We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accommodations, Spa and Staff”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Manakin Sabot, Va
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodations, Spa and Staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our second visit to Sonnenalp Resort and just as before, it was superb. We were also once again treated to an upgrade to a king size room as well! The rooms are very clean, very well appointed, and ours include a small balcony overlooking the pool area, Ludwigs restaurant and with a great view of Vail Mountain. The turn down service each night include delicious cookies, fresh water, and plush robes and slippers all laid out for us.

We ate lunch at the Bully Ranch restaurant when we first arrived. The turkey burger and truffle tots were EXCELLENT! My husband had the fish tacos which he reported were quite tasty. The open doors allowed a nice breeze and the relaxed atmosphere was just what we needed after the drive out from Boulder.

The hotel features a superb spa and the couples massage, while pricey, was worth every penny. We felt like new people when we were finished. This was after a strenuous hike the day before and was perfect for those slightly sore muscles. :-)

Finally, the staff there is incredibly professional and friendly. They attended to any need and never failed to greet us or wish us a great day after inquiring about what big plans we might have.

Sonnenalp is located at one end of Vail village, is very convenient to a bus stop should you want to ride to Lions Head or out to the Betty Ford Alpine Gardens (which are QUITE lovely). the concierge also offers lots of helpful information about hikes and other activities in the area. All in all, an outstanding stay. We'll be back, for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building offer a great view of Vail Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your stay and nice description of your experience. We are delighted that you your stay was a positive and memorable experience. This is what all of us are striving for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    89
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
247
382
30
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Sonnenalp Resort of Vail is a breath taking place with it's warm suites and helpful staff. Walking distance from ski lifts in the winter and food and shopping in the summer. Restaurants everywhere with their outdoor seating reminded me so much of Germany...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmc1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your visit and review.
I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you were reminded of my home country. Sonnenalp is different and unique that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for a few nights during the summer for our first non-winter trip to Vail and it was perfect. The location in Vail Village provides easy walking access to all activities. I would recommend renting bikes or bringing your own because the bike paths are located right outside the hotel. Try to get a creek side room if available. I was not as big a fan of the breakfast buffet as the person I was traveling with, and I enjoyed the breakfast off of the menu on the second day much more.

Room Tip: Try to get a creek side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtntrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your stay and your for taking the time to review your experience.
I am happy that you enjoyed your time at the Sonnenalp.
Our breakfast offering both the option of buffet and ordering of the breakfast menu has proven to be very popular with guest that have limited time due to a full schedule and guest that make breakfast a more important part of their vacation day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great location, great spa/pool area with views, wonderful breakfast, but... make sure you request
to be away from the clock across the street, it strikes starting at 6 am, and I was right in front
of it. I was also right over the Bully's restuarant, so instead of a quiet mountain town, I heard a lot of noise from the restuarant and street. Ask for a room facing the river and mountain. Also vail has free parking in the visitor lots in the summer- but this hotel charges 25$ a day. I also thought the 100$ nonrefundable pet fee was high.

Room Tip: ask to be facing the creek/river, and away from the clock tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderlust897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your visit and review.
Our location next to the Vail Chapel does make it the sound from the clock tower a factor at times. Our guest find this an issue at times when leaving the windows open at night. We have many rooms that face away from the Chapel and we are happy to accomodate our 'light sleeper -open window fans' in those part of the hotel. We do charge for our secure and heated parking garage on property. Free parking is available a short walk from the hotel for guest that do not require the convenience of parking on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stayed here a couple times and were always pleased. The hotel is located in the Vail Village making the experience wonderful. The hotel restaurants are fantastic with the best wait staff you will find anywhere. The food quality matches the facility. Be sure and visit the restaurant for the breakfast buffet. The Eggs Benedict are one of my favorites. I can't say anything negative about this place.

Patients at the nearby Steadman Clinic receive special rates and attention (extra ice...).

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side might be a good option if quiet is more important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

All the rooms were remodeled several years ago. Certainly one of Vails best hotels. The lounge is very relaxed, great place to come and relax and listen to music. Not the best location for winter as it is a rather long walk to the slopes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Sonnenalp is always our first choice when staying in Vail. The staff is second to none, the rooms have character, not the normal hotel rom. Great location, amazing staff, great breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CraigRCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for your return visit to the Sonnenalp.
I am proud of our team and our dedication to providing caring service to our guest.
I hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing