We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Brought my oldest & youngest sons to this lodge, and found it to be a perfect location (right next to the gondola & lift), perfect service (cookies for free at the end of each day), good food and friendly service. This is not a "ski in, ski out" establishment, but it is within just a few steps of the lifts, so it is perfectly positioned. And oh yeah, Vail has the largest acreage of ski-able/board-able snow in Colorado, so coming here is a hoot ! Rooms are reasonable sized, and are clean and well maintained - there were 3 of us, so we had room for all of our equipment & luggage, etc. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every aspect of the Lodge and Vail !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDWARDL782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Lion Square Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here 5-12th April with Hubby plus 2 daughters. Informed front desk in advance that we would be arriving late which they acknowledged, however there was no bell boy to help with luggage and ski gear on arrival at 9pm which would have been nice especially as our unit was on the first floor (UK readers!) or 2nd (if not!) and up a flight of stairs with no elevator. Our driver from Ride the Powder helped with luggage thankfully.

Our unit in the East building was adequate but in serious need of refurbishment which was due to start on the 16th April. However it was fully equipped with everything we needed so no complaints there and there was a welcome bottle of wine which was a nice touch. The floorplan was exactly as shown on the Lion Square lodge website but according to plans we saw, the units may be enlarged as well as having elevators put into the East Building.

The unit balcony from the living area faced onto the gondola and the Tavern outside sitting area so there was some noise from people sitting eating/drinking until it got too dark/cold to sit outside but other than that we didn't have any problem with noise The beds were comfy; we had a king and the girls had a double plus bunks in their room. Main problem was trying to control the room temperature, the bedroom windows opened a maximum of half an inch and despite the heating being turned off the rooms were far too hot, but again think this is being addressed as part of the refurbishment . Maid service was provided each day but bathroom floors were frequently not swept or cleaned.

Continental breakfast was provided in the restaurant each morning but didn't try it and a shuttle service was provided at 5:30pm each day to the grocery stores (Safeway and City Market) about 2.5 miles away for those without a car but you have to pre-book places that morning at reception. This was particularly appreciated given the ridiculous prices charged in the local grocery store even though it was less than 5 minutes walk away. The liquor store was even closer with a good selection of wines and beers and there were loads of shops and restaurants in Lionshead within 1-10 minutes walk. The unit has a Dining Directory with all restaurants and sample menus listed for Lionshead which was useful and free wireless internet was available.

The bus stop for the free Vail bus was about 3-5 minutes walk away but we never waited more than a couple of minutes for a bus.

Reception staff and ski valet were always pleasant and helpful and free cookies/coffee/hot drinks were available in the reception area. it was only a few steps from the ski valet to the Gondola and from the end of the ski-run back to the Valet!

In summary we had a great trip (apart from the snow conditions but that's another story!) and the location of Lion Square Lodge is fantastic, you really can't get closer to the lifts or the end of the ski run back to town and shopping/restaurants are on your doorstep so you don't need a car unless you're planning on visiting other ski resorts. We booked through American Ski Classics in the UK and got a good deal for a property in such an ideal location and would stay here again but suspect prices will increase dramatically once the refurb is complete!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodpecker-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We just spent one week in a one bedroom condo in the South Building, which is the one that faces directly out onto the mountain. The room and the balcony were a bit shabby, however this building is about to be completely renovated. Here are some things that will not change: 1) The view was amazing. 2) The service was excellent. 3) The location cannot be beat. You walk out of the building, get your skis and poles from the ski concierge and then walk a very short distance to the gondola. 4) The pool and the hot tubs were great. I assume that they will remain as is. (My only very teeny complaint was that the very nice changing room did not have the lovely Aveda bath products which one did get in the room. Instead they had the soap/shampoo combo which is always sort of dreadful. And no moisturizer.) One thing that I hope they will change is the restaurant, Mezzaluna. Except for the pizza which was good, the food was absolutely horrible. The worst pasta I have ever had in my entire life. Such a pity. The space also needs to be completely re-vamped. Views are great, though and the service was fine. I would love to be able to stay in the South Building again next year, however I assume that the price will go up quite a bit. If too pricey, I would consider the North Building even though it is not as convenient to the ski concierge or to the pool. It has already been renovated and does look very nice. I also hope that they put the guest laundry in a nicer spot. Awkward to have to walk past the hotel laundry to get there.

Room Tip: The view from the South Building is amazing. Do not know how affordable it will be to stay there af...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYNYGIraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at Lion Square Lodge March 16-21st, 2012. This the closest property to the Gondola at Lions Head and extremely convenient to ski-school and meeting place for Fantastic Four Ski program. We stayed in South Building room 452 which is closest to pool and jacuzzi's, Because of its close location, it did get a bit loud at night. We put on a fan and this masked the noise. Property was clean and spacious and kitchen had everything. I shopped on way to unit, and we ate in for breakfast and lunch everyday. They do offer free continental breakfast Mon-Thurs. Overall, we have been to several mountains in Colorado and the location and convenience of this property can't be beat. You literally roll out of bed, walk downstairs, pick up skis from ski valet and head to gondola. If you are looking for Ritz quality, better off with Arabelle, but if you are looking for solid GOOD but with priceless convenience, this property is for you.

Room Tip: South tower and East tower closest to slopes but can be a bit loud at night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mehtkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at the Lion Square Lodge March 8-13th, 2012. It is in Lionshead at the Gondola. The front desk, bell boy, and staff was very helpful and friendly. The East Building is ski in/out directly in front of the gondola. The best building to be in is either the East or South. We stayed in the North building and had to walk a block(just walk through or around the East or South building to the slopes-no biggie, even with a 2 year old. Our friends stayed in the East building in a 2 room condo that was ski in/out the back patio had the gondola in their back yard. I belive all the condos have kitchen and large pull out sofa in living. So a one bedroom was sufficient for a family of 4. Rooms are spacious. If you get a one bedroom condo that has two beds in the bedroom and the pull out sofa in the living you can fit a family of 6. There is usually a pull out sofa and a couch. They have complimentary cookies, hot chocolate, and hot cider outside by the ski valet in front of the East and South building. They also have complimentary coffee with free flavored creamer in every building in the lobby all day long. The staff was very accomodating in many ways. The location is awesome! The rates are less expensive than most of the vail village rates, like Lodge at Vail. Housekeeping every day. They do the dishes, take the trash, everything. They put out toiletries, aveda shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. Definitely would recommend this for families. The Lionshead Village has everything right there from the ski school and children's ski school, starbucks, shopping and restaurants. No reason to go to the village.

Room Tip: East Building and South Building on the mountain and are closer than the North Building.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This location can't be beat. It's a true ski-in/ski-out resort, just steps from the gondola. If it's your first time in Vail, this hotel is a safe choice. You won't need a rental car, since the airport shuttle will take you to/from the hotel, and the free in-town shuttle will take you around the Village. Compared to surrounding hotels, Lion Square Lodge is more affordable and has conveniences, such as a restaurant on site, Mezzaluna (great calamari and pizzas), a heated pool, hot tubs, a sauna, and complimentary breakfast Mondays-Thursdays.

Service is overall good. The ski valet and bellhop are excellent. Concierge is friendly. The front desk staff is average - the male staff were helpful and friendly, but the female staff not so friendly. Not sure why.

We were in the South building. Interiors were shabby, but they have renovations planned in Spring 2012. Again, this is a great hotel for 1) first-time visitors to Vail, 2) if your highest priority is closeness to the gondola!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SD_gallivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

You will want to come back the second you leave. Lion Square Lodge is well located next to the gondola in Lionshead/Vail. So it is ski in/out. There is a ski valet so you never have to carry your skis/poles to far to the gondola. The resort has two large hot tubs, heated pool, dry sauna, and new exercise room. Lodging accommodations are well priced and appointed - although units are rented for owners so they may vary a bit.

You are only a short 5 minute walk from the bus into Vail Village, so there really is no need for a car (use Colorado Mountain Express for ground transportation to/from all airports).

Mezzaluna is located off the hotel lobby and it is fun for apres ski, lunch and dinner.

The front desk and concierge staff are friendly and well connected in town. They know where to find what ever you need and sometimes they can work miracles for reservations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winterstime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.9 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $210 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lionshead Village adjacent to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, Lion Square Lodge grants ski-in/ski-out access to the Vail Mountain Base area. The Lodge offers a variety of accommodation types. The property’s comfortable hotel rooms sleep 2 to 4 people with a choice of one king-size bed or two queen beds. The 1- to 5-bedroom condominium units include a fully equipped kitchen, living room with gas fireplace, private balcony or patio, and a private bathroom for each bedroom. The Tower Residences at Lion Square are among the finest luxury Vail condominiums, boasting private elevator access, southern sun and spectacular unobstructed views of Vail Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing