We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Racquet Club 'served' its purpose...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort
Ranked #13 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Central California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Racquet Club 'served' its purpose...”
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We were looking for a nice room for a 5 night visit to Vail for a January ski trip, our first to Vail. We choose the Racquet Club because it was the highest rated and "lowest' price" place (if there is such a thing in Vail) on TripAdvisor's top ten list for Vail.

Our visit started off poorly, with a later then planned arrival to Vail, due to a snowstorm which had us ultimately arriving at the Vail/Eagle airport, and getting a rental car just before 10pm on a Sunday night, driving in the same snowstorm. I should mention that the rental car lady at the Vail airport took pity on us and upgraded us to a better SUV to drive in the storm with, which really helped us out - we encountered a lot of friendly service in the Vail area during our entire week.

We had dumbly forgot to print out directions to the Racquet Club to bring with us, and we soon realized that finding the property was going to be near impossible due to the conditions, the time of night (everything we saw looked closed), and the fact that Vail was a whole lot bigger then it looked on the website maps (duh!), so we called the front desk from our cell phone to get directions, and luckily for us, talked to the front desk clerk just before he closed up for the night - because this is not a hotel, but basically a health club type front desk, he told us he was closing up, and our keys would be in a lockbox outside the office, and gave us directions from I-70. I'll spare the details of how lucky we were to eventually stumble on the place, as the combination of his not-too-great directions (you could tell he just wanted to go home), and the confounded 'roundabouts' in the roads all around Vail that we had to deal with all week (whoever designed these things should be condemmed in hell to driving around them endlessly) made it a real challenge.
We did find the office by the grace of the snow Gods, and found our 1 bedroom unit. It was on the 2nd floor of a 3 story unit, was nicely decorated, and did have everything advertised that it would. Here's the short list of the good and bad features:
Good:
- Nicely decorated, comfortable, on the small side, but doable for us, because we just needed a place to sleep and shower, as we planned on spending most of our time on the slopes and in the village, which is how it pretty much worked out.
- Kitchen was nicely equip[ed with all the essentials, everything was on the newer side.
-Living room was comfortable, but more than 2 people would be a crowd in our 1 bedroom unit.
-The free Vail bus service was great, especially after having a few drinks in the village and not having to drive afterwards. There are actually 3 stops at the Racquet Club, just a short walk from wherever your unit is.
-Parking was easy , right by your door, and free ( we didn't know that you have to pay to park in Vail at a lot of other places)

Bad:
- The thermostat is for decoration only. The room stayed too warm (about 82), no matter what you turned the dial to.
- The bathroom is extremely small, and the space for sitting on the toilet would challenge a contortionist - it was crammed in a space just big enough to fit it between the wall and the bathtub - if you are claustrophobic at all, this is not the place for you.
- We did have a fireplace, but actually lighting a fire was impossible with the wood they provided - it was the stuff you buy at the convenience store, advertised as "seasoned and quick lighting", which was a joke - a blowtorch wouldn't light this stuff.
- The maid left our door unlocked on two days - luckily, the front door is in a hallway shared with one other unit, so nobody noticed , and we were not missing anything, but we took everything valuable to our car during the day for the rest of our stay, as we didn't trust them to lock up properly.
-We never did try the on-site restaurant, as the price list seemed high, and there are so many other restaurant choices in the Village to choose from.
- Your "concierge" will probably be a ski-bum college kid who will most likely address you at some point as "dude".
- The bathtub had such slow draining water that we took it into our own hands (literally) to fix the problem, and used the toilet plunger under the sink to try and speed things along - and brought up a huge chunk of hair, which fixed the problem - but who wants to deal with that on their vacation ? Plus, there was some mildew along the bathtub tiles.

On the whole, it was nice , but just OK, and we would only recommend the Racquet Club if the price was right for you.

  • Liked — Price / location
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Skiersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    71
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
109
48
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

While looking for a place to stay at Vail, we found almost everything to be too expensive that was near the mountain. So we looked a little farther from the mountain and found this place - what a steal! We rented what was basically a one bedroom condo/time-share for 3 nights, and while smaller then a real condo, it was perfect. It had a working fireplace, BBQ, small deck, ski storage, nice decorations, full kitchen, seperate bathroom/sink area and so on. The front desk staff were really nice, and your stay entitles you to access to a sauna and gym facilities. Everything was modern and up to date. The area was quiet - we could not hear people in other units - and there was a private entry to each unit from the outside.

If you rented a car and are going to ski Vail, getting on/off the highway is a piece of cake from this location. This place is NOT near the mountain (it’s about an 8 minute drive in good road conditions) but it does offer a few free shuttle bus stops on the condo property. For those who can’t brave the cold, note that the shuttle stops are not necessarily anywhere near your condo (up to a half mile away in some cases) and may not be covered - ask when booking to be near the shuttle stop if you can!

A few other notes we learned about the rooms... Try to get a room that doesn't face the highway. It doesn't really matter that much, but it's good to ask. Even if you get a room that DOES face the highway, you likely won't be able to hear or see the highway - the elevations of the condos and the highway are significantly different, and there is a stream and trees between you and the highway so it's not really a big deal. (Our room DID face the highway - it was a non-issue)

Also, some units have gas-powered fireplaces and some are wood/real fireplaces. Our preference was gas actually, but your preference may be different. Ask!

Finally, note that if you're doing the late check-in thing, you should call in advance during the day to get the lockbox code. There is no 24 hour front desk service and on the Expedia booking page it was VERY unclear that there were special arrangements to be made for after-hours check-in. Luckily, you can call the hotel and push a button to get "after hours" service, but it's just an answering service. Save yourself the headache - call ahead and let them know you'll be checking in late!

One last tip about the area... Save money! Pack a lunch for the slopes and cook dinner at the condo. A corner store named Sim’s is just down the road from the condos. They have just about everything you might need for simple lunches/dinners, although you have to hunt a bit for it as the store is not a full grocery and it's probably $0.50 more per item then a real grocery. They also have an attached full liquor store.

  • Liked — Great value, fabulous condo. Everything was great!
  • Disliked — Check-in after-hours process, poor directions to the location. Street signs were covered with snow. Hard to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a real fireplace and a room not facing the highway.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RdFltErr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

If you are looking for a great value, The Vail Racquet Club is the place to stay. My family was looking for a affordable weekend getaway and we found that there. We had a 2 bedroom condominium and it was just perfect. The condo had a comfortable amount of space and it was very nicely appointed. Also, who can go wrong with 2 outdoor hot tubs and an outdoor heated swimming pool in the clubhouse area. I even attended a yoga class, I thought I might as well since it was free. I've stayed several other places in Vail and you really can't beat The Vail Racquet Club with their prices and all the ammentities they offer.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Penn3516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

I stayed here Sept. 1st for 3 nights in a one bedroom creekside with my husband and two children (ages 5 and 8). We loved it.
Units are small but updated, remodeled and VERY clean. The pool and spa area are beautiful and remodelled. Jacuzzi is huge and hot and looks out over the mountain. Pool is also large and heated. Grass area by the creek and playground were clean and beautiful. Front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant so I can't comment on that. There is freeway noise, but Vail is next to the freeway so I expected that. This is not luxury but the price isn't either. I am very picky and I think this is a very, very nice place.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank rounsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2006

Stay for 6nights this Jan while skiing in Vail and Beaver Creek. Free parking next to the condo which was very convenient. We had a cozy 2 bed condo which was a home away from home. Not massive but comfortable for a family of 4-5ppl. Open plan kitchen with everything one could need for cooking anything. Large dining area for 6ppl. Smallish lounge area but real wood fire was a nice touch.

Gym was well equipped despite not using it much after a hard days skiing. Hottub next to the heated pool was a much nicer place to be. The restaurant onsite was nice but pricey. So opted to drive to Avon where there is a massive Walmart for everything that you could wish for. Shuttle stop into Vail each day was a short walk.

Friendly and good service at receiption. Would recommend this place and would stay again

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank supermanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2006

My husband's family does an extended ski weekend in Vail every year. For the past four years, we've stayed at VRC. The club just completed an awesome renovation last summer. Complimentary coffee and wireless internet in the clubhouse is great. The health club facilities were improved and a hot tub was added by the pool.
The condos and townhomes are comfortable, spacious and just like home. It's really cool to see the owner's special touches. There are fireplaces in every unit, with firewood delivered daily. VRC's location in East Vail keeps it off the beaten path and nice and quiet. There's an excellent restaurant on site, or if you choose, you're only 15 min away from all of the great nightlife in town.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2005

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath condo for a week in February. We were very impressed with it. Our's had a fireplace, full kitchen, dining room, and living room. It was very clean and well kept. The washer and dryer were a nice addition also. Laundry soap was included as was free firewood. The area was very quiet. We took the free shuttle to Vail to ski. It came every 15 min. all day into late at night. I would definitely stay here again. The only negative part of our stay was the only restaurant at the condos wouldn't deliver or even let us take-out food on a Friday evening. We called them at 4:30pm and they said they were to busy so we had to call back around 8:30pm for take-out! They advertise they have delivery and take-out during their open hours. We thought that was rude. Expecially since we were staying there. Oh well. Overall a great experience!

Helpful?
10 Thank llz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
4.3 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
4.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
343 reviews
4.4 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#10 of 30 in Vail
282 reviews
4.4 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 30 in Vail
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort
Address: 4695 Vail Racquet Club Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2015 Certificate of Excellence award by Trip Advisor and our GUESTS! Nestled in a quiet location in East Vail, the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resorts' 20+acres boarder the White River National Forest and Gore Creek meanders in and around the grounds. One - three bedroom condos surround the extensive open park area in free standing, 3-story Alpine buildings. A foot path and bridge over Gore Creek leads to the townhome area of the grounds. All units are individually decorated and quality controlled by the Vail Valley Chamber with a Gold rated standing. Blu's Restaurant & Bar is on-site and serves dinner nightly (seasonally). While resort parking is free, guests are encouraged to take Vail's free shuttle service which runs year round to and from the Village, Ford Park and Betty Ford Gardens to name a few. For winter guests, the bus also drops at the main Vail transportation center for easy access to the slopes. This free bus service has 2 convenient stops on the property, guests are shuttled every 15 minutes during ski season and hourly in spring/summer. The full service health club and extensive amenities are complimentary to all resort guests. Includes weight & cardio rooms, fitness classes, sauna & steam rooms, year-round heated pool, 2 large hot tubs and locker rooms. The grounds boast 9 tennis courts (seasonally, 3 clay), wedding ceremony sites, large, communal park & BBQ patio and children's playground. In summer season, easily access the extensive hike and bike trails of East Vail. Borrow one of the complimentary bikes and see the sights. In winter, borrow the snow shoes and venture out your door for some exciting exercise. Condos and Townhomes alike all have full sized living areas. Meaning you have a full kitchen with all the items you need. We deliver your complimentary firewood for either your wood burning stove or fireplace (winter season only). Each bedroom has a bathroom with a day's supply of Aveda products. Some units have a pull out sofa sleeper in the living area. Bedding configurations vary but the master bedroom will have a queen bed. The second and third will have either a twin bed or a queen). Please let us know your bedding desires when booking direct. 1 Bedroom: 576 sq ft. Max occupancy: 4 2 Bedroom: 874 sq ft. Max occupancy: 6 3 Bedroom: Condo: 1,100 sq ft. Max occupancy: 8 3 Bedroom: Townhome: 1,600 sq ft. Max occupancy: 8 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Racquet Club Townhomes And Condominiums Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing