We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the most perfectly appointed hotel room we've ever stayed in. Everything is perfect. Huge bathroom, cozy fireplace, balcony facing the mountains and soaking up the sunshine. Great to be here. A long way from my living conditions as a ski bum here 25 years ago!

Room Tip: Creekside is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallway190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your visit an review.
Welcome back to Vail after all those years. I am happy you found us and liked our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed several times at the Sonnenalp and it keeps getting better. We enjoy the friendly staff, boutique style hotel, great food and the thoughtful details throughout the hotel. We especially enjoy Swiss Chalet as we both enjoy Swiss cuisine. The suites have large walk in closets that make it convenient for a long stay during ski season.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmik66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your visit and review.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner at the Swiss Chalet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked a suite for our annivesary. Spacious and the bathroom was especially large with the floor heated. The use of the spa was included with a fabulous indoor/outdoor pool perfectly heated and indoor and outdoor hot tub. Nice library with books, backgammon and chess available. Breakfast at Ludwigs was included too. Large fitness facility. Had dinner at La Tour down the street which was offering dinner and wine half price (pre-season). Didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back. A great property overall.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Schmidtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your review.
The shoulder season in fall and spring offer excellent value at the Sonnenalp and throughout Vail. We pride ourselves to offer the full Sonnenalp experience at much more accessbile pricing during those times. Thanks for taking advantage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I chose to celebrate our anniversary at the Sonnenalp. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne on ice in our room. We had a suite overlooking the creek and the mountain. The room was fabulous, beautiful, comfortable, with a fireplace and a huge bathroom with a heated marble floor. The entire hotel was in perfect condition and beautifully decorated. The service was flawless, from the concierge to the spa to the restaurants. We loved sitting by the fire in the library, playing backgammon, enjoying a glass of wine (reasonably priced!). The workout facility was well equipped, clean and had beautiful views. Even the spa gave us a little anniversary gift. So sweet! The breakfast was included in our room rate. The quality and variety was impressive. Sonnenalp remains one of my favorite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: I got a better package by calling the hotel directly instead of using a discount booking service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the years. Level of service and the facility is consistently a five. No reasonable request is refused. This past weekend, last minute change of plans to bring dog and another person with me was happily accomodated by the reservation staff by moving me to a dog friendly room. Junior suites are an excellent size with tiny balcony, small sitting area, large seperate closet area and windows that open to let in the fresh mountain air. Scrumptiously large plush towels and wonderfully toiletries in the giant bathroom with heated floor and soaking tub. Fresh coffee and a wide assortment of teas just off the main lobby every morning. The delicious and bountiful breakfast buffett is truly worth the price especially since the service staff hops to meet your needs. They had no problem bringing me a specially made egg dish to accomodate my food allergies. The spa is not to be missed. I had a signature massage and manicure and pedicure with added foot massage. It's not cheap but it is unbelievably good. The spa area has a heated pool and hot tub plus a scented steam room. This is available to all guests and is meticulously clean and well kept. The Bully Ranch is a great place to just hang out, grab lunch or a burger. The bar area off the lobby boasted live music and drink specials Friday and Saturday night. The Swiss Chalet was also open during our visit for fondue dinners. If I could change just one thing about this hotel it would be the pillows. While the beds are very comfortable, the down pillows were itchy and flat. We requested other non-feather pillows and this was a little better (and Imight add these were brought up less than 5 minutes after I called and requested). If you like a firm pillow, bring one.

Room Tip: You may like to ask for a room facing the pool area as the view is quite nice. The hotel is dog-fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denvertravel5980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your visit and review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do try hard every day ....
Thank you also for your comment about the pillows. I will look into the option we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Sonnenalp for two days for our anniversary. Even though it was off-season, the service and facilities could not have been better. The hotel is wonderful and well-maintained. Service from the valet to the front desk to the housekeeping staff was fantastic. Rooms are all suites, with huge bathrooms and large bedrooms. Ours had a gas fireplace and a small balcony overlooking Gore Creek. Unlike many first-class hotels, the Sonnenalp still provides nightly turn-down service and delivers fresh water, ice and cookies in the evening. A nice touch. We ate breakfast at Ludwigs each morning and it is very good, although a little pricey ($26 pp). One trick we learned is that you can order a hot meal off the menu (eggs benedict, omelettes, etc) and eat off the buffet for no additional cost. This is a nice touch. The casual restaurant (Bully Ranch) is good also and has more reasonably priced lunches and dinners. We loved our stay and will return!

Room Tip: It's worth the splurge to get a Blue Spruce suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtrips4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your review.
The Sonnenalp is open year around. Although Vail is a very season resort, we offer consistent service and many service and amenity choices throughout the year regardless of seson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Vail in the off season and did not know what to expect. The Sonnenalp exceeded our expectations. Everything was crisp and clean in anticipation for the ski season. The staff could not have been nicer. The room was large and the bathroom equipped with a very large tub and 2 sinks which is always a plus.
Had dinner at the Bully Ranch attached to the hotel. It is probably the most reasonably priced restaurant in Vail. The food was really good and unexpected for a hotel restaurant. It has a western feel and family friendly entrees.
Convenient location and would definitely return.
BTW, there is a great looking gym and spa right on campus!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for review.
We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $361 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing