle of the two villages behind the hospital so convenient in that sense but its not like you can just go downstairs and Be in the village like with other hotels.

The hotel got loud at night and there was glass and puke in the parking lot in the morning.

Overall I think the events of the weekend added to the feel of the stay but definetly the lowest class stay we had in vail. We never felt unsafe or anything, and if you like staying on the cheap it's decent and does the job.


Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Coloradical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I came to Vail in the off season at the end of May and the village was very quite as well as the hotel.The front desk staff was helpful .I stayed in a room with a view of the Mt.For an extra 10 dollars.We walked to Loins head to rent a bike for an afternoon and morning ride.It was cold and started to snow in the morning after our first night but we made the best of it and rode anyway.There was some construction in the parking lot but did not affect our stay.The room was clean and bed was nice.

Room Tip: Mt view was extra but make sure you are on a high floor to make it worth while.The hotel is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This warm hotel is in a good location for Vail. Bus stops right outside hotel. Only 2 short stops from Lions head.
This feels more like a lodge/hotel, decor is a few decades old but not really an issue if you are outdoors all day skiing. Beds are comfortable and clean.
Has a pool, bring swimmers, you will need it after a full day of skiing.
For what we paid in the location I am guessing we saved a lot of money considering all the new hotels around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife had an appointment on Tuesday, April 30th at the Steadman Clinic which is right next door to the Evergreen Lodge. Instead of driving really early Tuesday morning from Colo. Springs, we came up on Monday afternoon and stayed the night. Front desk person did not seem to interested in his job. Quiet, clean third floor room. Very good wi-fi connection. Too many Spanish channels on the cable tv. Comfy bed and hot shower. Would stay again if just interested in hotel room.

Room Tip: If you are visiting Steadman Clinic and need to stay the night, they give a discount at this hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

First off, if you are looking for a full resort/spa experience, this is not the place. This is a hotel. While the building is rather old, it’s clean and well taken care off. Couple of things worth mentioning, Wi-Fi signal is pretty weak, so is TV signal. But if you are there to enjoy what Vail has to offer, this place is great value for the money. Hotel is within walking distance from Lionshead Village and Eagle Bahn gondola. Shuttle buses run at about 5 min. intervals and provide quick and easy access to both villages. Hotel has indoor hot tub, heated outdoor pool and sauna. Breakfast buffet is not very impressive, but prices are reasonable (for Vail). If you want something different, there are plenty of breakfast choices in the villages.

Room Tip: There is a bar in the lobby, which can get noisy at night Try to avoid rooms on the first level if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.6 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range: $137 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing