We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it....but just not sure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved it....but just not sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent a lot of time choosing a hotel for a weekend getaway. I wanted to be in the lap of luxury but didn't want to spend over $850-$900/night. I settled on the Sonnenalp because of the reviews of the service.

The good: Indeed the service was stellar. From the moment I made the reservation, the concierge was in contact with me to ensure all of our needs were taken care of (bed choice, dinner reservations, ski rental, spa appointments, directions, etc). Every employee wanted to help you. Every question was answered politely. Every need was catered to. The maid service actually cleaned the room. Bathrooms are beautiful with GREAT towels. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the dining room was beautiful (especially with snow). Water, ice and cookies delivered everyday. I've heard wonderful things about the spa but we didn't have time to try it out.

So, why not 5 stars? Well... The rooms aren't glamourous. Honestly, it might be time for a remodeling. Or maybe it's just a matter of taste. The Sonnenalp is more of a European feel than an American Four Seasons. So think stark white, plastered walls and basic pine furniture with solid fabrics. While the rooms were large and it was awesome to have a fireplace, the decor is basic and sparse. I got really, really tired of the print carpeting all over the entire hotel. Also, they upgraded our suite which was nice, but the suite they gave us was on 2 floors. Again, a plus and a minus. Nice to have extra space but climbing downstairs in the middle of the nights after a few drinks was rough. Plus, the upstairs was so tiny, I felt like I was sleeping in my grandma's attic.

On a very personal note, I really didn't like the help's uniforms. I found the peasant style dresses embarrassing.

Last, this property is not ski-in, ski-out. You have to walk about 3 blocks to their "club" which is in the basement of a ski shop. There you store your shoes and things while you ski and at night you store your skies. The hotel is central to the restaurants and shopping, just not to skiing. Not many hotels in Vail are slopeside.

In conclusion, I probably wouldn't stay there again because I personally enjoy a more modern hotel but I would suggest it to others based on the incredible service and nice bathrooms.

Room Tip: They appear to have lots of room styles. I would call to make the reservation if you have special n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendypstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay and comments.
We strive for an authentic european look and feel at the Sonnenalp. Purposefully distinct from many modern and trendy hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    81
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
189
322
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sonnenalp for 10 days in February 2013 (ski-ing trip with my wife). Very hard to find fault with the place - check in was swift and friendly (thanks for the room upgrade), then escorted to our room and the heating / appliances etc were explained. A nice touch was the humidifier which isn't always supplied in hotel rooms in Vail but is desperately needed. We had booked a basic room but were upgraded to a mini suite which was really lovely - comfy chairs and a fireplace. We also had a small balcony which was useful for chilling wine. There is a walk-in wardrobe; the special feature of the rooms is the bathroom - huge, underfloor heating, double vanities, separate shower and large tub.
Breakfast is taken in Ludwig's, the a la carte restaurant. There is a wide selection of hot & cold dishes with a particularly good fruit selection. But the best feature of breakfast is the service - OK it's a buffet, but the servers are all very attentive and will bring you coffee, juice etc. We never had to search for a server to bring a coffee refill - it was always done before you even thought of it.
There are 2 on site evening restaurants - Ludwigs which is a fine dining fish speciality: unfortunately we didn't eat there this time. The alternative is the Bully Ranch - pub style, very american, good solid food but beware of portion size: it would be wise to order appetisers first and then see if you have the stomach for a main course. If you want apres ski, there is a pianist in the bar in the afternoon and usually a singing act in the evening.
The Sonnenalp is a 5-10minute walk to the ski slopes. You could take the in town (free) bus to the Vail Village stop although you would still need to walk a little to the slopes from here. Most guests are happy to walk from the hotel as skis and boots are stored at the Bridge Haus just 50 metres from the snow front. The Bridge Haus is a full service ski concierge which really makes the holiday - the guys there are just fantastic. Your skis and boots appear by magic in the morning (boots are stored on driers) and they always have a friendly word. The best ski concierge we have had in 30 years of skiing.
There is a spa complex with indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs, steam room, sauna and gym. My wife and I both had a massage - very professional, effective, relaxing; unfortunately, the price reflects that you're in a five star hotel.
Vail has many new swish five star hotels but I don't think that many could match the Sonnenalp for service, facilities and old world charm (and price). Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for a mini suite, especially if staying more than a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Sonnenalp and it continues to be the real gem of Colorado ski areas. This is boutique luxury, not to be confused with the huge, overly expensive assembly line hotels, Four Seasons, Ritz! A very comfortable physical plant is complimented by a beautifully trained staff that is always helpful, friendly and just plain pleasant! The Sonnenalp has a ski valet service wherein their elves take all of your ski equipment to an affiliate at the base of the ski lift where they will be waiting for you the next morning. After one of Sonnenalp’s beautiful buffet breakfasts you can take a walk of about three blocks to the life where you will find your ski equipment in a nice, warm ski shop with the coffee ready for you to enjoy while you put on your boots. Now, you can walk the fifty feet to the ski lift and you are off for the day. When you are done skiing, you leave all of your equipment at the same place and it will be there the next day if you ski, if not, the elves will return you stuff to Sonnenalp where it will be ready for check-out. If skiing got any easier than this, you would have to do it without getting out of bed! Did I mention the bathroom floors are heated, or the wonderful outdoor hot tub and indoor and outdoor combo swimming pool? Sonnenalp continues to be a real Colorado gem. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solidfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Went on a girls ski weekend and had a great time at Sonnenalp! The service was wonderful- everyone is so helpful and friendly. The hotel is so beautiful and comfortable- drinks in the lounge, Ludwigs where breakfast is served, the ski valet at the base of the mountain and the amazing spa. We all had several spa services- best ever! The spa is a great place to hang out, enjoy the hot tubs, pool an lounge area. Can't think of anything I'd change about our Sonnenalp experience.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaandski4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Service is the key to success at this multi-generational hotel in Vail Village. From the check-in experience forward, the Sonnenalp delivers. spa, restaurants, concierge,Bellmen and bar make this hotel a charm. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffyL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our fouirth stay and it is the best hotel I have stayed in, including many good ones in NYC and San Francisco.

The owner is everywhere making sure all is perfect. The staff are well trained. The view from the breakfast buffet overlooks Gore Creek and the beauty of the hotel. Food is superb, and somewhat pricey but in line with top of the class. Dinner can be casual or formal,and the property is kid friendly.

Room Tip: views Creekside are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeachGolfer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the residence that is owned by the Sonnenalp and had an excellent stay! The concierge was very helpful considering that this is our first trip to Vail.

The property itself is actually a time-share/fractional but it is run by the Sonnenalp. Location is paramount as it's located right in the center of everything. All the restaurants and movie theater (the best one I've been too in the US and most probably the most expensive food sold in movie theaters) is less than a 2 minute walk.

The decor of the apartments have a very American cabin feel to it but it's super new. Everything from light switches to TV to fireplace is controlled using an iPad looking thing. Everything is brand new... and super clean. The only complain I would have is that the bed is a tad too soft for my taste. We went to see other places but it didn't have the same feel as "One Willow" did....

I'm so glad I chose this place and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Vail. I would definitely go back when I visit Vail....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrapTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#1 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#5 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing