We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Summer Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Or
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Summer Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I made a solo trip to Sonnenalp in June. It is a beautiful and impreccably managed hotel. The staff attends to the details with care, humor and good taste. The service level is ambitious and the location could not be better. The pool adjacent to the creek is also lovely and relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    81
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
192
329
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our third stay at the Sonnenalp in Vail. Out of curiosity, we've looked into other hotels in Vail Village, and honestly, we can't find one that matches the service and ammenities we receive at Sonnenalp.

Sonnenalp is right in the heart of Vail Village which means you can walk practically everywhere east or west in the village. On Tuesdays during the summer months, we like to stroll down to the ampitheater for free concerts; we also walk to the various restaurants and shops and just leave the car parked.

One of the things that sets Sonnenalp apart from a lot of hotels is that the service is wonderful. You literally will get a "good morning" or "hello" each time you step into the hotel or off the elevator. The staff knows what they are doing, and takes time to know who you are. Additionally, if you are feeling adventurous, you can arrange a number of activities through the concierge, or arrange to play a round of golf at the Sonnenalp course.

The atmosphere is comfortable and there are plenty of places to just relax on the property--whether in their library, the lounge or in a chaise by the pool. Although this was our third visit, we were surprised to see that the room appeared to have a few upgrades from the last "Lodge Pole" room we stayed in. We aren't sure if it was remodeled or if the rooms just vary a bit, but it had a rather modern bathroom and a nice little terrace to walk out on to.

Room Tip: Visit the resort's website. Our Lodge Pole room faced the pedestrian mall which meant we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandSmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us at the Sonnenalp Hotel.

It sure sounds like you were plenty busy on your most recent trip! Summertime in the Vail Valley is full of wonderful activities.

We strongly believe that great service is our best asset and strive to achieve the highest possible standards for our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our second time at the Sonnenalp. The service, cleanliness, friendliness, attention to detail and great bed will bring us back. This is truly one of the most awesome places that we have ever stayed. Our congrats to them for never failing to meet expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sonnenalp is number one for a reason. We'd been traveling around Colorado on a 10 day trip when we checked out TripAdvisor recommendations for Vail. Sonnenalp is a beautiful, perfectly located property in the heart of Vail village with a great staff that made the trip memorable. Kelly at the front desk made sure we found a suite to fit our budget (Millcreek) and John took care of our luggage, our car and made recommendations about things to see. Even though we arrived late, the staff had the room turned down immediately and brought us cookies and spring water. There were robes and slippers for the whole family and very comfortable beds. The next morning they called to tell us we could check out at 4:00 pm. Take a look at the professional pictures of this property and be sure it really is a stunning swiss alps looking property.
For the budget conscious traveler, Sonnenalp costs only a little more than all the other places we stayed in Colorado but was by far the best...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

And book the best hotel anywhere....yes, very seriously, the Sonnenalp is perfect......ok, in season the hotel can be expensive but don't let that stop you...try june or their other off season's specials....I could go on and on about how wonderful the Sonnenalp is but you can read that with any of the many reviews listed.....so treat yourself,your significant other, your family or as my son did, gifted us with a 48th wedding anniversary surprise.. We have been fortunate enough to have stayed at the this hotel many times and been able to travel to other vacation spots BUT we always come back to the Sonnenalp ....DON'T be put off by the 48th anniversary......the hotel caters to all ages and is was filled so many activities everyone can find their happy place!!!!! Brian, you are the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank so you much for your great review of the Sonnenalp!

I was delighted to read that you decided to spend your 48th wedding anniversary at our hotel. What a great occasion!

We hope to welcome you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you have the opportunity, do yourself a favor and stay at the Sonnenalp. It is a bit pricey, but it is well worth it. You get good value for your dollar. Everything about the stay was perfect from the service, the parking attendant, the bellmen, and front desk. We were warmly greeted and treated. The room is really nice and roomy; everything seems new and in excellent condition. The bathroom has marble floors and marble countertops. I couldn't even count the number of towels in there, all white and fluffy. The room has complimentary robes, slippers, and water. The bed was perfect for me not too hard, not too soft, and covered with a white douvet. We couldn't have been happier with the stay. The valet parking is a bit extreme I think at $24 per day, but the car is looked after and not to worry. And the hotel is just a few minutes walking to the center of Vail Village. This is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt33332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love traveling and have stayed at my share of Hotels all over the world but the Sonnenalp in Vail never fails to amaze me. The staff, the service, the condition of the rooms, its like a little city where nothing is missed. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing