We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Detail oriented. The answer is always yes. They have a ski valet at the base of the gondola which is free and increadably convenient. House keeping is excellent. Turn down service, biweekly s'mores and hot coco. All of it is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    87
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
237
371
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our first visit to Sonnenalp --but it won't be our last! We had the most wonderful experience at this beautiful resort hotel. The staff was very attentive. The room was just perfect with the fireplace, view of Vail and the mountains was memorable. We first visited the spa and enjoyed the indoor and outdoor hot tubs. And, we enjoyed a fun evening in the hotel's lounge, King's Club, listening to great music by Kevin Danzig. Dinner at the Sweet Basil was equally wonderful -- we dined overlooking Gore Creek. The next morning, we had a delicious breakfast on the terrace at Ludwig's. Every aspect of our visit was memorable. We will visit Sonnenalp again!

Room Tip: We would recommend a room overlooking Gore Creek or Vail Village. Be sure to request a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoDogsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil/Suiça
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel was founded by the same family that owns the Sonnenalp in the Allgäu in Germany, and it is still managed by it in the fifth generation. The service was perfect, the suite in the upper level floor was luxurious. After driving 4000km on a road trip from Vancouver through the Rockies to Denver we enjoyed our last stay of the trip thoroughly. The spa was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exp_Trav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I cannot more adamently reccommend the Sonnenalp hotel. The hotel is cozy, comfortable, and absolutely beautiful. However, what puts this hotel above any other hotel is the incredibly accommodating staff. The hardworking people who work here are genuinely kind and thoughtful. They go above and beyond to make sure your stay here is nothing less than spectacular. From the bell boys to the front desk staff, the maids, the waiters, bartenders, hosts and hostesses, the room service staff -- it is truly the people who work here that make it a magical place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your visit and review.
I happily pass on your comments to our team of employees. Customer service excellence is very important to all us, every day. It is nice to hear, when it our efforts are successful and recognized as such,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was the season premiere of, The Walking Dead TV series and my girlfriend and I were at The Sonnenalp. We had been really anticipating the show and brought our laptop. There was an option for free Internet or a faster connection for a fee. We opted for the free and registered. When it came to getting ready to stream the show the connection was very slow. We tried to go back and buy the faster Internet. Since we had already registered for the free we could not go back enough to buy the faster one. I called down and explained the situation. Within 5 minutes a gentleman named Scott was at the door. He was very nice and professional. He tried a few things and explained that this was the first time this has happened since the hotel had recently changed the Internet options. From this point on the initiative and attention to detail from Scott and the rest of the staff was amazing. It was very nice to feel that taken care of. Scott even brought up a hotel laptop to try to help us watch our favorite show. After the show we went downstairs and enjoyed the best burger at Bully's.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gibb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the most perfectly appointed hotel room we've ever stayed in. Everything is perfect. Huge bathroom, cozy fireplace, balcony facing the mountains and soaking up the sunshine. Great to be here. A long way from my living conditions as a ski bum here 25 years ago!

Room Tip: Creekside is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hallway190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your visit an review.
Welcome back to Vail after all those years. I am happy you found us and liked our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed several times at the Sonnenalp and it keeps getting better. We enjoy the friendly staff, boutique style hotel, great food and the thoughtful details throughout the hotel. We especially enjoy Swiss Chalet as we both enjoy Swiss cuisine. The suites have large walk in closets that make it convenient for a long stay during ski season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmik66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your visit and review.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner at the Swiss Chalet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing