We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & Fun Place to Stay”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Evergreen is a great place to stay -- the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and most of all it's affordable. The beds weren't the best -- more of a typical old school mattress & box springs vs. the comfort beds some hotels have. The bar is fun - typical, but good, bar food and entertaining. The parking is free - which is important in Vail. It's also within walking distance to the Steadman Clinic and Vail hospital if you are coming for Ortho surgery. I would recommend to anyone looking for a basic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beza316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 327 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Evergreen Lodge twice now and find that it is a great hotel for those without megabucks to enjoy Vail mountain. The rooms are clean but very basic. We were hoping, as Brits, to be able to connect a portable device to the TV and watch our own programs (instead of 50% adverts) but no flat screen and therefore no HDMI. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is provided, however, after 9 days it does get extremely boring. I found that with back and neck problems, the beds were quite comfortable. There is a fridge and hot drink facilities in the rooms. The hotel is also only a five minute walk from Lionhead village and the gondola. In short, if you are wealthy then there are better places to stay, but if you are on a budget then there is not much to complain about here.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotster_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Rooms were good size. Bathroom and sink area look like recently redone. The manager is amazing, doing everything he can to rectify even minor issues. Good location along the Vail bus route(free). these buses come every 5 min so do not need car. Would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skilarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Right off the Vail shuttle route (2min walk), between Lionshead and Vail Village. Nothing fancy, but nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Decent bar on site and hot tub (inside) / heated pool (outside). Free parking is also a bonus.

Only complaint is we were told incorrectly by the staff that the hot tub was open as late as we'd like, to come back and find out it closes at 10pm :P

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nas_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Nothing special. Your basic hotel room, a little run down. For us, at New Year's, it iwas the closest accomodation to reasonable. Looking through a different lens, it was vastly overpriced, but not for Vail... Excellent location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illinois60yr-old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was invited to join friends on a ski trip who have been going to Veil for more than ten years, and who always return to the excellent location, hospitality and value offered by the Evergreen Lodge. Not "plush," but perfectly suitable and only a five minute walk to the ski area and village amenities. We had a great time and found the staff very accommodating. They also offer a very good breakfast. The bar tended to be a bit noisy for our tastes, but the service was acceptable and the food good.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms avoid elevator transit time and hassle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night while awaiting our condo for the holidays. We booked the room through Vail/Beaver Creek Central Reservations and our rate was $100 more than the posted price on the Evergreen's website on our check-in date. When we asked the front front desk clerk about the rate differences she replied, too late you have already paid. We also asked about a free upgrade they were advertising. The clerk replied, since we have already paid it was $20. We then asked to speak to a manager, no one on site - what a surprise.

We made it to our room. It was equipped with an old TV, mushy beds, no hangers in closets and uncontrollable thermostat. Thank goodness it was only one night!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#10 of 30 in Vail
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#17 of 30 in Vail
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wren
The Wren
#21 of 30 in Vail
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range: $167 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing