We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escapism”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife, teenage son, and I recently spend time at this wonderful property. I don't mean to sound "stuffy", but it takes a good deal to impress us in our travels, and this establishment did. It is a wonderful little piece of Alpine Europe here in the states. The location in Vail of course provides for superb scenery into which the Sonnenalp fits so well. The property itself is well maintained with beautiful flowers everywhere and little noise. The interior is warm, dimly lit (in a positive way) and contains a bar, library, gameroom, and numerous restaurants; all clean & welcoming and done in an Alpine motif. The brightest area is the spa which has an indoor & outdoor hot-tub and pool that is both internal and external; all surrounded by manicured woodland. Our room was plaster and wood framed Swiss lodge style, and actually consisted of several rooms (bedroom with fireplace and balcony, huge bath area, dressing room, and hallway). Turn-down service, laid out robes & slippers, and cookies await you at night. The breakfast was large, varied, and exceptionally prepared. One night we ate outside at one of the restaurants (Bully Ranch) and the food and service were again first rate. I must especially comment on all the staff. They are very numerous (even though this is the 'slow' season), cheerful and exceedingly helpful while always maintaining a calm dignity. Every staff member makes each guest a priority. One evening the bartender, despite being quite busy, was far more concerned than my wife that he had prepared her tea properly. The Sonnenalp was one of our most pleasant stays anywhere, and we highly recommend it for anyone visiting the Denver/Vail area. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Sonnenalp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 991 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our recent stay at the Sonnenalp was good, not great. The first time our whole family went to the Sonnenalp, we stayed in a Mill Creek suite, which was large enough for 4 people. We were so impressed with the place, we decided to for sure stay there again. This time (3 yrs later), it was just going to be the two of us, so I booked a smaller, Lodgepole suite, requesting a creek view and a king sized bed. When we arrived, the staff was very nice and confirmed our suite with 2 DOUBLE beds. When I said we should have a suite with one king bed and not 2 doubles, she said they did not have any left. What?? Isn't that the point of the reservation?

When arriving in our room, it was indeed large and beautiful (room 305), but the 2 double beds were very small. We called down and asked for any room we could upgrade to that had one king sized bed. We were told there was a Mill Creek suite with a king sized bed, but it did not have a creek view. Thinking that the suite would be the same size as the one we stayed in during our first visit 3 yrs ago (since it had the same name), we accepted the change in rooms (and an upgrade fee). To our HUGE disappointment when we got to our new room it was TINY (room 446). Yes, it had a king sized bed, but everything else was tiny - living area, bathroom, and closets - only room for 2 people, max. And yet for the smaller room, we had to pay an upgrade fee?? Apparently, there are different sizes of Mill Creek suites (and probably all suites), so be sure to ask about that when you book. Had I known about the room size difference and the fee, we probably would have just stayed in our suite with the 2 double beds.

It just seems to me this could have all been avoided if they could have just given us the type of room I requested in the first place. Next time, I will call the Sonnenalp directly and make sure our needs are known rather than just booking online and hoping for the best. I am still irked about this, but we did enjoy our stay despite the very small room. Everything else about the place was still just as great as we remembered: the delicious breakfast, the incredible spa, close proximity to the village, and the polite and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Just because suites have the same name does not mean they are all the same size. Be sure and ask if...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamiN1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have stayed at Sonnenalp many times in the past 20 years...at least once annually at a business conference every June. The conference moved to other venues, but we always tried to get back and finally did after a two-year absence. This great hotel is at its best ever...and it has always been terrific. From the front desk, to the waitstaff, the concierge and the staff in the spa, each and every encounter was warm and friendly.

The room was remarkably spacious and spotless, the amenities are excellent and were refreshed every day. Our suite was perfectly silent and it was really quite surprising as we slept in on departure day and when we exited the room the Housekeeping staff was working on the room next to ours and we never heard a sound.

If you have a group, even a small one of several couples, speak with Group Sales and you should able to get a great room rate, a deal on golf at Sonnenalp's golf course and perhaps a discount at the spa.

This is Vail at its finest. There are reviews here on TA that are less than 5s...from our experience over two decades those are difficult to understand. Every stay of ours has had us searching the calendar for an opportunity to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review!

I am so happy to read that we have continued to meet your expectations here at the Sonnenalp Hotel. It is certainly our priority to make sure all of our guests experience the very best Vail has to offer.

I hope to welcome you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the moment we stepped off the shuttle, the staff was welcoming and smiling. They were friendly and helpful for our entire stay! The rooms were amazing, and being right in the village was so convenient. We were just a step away from everything!!! Loved this trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Sonnenalp!

We try to offer the very best service grounded in traditional European hospitality.

I hope to personally welcome you back to the Sonnenalp and the Vail Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent part of our honeymoon at this resort and could not be more pleased with our stay. Our room was clean, well appointed and had a beautiful view. I had some spa treatments and would highly recommend the hand and foot treatments. There is a large couch surrounding an indoor fireplace by the indoor/outdoor pool that was extremely peaceful and relaxing to sit by.

The resort was very quiet, we were there mid-week in June and appreciated the ambiance. Definitely go for the room with breakfast option- it is absolutely worth it. Victor the concierge was very helpful with setting up activities and giving us dining recommendations.
We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the get-go your stay here is made great by the staff. Everyone greets you with a smile and is so friendly. The hotel has a cool old world feel to it. Room was beautiful with large exposed wooden beams. The bathroom is massive! Large stand up tiled shower and a huge bathtub separate. We checked in and then went out and explored Vail. When we returned they had pulled the comforter back and set up our bed for sleeping. They placed slippers by the bed and left us cookies and premium purified water. All these little extra touches are what make this place so wonderful. When looking for hotels in Vail there are sooooo many to chose from, but trust me you will not be disappointed with this choice.

Room Tip: Vail has free parking during the summer that is a short walk away from the hotel so you can avoid th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaswan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Sonnenalp Hotel. I am so glad to read that you had a wonderful experience with us. I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a very nice couple of days at the Sonnenalp but just can't give it 5 stars. The staff was very friendly and it is in a great location. A couple of minor complaints were that the elevators are brutally slow and they ran out of things on the buffet (as a result of being very busy which is probably a good thing from their perspective). Overall I'd give it a thumbs up but 5 stars to me means it was perfect.

Room Tip: The mountain or the village views are the best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Sonnenalp Hotel.

We always appreciate guest feedback and strongly believe it is the most important measure of success.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Vail in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#8 of 30 in Vail
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $245 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing