We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Ga. USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. We stayed there in January of this year. Great service. The ski valet was very convenient. Loved the warm cookies in the lobby in the afternoon after a long day of skiing. The onsite breakfast restaurant was excellent and well priced. The view of Vail Mtn was breathtaking. The jacuzzi's were clean, large and inviting. Onsight bar was happening every afternoon. But the best thing is the location. It's a 20 second walk from the ski valet out front to the Eagle Bahn Gondola. 30 second walk to all the bars and restaurants in Lionshead. You really can't beat its convenience. My only complaint is that the regular hotel rooms were a bit small. Def will spurge for a condo next time. Other than that, this place is excellent. Bring your wallet but then again, everything is expensive in Vail and worth every penny :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiMaiTai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    54
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
97
42
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I were participating in an international fly fishing competition where the Lodge was the host hotel. When we arrived, the front desk was friendly and very accommodating. We did not want a condo by the pool, so they walked us to several condos and allowed us to pick the one we liked.

Speaking of the pool, at 9:50 every night they had someone cover the pool and hot tub. This reduced any noise after 10:00 p.m. I'm a light sleeper and I appreciated it.

These are older, but well maintained condos with full kitchen utensils. The maid service was a plus for us with daily fresh towels and kitchen cleaning. We were outside everyday (raining) and pressed for time; it was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just my husband and I traveled to Vail this past weekend for a wedding, although we usually go during ski season it was a great change of pace to go during the fall. Located close to everything, shops, activities, restaurants and bars. Our room was clean, and spacious. I would recommend not having a room facing the parking lot on the first floor, it was loud in the morning, you heard car doors/horns constantly. Besides that everything was great. The hotel staff was friendly and always willing to help. Will be back again in the winter!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here in March for four nights. I cannot tell you how disappointed I was when we got into our room and saw the fabulous valley view which was a parking lot and a building under construction. The price was very expensive too! The front desk could not help me so I made several calls with the corporate reservation desk which was no small feat and was then given a mountain view room for the last few nights which was very nice. So my advice is to pay the extra money and get a mountain view room unless you don't care about your view. Besides all that the hotel is very clean and in a fabulous location during ski season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyofreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were fortunate to stay here for a conference that was being held at the Marriott, which is next door. We have stayed at the Marriott many times and its just fine. But our "room" at Lion Square Lodge was exquisite. We were upgraded to Room 296, a two bedroom corner suite/condo with a rap around balcony. The living room was beautifully furnished. The cabinetry in the full kitchen and two bathrooms was of the highest quality. (Bet nobody on TripAdvisor has gotten excited before about cabinetry!).
The property is surrounded by the Marriott, The Antlers, and The Arrabelle. Plenty of restaurants, ski shops, etc. in the immediate area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic hospitality! When we arrived, the front desk person (I wish I could remember her name!) let us check in early, and gave us an upgrade to a room with a mountain view! I think it helped that we were there on a Sunday night and that the hotel was not busy, but the service was still excellent.
The room was clean, and nice, but the location was perfect! A short walk to anywhere in Lionshead and able to take the shuttle over to Vail Village.
Overall it was a wonderful getaway and the staff made it better!

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
441 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on a weekend. It was very quiet. The staff is extremely helpful and polite. Parking and internet is at no extra charge. The bathroom has a rain shower which was nice. They have Aveda toiletries. The lighting is rather dim. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not but that could be my taste. There is a refrig and microwave but no spoons to stir the sugar in your tea.

Room Tip: We faced the parking lot on the 4th floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Property: Lion Square Lodge
Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing