We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonnenalp
Nearby Hotels
Tivoli Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$447
$431
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $705/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Talisa, Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
$254
Starwood.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort(Vail)(Great Value!)
$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lion Square Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sebastian - Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
$339
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $427/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort(Vail)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Austria Haus Hotel(Vail)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vail Mountain Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$265
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $309/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$516
$369
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveler rating
997
104
26
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
997
104
26
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbully ranchswiss chaletfondueoxygen barking's clubcookiesheated floorsspa areabreakfast buffetjunior suiteturn down servicethe indoor outdoor poolski hauseuropean feelski conciergefavorite hotelwalk in closet
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

And book the best hotel anywhere....yes, very seriously, the Sonnenalp is perfect......ok, in season the hotel can be expensive but don't let that stop you...try june or their other off season's specials....I could go on and on about how wonderful the Sonnenalp is but you can read that with any of the many reviews listed.....so treat yourself,your significant other, your family or as my son did, gifted us with a 48th wedding anniversary surprise.. We have been fortunate enough to have stayed at the this hotel many times and been able to travel to other vacation spots BUT we always come back to the Sonnenalp ....DON'T be put off by the 48th anniversary......the hotel caters to all ages and is was filled so many activities everyone can find their happy place!!!!! Brian, you are the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank so you much for your great review of the Sonnenalp!

I was delighted to read that you decided to spend your 48th wedding anniversary at our hotel. What a great occasion!

We hope to welcome you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you have the opportunity, do yourself a favor and stay at the Sonnenalp. It is a bit pricey, but it is well worth it. You get good value for your dollar. Everything about the stay was perfect from the service, the parking attendant, the bellmen, and front desk. We were warmly greeted and treated. The room is really nice and roomy; everything seems new and in excellent condition. The bathroom has marble floors and marble countertops. I couldn't even count the number of towels in there, all white and fluffy. The room has complimentary robes, slippers, and water. The bed was perfect for me not too hard, not too soft, and covered with a white douvet. We couldn't have been happier with the stay. The valet parking is a bit extreme I think at $24 per day, but the car is looked after and not to worry. And the hotel is just a few minutes walking to the center of Vail Village. This is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt33332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love traveling and have stayed at my share of Hotels all over the world but the Sonnenalp in Vail never fails to amaze me. The staff, the service, the condition of the rooms, its like a little city where nothing is missed. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed in several different properties in Vail and other nearby resorts. The Sonnenalp is without question my favorite. Forget the Marriott, Four Seasons and Ritz -- this is where you want to stay.

Pros:
- Classic European styling down to every detail. Close your eyes and open them in the hotel. You would think you were in the Alps
- Phenomenal spa and pool area. Serene. Great indoor pool with entry to a great outdoor pool area
- Service -- here it's about what do you want / need. I asked the front desk a question about our stay -- instead of answering "this is what we can do", they answered "what would you like".
- Great location in the heart of vail
- Great rooms and furnishings. Turn down service was impeccable
- Great restaurants

Cons:
- Only one I can think of was that the bar was understaffed on Saturday night. A wedding had just let out and they did not have enough servers

Room Tip: Try the King Suites if you can get one.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your amazing review!

We always strive to achieve the highest level of service for all of our guests and I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope to personally welcome you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is right in Vail Village and steps from fine dining, shopping, entertainment and the mountain. The service was superb. The bell men were top notch, every need was attended to and the concierge recommendations were great. Our daughter loved the live music in the evening. The pianist/singer was very talented. The accommodations were roomy, elegant and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainGalCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews