We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austrian charm in the middle of Vail!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Gasthof Gramshammer during the Vail Village Oktoberfest 2013. We checked in early with no problem and Karen at the front desk was very accommodating and nice. We were given the option of parking at the hotels garage for $15 a night or to park in the free covered secure parking garage just a short walk behind the hotel. This is not your average hotel it has wonderful charm and it made us feel like we were back in Europe! The room was very clean, we had a huge balcony that overlooked the village. Two very soft and comfortable double beds, a table with two chairs and a flat screen TV. No A/C in the room, would have been nice, but was not a deal breaker, the ceiling fan worked just fine. We were there durning Oktoberfest and didn't have any issue with noise from outside or other rooms but the room came with complimentary ear plugs just in case. The food at the restaurant was delicious. Just an idea of price they had 2 brats, mashed potatoes and sauerkraut for $18 and the kids and I shared a delicious plate of Käsespätzle for $20. The European style breakfast was excellent, meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, fruits and plenty of juice, milk , coffee and tea. The restaurant and bar staff were great! Close to the ski lift and every shop in town. Starbucks is just behind the hotel across the beautiful covered bridge. A great trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was in Denver for a business meeting, and my girlfriend and I decided to go to Vail 8/12/13 for a couple of days. The hotel is right in the middle of Vail Village where there are restaurants, shops and also ski lifts if it is winter. The rooms were big with balconies and garage parking. The hotel is small and has a lot of character as opposed to the larger properties that all look the same. It was clean and included a lovely breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a fun girls trip to Vail and loved this hotel (room 203). The staff was great, especially Karen, at the front desk. Our room and bathroom were very clean, we had a large balcony, the location is the best in Vail and there is underground parking (our van fit since it was not busy, but normally only smaller cars allowed). The breakfast was better than most "continental breakfasts" and included several meats and cheeses. We walked to everything. Because it was a Sunday night, Vail was very quiet. We enjoyed dinner and a movie at Cinnebar, excellent food and very comfy seats. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CelticChick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did a spur of the moment girls trip to Vail and stayed one night Sunday Aug 11,2013 at the Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer and enjoyed our stay. We were 3 ladies that had room 203 which has 2 queen sized beds. Karen checked us in was very pleasant. Our room was very clean, the bathroom was clean, yes no A/C but the ceiling fan kept the room cool with the patio door open. The beds and pillows were very, very comfortable. The breakfast had several kinds of fruit juices, coffee, hot tea, milk. Bagels, cream cheese, different danishes, muffins, German rye bread, cereals, cheese plate, fresh ripe pineapple, mellon, grapes, and yogurt, all very nice and fresh. Being a Sunday they were only half full but when we checked in on Sat they said they had been almost full. We did not hear any noise from the bar or street in our room. There was some service truck noise in the morning but not bad as we had to get up at 8 am anyway. There was a desk and a small table in the room. They had a hair dryer in the bathroom with shampoo, conditioner, and skin lotion in a little basket, enough towels. The location was right in the center of town which was nice. The flowers around the outside were so pretty. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but it was pretty full at lunch and dinner. Yes the hotel is older than some but it was pretty and to me as long as it is clean who cares how new it is. All the hotel staff was very friendly, I would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raggedyann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After coming to Vail for 25 years and living there for 2 we decided to stay overnight here and were disappointed with the quality of the rooms and overall service. Rooms a bit noisy. No airco. Bfast was nice

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgium33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is right in the heart of Vail Village which is fun, but it can be a bit noisy in the summer. The hotel has a great "original Vail" feel to it, but does not seem to have kept up with the times, the bathrooms are in need of a bit of an update and the amenities are minimal. The staff seemed to be working hard (it was a very busy weekend) but seemed not to be handling it very gracefully. I was surprised at how little they knew about the town and events at the front desk. I have stayed at four or five places in Vail/Lionshead and I would put this about mid-pack.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dHous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A delightful, very European, small hotel in the heart of Vail. Exceptionally comfortable room and an outstanding restaurant. Staff very courteous and helpful, especially Adrian. Mrs. Gramshammer is a delight and wonderful to talk to. All in all, one of the most welcoming and comfortable hotels we have ever been in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronfromvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 31 in Vail
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 31 in Vail
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 31 in Vail
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#10 of 31 in Vail
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#16 of 31 in Vail
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $304 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing