We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonnenalp
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Talisa, Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
$254
Starwood.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lion Square Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$447
$431
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $631/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tivoli Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$289
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort(Vail)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Sebastian - Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $388/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Austria Haus Hotel(Vail)(Great Value!)
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vail Mountain Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $411/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveler rating
998
104
26
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
998
104
26
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbully ranchswiss chaletfondueoxygen barking's clubcookiesheated floorsspa areabreakfast buffetjunior suiteturn down servicethe indoor outdoor poolski hauseuropean feelski conciergefavorite hotelwalk in closet
Filter
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite and were floored when we saw the bathroom. It was easily as large as some hotel rooms in major cities.
The staff (everyone from the valet, front desk staff, concierge, to housekeeping) were friendly and accommodating. I called in advance to see if there was an HDMI hookup on the TV, and they had a room ready for us with an unlocked TV when we arrived. They gave great advice for sightseeing, and the nightly turndown service included amazing cookies!

The location was second to none, vail village offers plenty to see and do without needing transportation. Because this was the off-season, we ended up eating at the hotel more than we expected due to closures, but not to worry, everything was above the standard hotel restaurant level of quality.
Breakfast buffet at Ludwig's was worth every cent (I find hotel breakfasts to be tremendously overpriced, usually). We ate at the bully ranch on two late nights and had good meals, but the star of the weekend was definitely the fondue at the Swiss Chalet.
All in all we had a wonderful time and were sad to go, especially when we saw what equivalent money got us in Denver on the last night of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Sonnenalp!

I am overjoyed to read about your great experience and thrilled you were satisfied with our service. It is truly a priority that we provide the highest level of service in the Vail Valley.

I hope to personally welcome you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellant rooms with a staff that is friendly and give Excellant service! The very best in every way! Do not miss staying here or having something to eat or drink! The location is also Excellant. Breakfast is very good and rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A wonderful stay, great service, delicious breakfast & morning coffee, comfortable spaces. I was there for a wedding and enjoyed having everything so close by. The entire space was really well-suited for for the wedding. It was perfect. Next time, I'll be sure to book a massage while I'm there, and perhaps just stay a few days longer. A friend if mine kept saying, “I just want to live here.”

Room Tip: I had a junior suite on the 3rd floor just above the entrance and it was great. I slept with the windows open and didn't notice much noise from outside.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. A wedding here at the Sonnenalp is truly a special occasion.

I am so happy to read that we met your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back to Vail in the near future. Hopefully you will get a chance to enjoy our Spa next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were at the Sonnenalp for a wedding on Memorial Day weekend this year and were quite impressed with this mid-sized idyllic Vail mountain retreat. They have a beautiful pool area (indoor/outdoor) surrounded by Aspen and Evergreens, with Gore Creek running by the edge of the property.

As a family on a budget, we were looking to keep our expenditures under control and were very pleased to find daily specials at their onsite restaurants. We ate at the Bully Ranch and had an excellent meal there. The interior library and lounges were very cozy and we enjoyed the Bavarian décor.

Probably most importantly, the staff here was truly exceptional. My wife has Celiac disease and has to eat gluten free meals. The staff was very friendly and happy to advise us (and research) both on-site and off-site restaurants as to the availability of gluten free entrees. We loved our stay and plan to come back in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starvedtodeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sonnenalp for a one-night break-away from our care-giving duties and had a wonderful time. Everything about the Sonnenalp was beyond our expectations and made us very homesick for Europe.

The reception staff, bellmen, restaurant and just every staff member we encountered was friendly, professional and welcoming in the most sincere manner. The construction, finishes and furnishings found in every corner of the hotel were exceptional and authentic to the last detail of what a fine Alpine hotel looks like. Having lived in four different European countries during our time abroad and taken vacations in Bavaria, Switzerland and the Julian Alps, we know what to expect when visiting those places and the Sonnenalp met and exceeded those standards.

This hotel is a real gem and a true European experience right here in the USA. Class, style, sincere and friendly service, you name what you're seeking and the Sonnenalp delivers. On top of all that, the breakfast buffet was the finest we have ever seen in America. You name the item and it was there--fresh, homemade and delicious. Even the coffee was exceptional.

if you're looking for a great vacation and hotel experience, go no further than the Sonnenalp in Vail. Just superb!

Room Tip: Room 442 was beautiful with a nice view and just plain comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruceb961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews