We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quant and in the middle of it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Quant and in the middle of it all!”
Reviewed August 31, 2005

This was a cute hotel in the middle of Vail Village. We stayed there (two couples, two rooms) for two nights in August. The hotel looked like a little slice of Austria. The lobby, the building, everything made us feel as if we were in Europe (and since three of us are European, that means a lot), except the rooms were a lot larger than European hotel rooms! :)

The hotel rooms have hard wired internet access (so you need an Ethernet card), bring your own laptop. In the lobby there is a computer you can use if you didn't bring your own.

Free buffet breakfast is offered. It is also European style, so that means, pastries (croissants, danishes, etc), bagels with a few spreads (yes cream cheese too), a few sandwich meats (turkey, salami, ham), fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, juice. Breakfast was great!

Service at the hotel was very friendly. The hotel is attached to a restaurant (Pepis) where you can charge the food to your room. At night they have a singer (a very funny singer); he is worth checking out, having a drink and watching.

If you don't want to eat at Pepis, there are many wonderful restaurants around town. My personal fav was La Bottega ($$$). It was Yummy! Leave room for dessert. Also the chili at the Red Lion is to die for.

If you will be in Vail in the summer I have a few suggestions.

Rent a boat in Frisco (15 min drive). It's a wonderful lake and the boat rentals were pretty reasonable. ($110 for two hours, seats 6)

Hike anywhere and everywhere. I loved the berrypicker trail it's a moderate trail with a really good climb up, and a lovely climb down.

Rent ATV's from Nova Guides. Ask for Jeremy, he was the best guide ever! He also does snowmobiles. We are going back in February to take his tour.

Play paintball (again with Nova Guides). Make sure you call in advance so other people are playing at the same time. The more the better.

Take the Vail Pass bike ride. It is such an easy ride you can bring your kids. The whole thing is pretty much down hill and it was so much fun and absolutely gorgeous.

On Thursday, Friday or Saturday go up the Adventure Ridge Gondola (in Lionshead) after 5 PM. It's free (at least it is in the summer). On top of the mountain you can have drinks to a live band, eat the cheapest food you will find in Vail ($3.00 cheeseburgers outside on the deck) and play laser tag. I think it's open till 9 or 10 PM.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence KS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We had a fabulous time at this wonderfully charming hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was a bit confusing as Vail Village has some roads that cars cannot travel. Once we were settled we found the hotel was wonderfully located in the heart of the village. Each day was started with the most scrumptious continental breakfast of fresh fruit baked goods, meats and cheeses,hard boiled eggs and more. The chocolate croissants were to die for. Breakfast was included with the price of the room. At night we opend our window and listened to live music from the street below. It was very reminiscent of a stay I had in Saltzburg. The room was clean and spacious. Our family would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny_Quest71564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, MA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2005

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Gasthof Gramshammer and were quite pleased. It is a charming European-style hotel wonderfully located right in the center of Vail Village. Our room (a "deluxe" room, one step up from the least expensive) was very large and quite nicely appointed. There were two queen beds with nice upholstered headboards, an attractive armoire with large TV, a small balcony, and bath with separate dressing area. There was also a coffee maker in the room.

The young woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and it was quite good, despite the fact that there was a blackout in the village that night! We also appreciated the continental breakfast included in the room rate - it was more than adequate.

Overall, the hotel has the feeling of a smaller, European, family-run establishment, which we love but may not be everyone's cup of tea. It's certainly not the Four Seasons but it is comfortable, affordable, and quite attractive. Vail Village itself is beautiful, and this hotel puts you right in the center of this wonderful setting.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, Ca.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2005

After our initial delight in the appearance and fabulous location of this cute hotel, not to mention the terrific late-season room rate, we ended up being very disappointed in the inconsistant (mainly very poor) service. On the upside, the hotel and rooms are charming and very clean (well, they were clean for the first night before the maids stopped cleaning!). When we called to make our reservation, a very friendly staff member told us right away that the cheapest rooms, above the bar, could be noisy. We appreciated the heads-up and booked a larger, slightly more expensive, room in the back. The room rate was still VERY good for such a great location & the room was lovely. The hotel is right in the middle of Vail Village and steps from the ski lift.

On the downside, aside from Victoria (if I remember her name correctly) who was terrific, the service was very poor. The problem appeared to be under-staffing (maybe this is how they can offer these late-season bargain rates...most of the staff have already left?!). They were "too busy" to fullfill almost any request (i.e. to get the car our of their garage). On the second night, the maids were "too busy" to clean all of the rooms, so our room was not cleaned and there was over-flowing trash in the hallway as well. The most simple of requests caused mass confusion (for example, we ended up extending our stay an extra night...which you would not think was highly unusual...but it led to all kinds of confusion and one problem after another). After taking the time to fill out their evaluation in detail, to inform them of the problems we encountered, I did not get so much as a "sorry for the inconvenience". The late-season rates really are great, but I'm not sure they are worth it for this type of service.

P.S. Have fun in Vail - - its the BEST skiing, anywhere!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2005

We recently stayed at the Gasthof for the second time and this time we were very disappointed to say the least. We were given a room above the bar. We were never told of the location when we booked the room. Had we been told, I would not have taken the room. Very loud, and across the street the bar noise went until all hours. The hotel did very little to help us. They offered us a 10% discount on the penthouse which was over $700.00 per night....not a great incentive. The beds and pillows also need updating. I think I would find someplace more accomadating and helpful. We love the location , but not the hotel. If you do say here don't forget to ask about the location pertaining to the bar!!

Helpful?
5 Thank beanosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul. Mn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2003

We love this spot, and come here every year to ski. Cannot beat the breakfast, the unpretentious service and the charm we only have seen in small European hotels. Keep it up Pepi, we will return. Would rate higher, but could use a little updating, but for the price, one cannot complain.

Helpful?
2 Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 3, 2003

We don't have much respect for people who place "anonymous" postings regarding their supposed visit to a hotel.

We are referring to the posting regarding Pepi's Gasthof Gramshammer posting of "Anonymous" and their comment "Poor service and poor attitude." on March 17, 2002.

We are not in the habit of paying $500/nite for a room. However, had we been so inclined and determined to pay that much, I'm confident the Hotel staff would have suggested one of the fine resorts on the mountain. Point being, the standard rate of $105/nite (off-season) affords the guest(s) with a beautiful Austrian decor room with two double beds, spacious bathroom and all of the appointments & atmosphere of a fine European hotel.

We have stayed at the Gramshammer for several nights at least twice each year for the past several years. We have always, without exception, found the staff pleasant and helpful, and we "were regularly greeted when entering or leaving the hotel."

The hotel garage is under the hotel which makes it very convenient.
This affords guests the ability to take elevators with their luggage to their rooms. Only on one occasion we asked for assistance with our luggage...and we were politely accommodated

Pepi's Restaurant is part of the hotel and faces the main area of the walking zone in Vail. (Try their refreshing raspberry tea!) Their varied menu should delight most all customers.

A more than adequate complementary continental breakfast is served in a traditional Alpine Gasthof atmosphere. Fresh breads baked daily are served with an assortment of meats, cheese, cereal and fresh fruit.
It's not a Denny's, so don't expect it to be.

Incidentally, the owners reside on the premises affording their guests the opportunity to express any comments or concerns regarding their stay in person.

Fair and balanced comments from a regular guest who considers the Gramshammer " a home away from home!"

K & K

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#20 of 30 in Vail
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Property: Gasthof Gramshammer
Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing