We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonnenalp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveler rating
973
101
26
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
101
26
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbully ranchswiss chaletfondueoxygen barcookiesking's clubjuniper roomheated floorsspa areabreakfast buffetturn down servicethe indoor outdoor pooljunior suiteski hauseuropean feelski conciergefavorite hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

.......is move it about 800 yards closer to One Gondola!

Since I think that's a bit much to ask of even the ever-helpful and charming Sonnenalp staff, I guess we'll just have to put up with the walk.

I decided to upgrade to a Junior Suite which worked quite well as it meant I had a fire (albeit gas rather than wood) to dry and warm my ski gear. It was nice but not that big.

One of the things I do like about the Sonnenalp is their range of restaurants. I really recommend the Swiss Chalet for something different/special. I do love playing with/cooking my own food and their range of raclette and fondue options are great.

I used the spa and outdoor hot tub for the first time. They were nice (but the men's sauna was way too cold).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Truly a great "boutique" European Hotel. Family run since the 80's. Great food venues, everything from fine dining to burgers for the kids. We love their Swiss Restaurant. We have tried many other hotels in Vail, but keep coming back to the Sonnenalp. There is never an issue with anything. We have stayed here at least 15 times without one hitch. The Fessler Family is always there to greet you. You can pay more but it won't be as good as the Sonnenalp, we know we did!

Room Tip: We like the Creek side.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We always look forward to visiting Vail in the winter since we live in Florida and love the "winter wonderland" effect of Vail. We visited a few days before the ski seasons began and enjoyed lower rates and less people. We were upgraded to the best suite we have ever had and that wonderful surprise set the tone for an extra memorable time.

The suite was large and had a lovely view with many windows to enjoy it from. We enjoyed the spa on our first full day there and rested and lounged around drinking tea and reading. So many special things are included that you can pack light and still be comfortable. Nice lotions, lip balm and warm robe and slippers are provided. There is a library with lots of books and delicious teas available at the pool and spa area.

We thoroughly enjoy basking in the comfort and beauty of the hotel and surroundings and truly appreciate the kindness of everyone we met. I cannot think of one encounter that was the slightest bit rude or unpleasant during our entire stay.

Room Tip: The Blue Spruce rooms are larger than Lodgepole rooms but have had both and thought they were all excellent.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotel-pursuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome in this lovely property. Despite Vail suffering from low temperatures, we were very cosy in this hotel, whether in our very well appointed room, in Ludwig’s restaurant, in the bar, in Bully’s Ranch or in the spa area. First, our room. Gorgeous, gorgeous bed, linens, pillows that you just sank into. So much so, that you didn’t want to get out of bed at all. The fire was a lovely touch too. The bathroom was huge complete with tub and separate shower as well as two vanity sinks. We had a great lunch at Bully’s with fantastic staff and it was nice to see the owners in there dining, too. The spa was our highlight as it reminded us very much of Austrian hotels in the Alps with the open fire, the tea, the yellow and white candy striped loungers, the hot tub as well as the indoor/outdoor pool which was lovely to swim in especially as it had just snowed outside. We also dined at the Swiss Chalet restaurant and we highly recommend you go for the cheese fondue – a real delight. In summary, it was a short stay at Sonnenalp, but a dreamy one. I hope to return one day so experience some more Austrian Gemütlichkeit in the heart of the Colorado Rockies.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Sonnenalp Resort is an incredible place for a vacation in Vail. Everyone at the Sonnenalp is friendly and anxious to help you with whatever you may need. The restaurants are awesome. The view from the rooms is incredible and it is very convenient to local restaurants, shopping and skiing. Can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of Gore Creek are by far the best.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews