We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing Vail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Skiing Vail”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in the heart of Vail village this Gasthof has real European charm.. Apres ski is about as good as it gets with guitar music in the bar. Restaurants busy and cuisine very good.Spa in house .A Stone throw from the lifts.Some rooms are a bit noisy so if you like quiet ask for river suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

When our condo can't accomodate everybody who wants to visit, we know this is the next best thing. The cozy rooms and location (close to our home), plus the efficient staff are fabulous. We liked their bedding so much, we ordered the same sets for ourselves. And only a fool would miss drinks/music during Happy-Hour at the bar!
S. Churchman

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the dive bar fool you! When u first walk in you're in the midst of an old school dive bar, which is perfect for vail. When you veer to the left you'll find yourself in old school Germany! The three of us dined on escargot - delish - a sashimi dish (who'd have guessed) and some cakebread Sauvignon Blanc. For dinner I had the trout - superb - my friend had ribeye (very happy) and my husband had the elk, which they literally cook on a makeshift stovetop on a cart at your table! If you like not being rushed, are tired of the over-modernized and overpriced restaurants found in a town like vail, you will really enjoy this place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my home away from home in Vail. I love the little hotel in the middle of Vail. The rooms are simple,unpretentious yet elegant just like the owners Pepi and Sheika Gramshammer. The restaurant serves great Austrian food. The bar is hopping at night. Pepi's retail store has a great selection of both ski and fashion items and the location is the best in Vail.

Unless you are a big hotel chain groupie, you will love this place. Probably not a great spot for little kids however.

Room Tip: 4th floor facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times. It is always a great place to anchor when you are in Vail, CO. It is located right in the middle of Vail Village, close to everything.

We arrived on a Friday evening on our last trip to celebrate Oktoberfest weekend. The festival is literally right outside the doors of the hotel. Our check-in was smooth as always. We generally stay in Room #216. It has a wrap around balcony and it looks right out on Vail Village. Might be a bit noisy for some people, but if you are staying in Vail Village you can expect some noise from all the people meandering about the town.

Our room had 2 double beds, nicely stocked restroom with soaps, shampoo, conditioner, hand lotion and plenty of towels, The room comes with a safe (touch pad friendly) and a humidifier (mountain air is very dry). No A/C in any of the rooms, but with the windows open at night, it can get down right cold. There was a nice TV and desk in the room, as well. No refrigerator, but I understand that you can request one from the front desk and they will actually deliver it.

Every morning between 7am and 9:30am, the hotel serves a nice complimentary breakfast in their restaurant. Meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, juices and coffee.

The hotel has a nice bar for a tasty cocktail, a fine dining restaurant and an excellent patio restaurant - good for people watching.

The room rates at the Gramshammer are very competitive. For the money, it is much more than you would expect. I certainly give this place 5 stars and I cannot wait to return to Vail and visit the Gramshammer again.

Room Tip: During the Summer months, there is free parking in the Vail Parking structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Dudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We love this hotel and its restaurant. Coffee on the balcony in the morning, watching the town get ready for all its visitors is our favorite. Our first stay there was in the fall, 1973, and we love going back. Vail is #1 for scenery, shopping, dining, and people-watching any time of the year. There is no place better to stay than Gramshammer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan7colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRASER
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer was a wonderful experience that started at the reception desk and continued with the room and included breakfast. The room was a taste of Germany or Austria with nice linens and wonderful view of the village. It was quiet and clean. We enjoyed the restaurant for dinner and the breakfast which was included was absolutely over the top with cold meats, cheeses, wonderful fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, all kinds of breads and pastries.- everything you can imagine. We found the staff helpful and pleasant. The parking was tight but in Vail - there is no parking, so we were happy to have it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as Vail is a village and you want to be part of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#20 of 30 in Vail
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Property: Gasthof Gramshammer
Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing