We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I couldn't have hoped for better lodging!”
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I couldn't have hoped for better lodging!”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The Lion's Square Lodge was a wonderful place for our family vacation with 3 teens. We chose a 2 BR/2 bath condo. From the moment we checked in the staff was beyond pleasant and accommodating. When my mother called with an emergency, the front desk person recognized me as I walked in the door and gave me the message. Rooms were large and clean. Bathrooms were appointed with Aveda products...WOW! Just steps from the lobby was the Gondola to ride up the mountain which we did every night, enjoying the scenery and wildlife. Lionshead village was less than a minute walk to enjoy restaurants and shopping.

You cannot go wrong with this hotel. Check online for good discounts and packages!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgkdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    57
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
107
48
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I just came back from 4 days at the LionsHead. I went for work and was pleasantly surprised. Typically my family and I stay at upscale resorts, but I must say this is the top location in Vail. It is right next to the gondola and perfect for skiing. Our conference was catered and the food was excellent. Aveda products are in all rooms and maid service was fabulous.
On the downside, it is a bit rustic and rooms vary. Colleagues had a room that was much nicer than ours. My boss had a condo and it was gorgeous--granite and stainless eat in kitchen with two bedrooms and a bath, fireplace in the family room. Back door opened to the gondola. When I go back this winter, my family will have a condo for skiing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie10306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

What a place. The location is perfect - right next to the gondola. Our 2 bedroom was quite large, spacious, clean and the kitchen had everything you would need. This is the best location in Lionshead. The hot tube is also realy nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ - BRAZIL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We booked 2 apts (2 rooms each) for 6 days.
The apartments were very comfortable, and the location is absolutely the best in Lionhead.
If you think about Skiing in Vail, don´t miss the Lionsquare Lodge !!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Lion Square Lodge is older but can't be beat on location and service. The two bedroom that we stayed in was dated but very adequate for a family of four. It was very clean and the staff was exceptional. The hot tubs and pool were also clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDHAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We just returned from 4 nights at Lion Square and really can't complain about much of anything. We stayed in a single room with two double beds and found the rooms to be recently updated and clean. If I had to nit pick, my only complaints would be the rooms are on the small side and the beds are average at best, even after the renovation.

The location is great and the staff goes of their way to attend to any of your needs. The lodge also has any amenity you would require for a ski trip; hot tub, sauna, etc.

If you can score a good rate at Lion Square it's a no brainer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We had a great time in Vail and a large part of that had to do with our stay at Lion Square. The location is perfect - right next to the Eagle Bahn gondola. Our room was quite large, spacious, clean and fairly well appointed with gas fireplace; we also had a balcony with view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We wholeheartedly recommend Lion Square to others.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Octra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Property: Lion Square Lodge
Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing