We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel but front desk needs to shape up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK hotel but front desk needs to shape up”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 8 nights and overall an OK hotel, with great breakfast (and breakfast host) and great location. Hotel management/part of the front desk crew a disaster though. We called in advance to secure a roll in bed, which they didn’t arrange (we arrived 1 am and had to squeeze in 3 in a queen sized bed; no apology, instead they questioned us). We had to accept a more expensive room and was told that "there is an issue with the last night, but we will try to work it out so that you can keep the room". We couldn't, only they didn't tell us. Our stuff was moved from one room to another without warning while we were out skiing, a fairly gross violation if integrity in my opinion. They screwed up but failed to accept any responsibility. They haven’t even bothered to return calls afterwards. If Pepi the owner is serious about his reputation he should have a serious talk with his staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jupida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vail1962, Front Office Manager at Gasthof Gramshammer, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Where we thank this guest for staying with us and taking the time to post a review for us, we would like to take a moment to point out a few false statements and defend our actions.
These guests booked our hotel through a third party reservation site and booked a standard room with two double beds stating their group was comprised of 2 adults and 2 children. They arrived at the hotel with 2 adults and 3 children. The room they booked physically cannot accommodate a roll away bed and does not allow for more than a maximum occupancy of 4 guests. The only option we had available for them, being that it is high season and the hotel was nearly sold out, was, in fact, a more expensive room that was available for all but the last night of their stay. They were well aware of (and signed for) these arrangements and that they would need to change to a different room for the last night of their stay. Our staff did state that should we receive a cancellation and could accommodate their last night in the same room instead of the room move, we would certainly let them know. This did not materialize, thus the room move on the last night of their stay was still necessary.
On the day of their room move, they were of course away from the room out on the mountain skiing and the cell phone number provided upon check in was sending calls straight to a voice mail box that had not been set up. Therefore, we were unable to reach them after many attempts to remind them that they were to change rooms.
We did have a 10 year repeat guest arriving into that room for a week long stay. She arrived at about 12-noon and patiently waited in the lobby for the room to become available. She even entertained the idea of switching to another room type which unfortunately would not have worked for her as the was traveling with her mother and needed the room with two queen beds instead of the other one I had available with one king.
This being said, I waited as long as I possibly could (2:30pm) for these guests to return and move to the new room themselves. When I could not wait any longer, I personally assisted with the moving of their belongings into the new room and assigned a team of 3 housekeepers to remake the room for the guest waiting in the lobby in order to meet our deadline of 3pm check in time.
Upon return to the hotel, these guests were very upset, which frankly I anticipated. Even though they state in their review that we did not apologize, I expressed a number of times that I was sorry for the way they felt about the situation and regretted having to do that, but felt that after waiting all day and repeatedly trying to contact them that I had no other choice. I assured them that the utmost care was taken in moving their belongings and I escorted them to their new room per their request to watch them go through their things to be sure all of their belongings were present in the new room.
We did not "screw up" instead went way out of our way to try our very best to comfortably accommodate them after they intentionally booked our least expensive room with incorrect information. Had they tried to book the original room correctly stating that they would be a party of 2 adults and 3 children the booking would not have been permitted. We have not received any contact from them since their departure date and this is because the truth surrounding this matter boils down to the fact that there really is no issue other than the fact that they were upset that we moved their belongings for them. Compensation in the form of a discount was applied to the last night of their stay with our apologies.
We are grateful to walk away from this situation having learned something new and have implemented a policy to now provide a reminder notice the night before a room move under the door of the current room to avoid a situation like this in the future. We hope they have also walked away having learned that in the future they should book reservations based on the actual number of guests who will be traveling with their party instead of booking with deceiving and incorrect information.

We would like to remind all readers that we are family owned and operated since 1964 and take great pride in providing quality hospitality service to those who visit us. We encourage you to continue reading our reviews and perhaps form your opinion of us based on a review provided by one of our many repeat guests who have found the Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer to be their Vail home away from home for many years.

Kind Regards,
Brittany Hamilton
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed in Pepi's from Feb 14th to the 24th. From the moment I walked in to when I left everything was great. The location is RIGHT in the heart of Vail Village about 200 feet from the slopes. Honestly, I was shocked because the rate was so competitive that I had expected something a bit less, but I was wrong!

Especially after we looked at a few hotels while we were in Vail for next year that we though were going to be nicer. While they might have had bigger fancier lobbies, the only thing higher end about the other hotels were the prices. The rooms were actually smaller than Pepi's. We had decided we preferred Pepi's EVEN if the price was the same.

We got an upgraded River Front room with balcony which was still less than all the other hotels and it could not have been nicer and a good size. It was in great shape and always kept clean by housekeeping. Our favorite part was the heated bathroom floors. The balcony had a nice view of the river. We sat outside and had coffee a few times.

The amenities were nice. There is a small steam room, sauna, 2 hot tubs, and small gym. Everything you need if you wanted to workout but as much skiing as we did we were wiped out at the end of the day. We did use the hot tubs every day.

The staff were great as well. Andre, the front desk manager is really accommodating and helped us out with everything we needed.

Last is the restaurant which is great. Although it looks like a fuddy duddy old school restaurant the truth is, the food there is probably still one of the best in Vail. We ate there twice. It is Austrian food and I had Elk and Hungarian Goulash. Things I do not get back home in Miami Beach. They are also know for having of of the best Apre skis. Almost forgot, their daily Continental breakfast is great as well. It comes included in the room.

The only drawback was that they did not have room service. it is always nice to have late night grub sent to your room.

The bottom line is that there is no reason to stay in any other hotel in Vail. I am so glad I did not pay $300+ more a night for a hotel that might have had a ski concierge or a bigger lobby because I found exactly what I needed here and will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taplinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGasthof1964, Front Office Manager at Gasthof Gramshammer, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and honest opinion about so many of the things we offer here.
We also appreciate your suggestion for room service, although not something we received any feedback about in the past, it seems to be a popular suggestion this season. We have noted this and will discuss the idea at the end of this season as a potential for a new amenity next season.
We appreciate your business and sincerely look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brittany Hamilton
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My mother is Austrian so I'm picky when it comes to Austrian food. We had diner in the antlers room and it was fantastic. A little pricy but worth the experience. The atmosphere was very pleasant. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGasthof1964, Front Office Manager at Gasthof Gramshammer, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our Antlers room at Pepi's Restaurant. We have passed your compliments on to our Executive Chef and his staff who appreciate your feedback and kind words.

We look forward to having you dine with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brittany Hamilton
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

In the heart of Vail Village, you are steps away from everything. As convenient as it gets. On the other hand, you are also in the middle of Vail nightlife which could be a problem for some on a busy night. This hotel provides earplugs on the night stands. Not a coincidence.

Room was clean but a bit outdated even for the old world Austrian theme. The restaurant and bar, two Vail Village landmarks, have had the same servers and menu for umpteen years. Both are now filled with tourists, foreigners and seniors. The mainstay entertainers are gone and so is their energy. The bartender is all business all the time and a little mean spirited, and I actually saw him cut off some people who were far from wasted. Hey, this is a vacation spot! Complimentary breakfast is basic, nothing special befitting a place with this kind of history. As long as the reputation holds and the competition stays focused on a more modern and younger approach, the place will be busy. For me, the place is tired though the location is A+. Perfect place to bring your parents.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bridge Street and/or closer to Covered Bridge will be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGasthof1964, Front Office Manager at Gasthof Gramshammer, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We thank you for your honest feedback and for being our guests here at Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer. We do agree with you that our location can't be beat as our proximity to Gondola One is among the most convenient here in Vail Village.
It sounds as though you stayed in one of our Standard rooms with two double beds, which are located in the portion of the building that was the original construction. We do our very best to be transparent about the fact that they are located above the bar/restaurant and some do have windows facing out onto Bridge Street. These two noise factors can be an issue for light sleepers, hence the earplugs ..(he's not kidding, folks hehe) Due to the noise, they are our most affordable rooms at $295 per night. We are excited to announce that we are planning to complete some bathroom renovations this spring in these rooms to bring the decor in this portion of the hotel up to date. I would love to suggest our Riverside rooms to you for a future stay. They are our newest addition , located off the back side of the building escaping the nightlife noises, and are also the most spacious and modern of our accommodations.
We are among only a few hotels in Vail Village that include breakfast with your stay. We offer a complimentary European Continental breakfast to our hotel guests with a variety of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, hot and cold cereal, pastries including bagels and muffins as well as coffee, tea and juice. I am disappointed to hear that you found the bartender to be a bit cold, but perhaps something was happening beyond what you observed on the surface that led to those guests being shut off. We do always trust their judgement for safety sake not only for those who have potentially had too much to drink, but the safety of all other guests around as well.
We do understand if something else in the Village is more your style on your next trip to Vail, but should you chose to stay with us again we certainly welcome you back and feel a Riverside room may be more enjoyable for you.

Kind Regards,
Brittany Hamilton
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and nice. We came late the night of arrival but they waited for us, and even offered free parking as the elevator was not working.

The rooms are big and in good shape. The beds confortable and all was very clean. Some reviewers says about outdated rooms; I don't know, ours was in good shape and paint and furniture was fine. Our only problem was that you couldn't shut down the heat. We ended cooling it off by opening the window (not very energy saving system).

Breakfast was good, with cheese, awesome salami, and good selection of fruit and cereal. No server though, and no bacon (!) or scrambled eggs.

The location is the best, without any doubt. In the middle of the town, with the ski lift around the corner (500 ft). I really liked that from the hotel you could get to bars, shops and restaurant simply walking. If you come for skiing i can't think of a better location.

The views are a little obstructed, so that is not what you should be looking (!) for.

SImply put, this hotel is NOT a chain, and is family owned and I love this, in these times of Mariotts, Hiltons and Days Inn. I recommend supporting this type of businesses. The price was also fair, cheaper than the supposedly "hot hotels" in town and I would bet it beats them all.

Room Tip: With balcony is better, West side. Standard rooms are great, so no need to spend more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

From beginning to end a very satisfying visit. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel has the feel of a small European boutique hotel. Our room was beautiful and immaculate and felt like a little refuge. The king bed we had was very comfortable. Breakfast was very very good; the woman in charge took her job very seriously and it showed. We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing visitors need to know is the hotel is located in the pedestrian only area. You are better off parking your car in the muni lot and walking the short distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaOneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Gasthof Gramshammer during the Vail Village Oktoberfest 2013. We checked in early with no problem and Karen at the front desk was very accommodating and nice. We were given the option of parking at the hotels garage for $15 a night or to park in the free covered secure parking garage just a short walk behind the hotel. This is not your average hotel it has wonderful charm and it made us feel like we were back in Europe! The room was very clean, we had a huge balcony that overlooked the village. Two very soft and comfortable double beds, a table with two chairs and a flat screen TV. No A/C in the room, would have been nice, but was not a deal breaker, the ceiling fan worked just fine. We were there durning Oktoberfest and didn't have any issue with noise from outside or other rooms but the room came with complimentary ear plugs just in case. The food at the restaurant was delicious. Just an idea of price they had 2 brats, mashed potatoes and sauerkraut for $18 and the kids and I shared a delicious plate of Käsespätzle for $20. The European style breakfast was excellent, meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, fruits and plenty of juice, milk , coffee and tea. The restaurant and bar staff were great! Close to the ski lift and every shop in town. Starbucks is just behind the hotel across the beautiful covered bridge. A great trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#20 of 30 in Vail
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.1 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Property: Gasthof Gramshammer
Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing