We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was my first of what will be annual trips to Vail. The hotel is conveniently located close to the ski resort and the concierge service is great. The service was wonderful and I am looking forward to returning next January.

Room Tip: convenient concierge service, skis and held for you feet from the gondola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfrisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    77
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
183
313
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week at the Sonnenalp and found it to be a wonderful and charming place. The staff was very responsive to our requests and we found customer service to be their strong suit. Their concierge was very effective in organizing everything we needed (transporation, restaurant reservations, etc.). We really enjoyed the quaint and family feel of the hotel. Their breakfast buffet was indeed excellent and noteworthy as many American hotels seem to skimp on breakfast for their guests (or charge an outrageous amount).

Our room was a two level suite and worked very well for our situation. The decor was a bit old school (chalet style) but that's to be expected given the Sonnenalp's style. We did have to switch rooms as our first room was located right next to the water boiler/furnace (Room 415), which turned on/off with a rumble and hum throughout the night. They changed our room with no questions asked and the second room was great.

Initially I was worried that the hotel was at the far end of Vail village, but in fact it was only a 5 minute walk from Gondola One and we no trouble getting aroud Vail. The ski concierge was a great amenity.

We did have some hickups when we requested hypoallergenic sheets and pillows. They don't have hypoallergenic comforters so we were given blankets, which just didn't provide the same level of warmth. Our request for two extra pillows (the two pillows provided were just really small) also seemed to cause some confusion as we returned to our room to find a huge foam triangle.

The Swiss Chalet was truly excellent. Being Swiss, I usually try to avoid Swiss food outside of Switzerland but we went twice. The Kasespaetzli were incredible. Raclette was served with extensive granishment as it should be.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful, gorgeous Hotel in Vail Village. The staff is superb, from the Concierge, the front desk, to the bellhop. A truly magnificent ski resort to spend the holidays with the family. I truly enjoyed the top notch service, from checking in to check out.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I loved staying at the Sonnenalp. It was a fantastic experience and I would definitely stay there again. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was incredible. I had to take a photo of my hot chocolate - it looked as good as it tasted!! It has a nice lobby bar with live music every night. We had home made cookies delivered to our room every night. It was truly a unique experience...I'm so glad I found the Sonnenalp and that the reservation agent convinced me to stay there instead of some place else! Highly recommend it and wish I could go back...only one little mishap with housekeeping.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We made last minute plans, literally the day before we arrived and got a great AAA rate with breakfast included from Jan. 11th for three nights to take advantage of the 10 inches of fresh powder. The Bald Mountain suite (519) was much larger than the suite we stayed in about three years ago. The staff was friendly and I loved the little ski house/basement space near the mountain lift to put your boots on and they store your skis and boots overnight. The breakfast buffet was outstanding every morning and we sat on the terrace area for the best views. We tried to eat at the Bully Bar one night but it was too crowded and ended up going to their Swiss Chalet and eating at the bar. We had one of our best meals in Vail at the bar area there, do try it. We will return a third time for a short weekend trip again, but would not stay there long term, better to rent a condo for longer stays.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex3485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have stayed in many different venues in this area over the years...condos with the kids, hotels without the kids. I have to say that Sonnenalp is head and shoulders above all the hotels we have stayed in. The atmosphere is European with wonderful breakfast buffets. The staff are very well trained compared to others which employ seasonal help of marginal competence. The rooms are spacious with fireplaces and the best feature is radiant heated floors in the bathroom. Lighting is a bit dark. As compared to others, there is ample stowage space for skiwear and regular clothing. There is a ski storage area right at the gondola where the staff is efficient and helpful. It is however a trek to get there from the hotel especially returning at the end of a long day skiing.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the courtyard. Other sides face the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This has been the 3rd time that we made the 8000 miles trip to stay at the Sonnenalp Hotel for our winter holiday. Not only is it totally worth the trip, it is every time every day an experience. Not only do they offer everything you'd expect for a hotel of this category, they manage it to make it special each single day. They seem to know that it is the people who make service special to the guest. All staff members we've had contact to were excellent; we however want to specially mention Ram and Stefan from the breakfast buffet. They both set an excellent example for how service should be.
You really find hardly any criticism about anything; if I really had to mention any, I would prefer if they wouldn't allow dogs in the hotel, but that's a personal thing.
We're already looking forward to our next stay at the Sonnenalp!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusmaddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#1 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#6 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing