We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Favorite”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. They have incredible service, great restaurants, and great rooms, regardless of what type of the room type you choose for your stay. You cannot go wrong with this choice, should you be willing to pay for the luxury...it is not cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Vail. I reserved our room based on TripAdvisor reviews, and was well-advised. The hotel was lovely, rooms warm and cozy, staff was GREAT, location excellent. Breakfast buffet was beautiful, but as we came down late, some of the items had obviously been sitting out a bit too long, i.e., the Eggs Benedict. Wait staff was very attentive. Only a couple minor complaints re our room: the bed had a nice duvet, but when we were too warm for that, there was no top sheet on the bed to cover with. And the bathroom shower (room 307) needed to be cleaned of some mold in the corners. For a luxury hotel, this shouldn't have been an issue.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for Vail visitors.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tricie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Sonnenalp! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Vail Valley in the near future.

-Johannes Faessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Outstanding in all respects. Luxury, superb and friendly service and a great location in Vail village. Large comfortable rooms. Our deal included free breakfast - this was excellent, buffet style with lots of choice. The berries and muesli we had were delicious. Highly recommended - but not cheap.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time last weekend and starting with the reservations process all the way to checkout four days later, this stay was a great experience. The hotel itself is centrally located, and the whole interior including the rooms make you feel you are somewhere in the European alps. The staff, which is mostly European as well, does a wonderful job, courteous and customer focused at all times, providing excellent service. Valet and luggage service were prompt on check-in and check-out, and our Concierge proved to be invaluable with his restaurant recommendations and hiking trail info, including printouts of trail descriptions and topo maps. Did I mention breakfast? Second to none I have had in any hotel and a nice outside terrace to sit on overlooking the creek, woods and pool. Wouldn't stay at anywhere else in Vail.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demandingcust0mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As to be expected the rooms are not cheap and only include basic amenities. We stayed for a wedding we were in with our young son. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. They maybe go a little too far with the cleaning of the rooms, but it's a nice touch. Water and cookies were delivered to our room in the evening and beds turned down. The pool seemed nice, though we didn't get a chance to use it. The location was perfect, easy walking distance to anything. All the staff at the hotel is what made the stay so wonderful. The car porters/ concierge/ bell hop were awesome (and very patient!). I would go back (especially if I had a coupon!)! The added bonus was the oxygen bar for the out of town guests who weren't used to the altitude. Nice touch there!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelWay970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Sonnenalp! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

-Johannes Faessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Talk about excellence this hotel excels. The ambiance is second to none....very European including staff. It offers everything you would want for a stay in Vail including a wonderful spa & fine golf course plus location. We totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Vail for the first time. We loved this hotel so much I cannot imagine staying anywhere else. The rooms were spacious and well-cared for; the staff amazingly attentive; in and of itself, our bathroom was divine, with heated marble floors (didn't really need them this summer, but still ...); and the hotel common areas were just lovely. My husband travels on business all the time and frequently finds even an Omni or Intercontinental a bit shabby - you could call him a hotel snob. I do. As we were leaving the Sonnenalp he told me this was perhaps his favorite place he's ever stayed - and he's traveled the world over.

We stayed in a Mill Creek Suite - one that was all on one level. It had a view of the village, and not a particularly nice one at that. Still, it offered great comfort and plenty of room to spread out. And we loved the refillable water bottles and fresh cookies housekeeping left in the evenings.

We took the breakfast option with our room and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful breakfast buffet every morning. The food was good; the view and attentive waitstaff even better. For a low-key summer vacation, it was the perfect beginning to every day. My thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 214KatieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $292 - $1,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing