We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great getaway without needing to move your car” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway without needing to move your car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is right in Vail Village and steps from fine dining, shopping, entertainment and the mountain. The service was superb. The bell men were top notch, every need was attended to and the concierge recommendations were great. Our daughter loved the live music in the evening. The pianist/singer was very talented. The accommodations were roomy, elegant and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainGalCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    84
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
206
342
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite and were floored when we saw the bathroom. It was easily as large as some hotel rooms in major cities.
The staff (everyone from the valet, front desk staff, concierge, to housekeeping) were friendly and accommodating. I called in advance to see if there was an HDMI hookup on the TV, and they had a room ready for us with an unlocked TV when we arrived. They gave great advice for sightseeing, and the nightly turndown service included amazing cookies!

The location was second to none, vail village offers plenty to see and do without needing transportation. Because this was the off-season, we ended up eating at the hotel more than we expected due to closures, but not to worry, everything was above the standard hotel restaurant level of quality.
Breakfast buffet at Ludwig's was worth every cent (I find hotel breakfasts to be tremendously overpriced, usually). We ate at the bully ranch on two late nights and had good meals, but the star of the weekend was definitely the fondue at the Swiss Chalet.
All in all we had a wonderful time and were sad to go, especially when we saw what equivalent money got us in Denver on the last night of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Sonnenalp!

I am overjoyed to read about your great experience and thrilled you were satisfied with our service. It is truly a priority that we provide the highest level of service in the Vail Valley.

I hope to personally welcome you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellant rooms with a staff that is friendly and give Excellant service! The very best in every way! Do not miss staying here or having something to eat or drink! The location is also Excellant. Breakfast is very good and rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A wonderful stay, great service, delicious breakfast & morning coffee, comfortable spaces. I was there for a wedding and enjoyed having everything so close by. The entire space was really well-suited for for the wedding. It was perfect. Next time, I'll be sure to book a massage while I'm there, and perhaps just stay a few days longer. A friend if mine kept saying, “I just want to live here.”

Room Tip: I had a junior suite on the 3rd floor just above the entrance and it was great. I slept with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. A wedding here at the Sonnenalp is truly a special occasion.

I am so happy to read that we met your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back to Vail in the near future. Hopefully you will get a chance to enjoy our Spa next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were at the Sonnenalp for a wedding on Memorial Day weekend this year and were quite impressed with this mid-sized idyllic Vail mountain retreat. They have a beautiful pool area (indoor/outdoor) surrounded by Aspen and Evergreens, with Gore Creek running by the edge of the property.

As a family on a budget, we were looking to keep our expenditures under control and were very pleased to find daily specials at their onsite restaurants. We ate at the Bully Ranch and had an excellent meal there. The interior library and lounges were very cozy and we enjoyed the Bavarian décor.

Probably most importantly, the staff here was truly exceptional. My wife has Celiac disease and has to eat gluten free meals. The staff was very friendly and happy to advise us (and research) both on-site and off-site restaurants as to the availability of gluten free entrees. We loved our stay and plan to come back in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starvedtodeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sonnenalp for a one-night break-away from our care-giving duties and had a wonderful time. Everything about the Sonnenalp was beyond our expectations and made us very homesick for Europe.

The reception staff, bellmen, restaurant and just every staff member we encountered was friendly, professional and welcoming in the most sincere manner. The construction, finishes and furnishings found in every corner of the hotel were exceptional and authentic to the last detail of what a fine Alpine hotel looks like. Having lived in four different European countries during our time abroad and taken vacations in Bavaria, Switzerland and the Julian Alps, we know what to expect when visiting those places and the Sonnenalp met and exceeded those standards.

This hotel is a real gem and a true European experience right here in the USA. Class, style, sincere and friendly service, you name what you're seeking and the Sonnenalp delivers. On top of all that, the breakfast buffet was the finest we have ever seen in America. You name the item and it was there--fresh, homemade and delicious. Even the coffee was exceptional.

if you're looking for a great vacation and hotel experience, go no further than the Sonnenalp in Vail. Just superb!

Room Tip: Room 442 was beautiful with a nice view and just plain comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Sonnenalp many times over the years and it never fails to please our entire family. The place is very well maintained and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a mid-sized charming hotel in central Vail village.

A couple of notes:

1. The larger suites are well suited for families. Many having a separate bedroom. some with 2 floors and multiple baths.
2. The indoor spa area and pool does not allow young children. This is a new development over the past couple of years. We have been going there for several years so this is irritating to us but may not be for others. Aside from that, the spa, pool and hot tub areas are lovely both in the winter and summer months.
3. The fondue restaurant is very fun and good as is the Bully Bar for lunch. Ludwigs is great for breakfast buffet, don't miss is, but I would skip it for dinner at the price point in favor of some of the other great restaurants in Vail.
4. The prices and packages for the Sonnenalp vary WILDLY. I've stayed there with others who have twice the room for less than I have paid and vice versa. Do price compare web sites as they very frequently run specials. Finding deals durring peak ski season is effectively impossible.
5. The staff is very good and they have nice concierges services for both winter and summer activities. Ski storage by the lift, bike rentals…etc.

Room Tip: Suites facing the pool / creek area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#12 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing