We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condo”
Review of The Wren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wren
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 26, 2014

When I booked our room, I made sure that the room was facing Vail Mountain as we've stayed in condos before in Vail where the noise from the interstate was very loud all day and night. I was assured that all of the "loft" rooms faced the mountain. That is true to a point -- the living area and deck did have a beautiful view of the mountain and Gore Creek but the bedroom was on the highway side of the condo. That said, we really didn't notice the noise that much while trying to sleep and it was wonderful sitting in the living room or on the deck and hearing the babbling brook with no traffic noise whatsoever. The unit itself was very clean and had just been remodeled and updated. My husband's extended family had a great time playing shuffleboard; the pool was wonderfully warm on a cool day. I appreciated that they were making a big attempt to encourage recycling. It is the perfect place to stay if you are attending Bravo Vail as it is a short walk to the Betty Ford Pavilion. The Wren is one of the more affordable condos in the Village; there is no need to spend any more to have a beautiful room right in the village!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 20Carolyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for The Wren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our experience at The Wren was excellent. We have been many places and stayed many places but only a couple including The Wren we can actually say the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful even before the office opened Stephen was so pleased to help us with our needs and didn't have us wait until the opening hours. They made us feel comfortable and we look forward on going back again. Kudos to the staff as The Wren it's people like you that make our vacation a pleasurable stay.

Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for the side that has the river/Mountain view it was spectacular!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I and our kids have been coming here for over 30 years. The Wren is a great place to stay no matter what size group and the location is perfect for walking to anyplace. We actually like to stay on the 4th floor overlooking the Gore River because the view is awesome! You have the large playground for little kids about 5 mins away and Vail Village is about a 10 minute walk. The condos are well kept, stylish and clean.

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking the river. You are just above tree line so the views of the mountains are spec...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was a return trip to The Wren for us! We visited in 2012, and returned there at the end of March 2014. The first place we called for lodging was The Wren. They were very accommodating and personable on the phone, and the price can't be beat for the location. I would absolutely recommend checking them out. Though we didn't use them this time, there was often guests using the heated outdoor pool and hot tubs (2) at the end of the day when we returned from the mountain. The condos are comfortable, offering a place to crash, cook (save money!) and they are within a 10 minute walk (not a bad walk either) to Vail Village. The ski shuttle was quite convenient, and the staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain View! I loved watching the Cats out grooming at night!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnoBunnyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The accommodations are very nice, convenient location, good shuttle to the slopes, and most importantly very reasonably priced. While within walking distance, it will probably be a good 20 min hike w/your gear, so take the shuttle.

The only downside was that the staff isn't onsite after 8pm; we were trying to sleep while a party was raging in the hot tub until 3 am one night w/very loud and obnoxious guests.

While the rules clearly prohibit hot tub use after the evening, unfortunately no one is there to enforce it. Would be great if one person was around at night to oversee things. If you do check in after hours, be sure to get the combination code to the box that contains keys, and remember to park in the inside, lower garage in the spot marked with your room number; do not leave your car in the lot outside as that is for employees. We checked in late so no one told us all this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank us3345632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The accommodations are excellently furnished, Hot tubs and heated pool help a lot to recover for a hard day at the slopes, Cleanliness is above average, shuttle to slops and or city areas, is excellent!!
My best recommendation to this facility!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I am not afraid to spend money on a vacation, however, some hotels in Vail will choke you with cost. I had to go one tier down from my usual and found "The Wren". This is a condo, not a hotel.
Room 102 was great. Off the (unit is on the first floor which was great to not climb stairs after i abused myself skiing all day) patio is a spectacular view of the mountain and the other side of the condo is the east side of the building with an external entrance which faced the highway, but because the hotel is "L" shaped, this is the part of the "L" that is away from the highway side. There were patios, two hot tubs, a pool, and an underground free parking lot between our door and the road There was absolutely ZERO road noise and we thought the place was comfortable, soundproof, and safe.
There is a free shuttle that takes you to the front door of the ski areas that leaves every 15 minutes promptly starting at 8:15 am and afternoon returns you to your hotel front door on the half hour. This hotel is great!
Some may say the location is a little less than desired, but the shuttle running all of the time and once we even walked which took 5 minutes in a blizzard (which was fun) make it just as great as all others minus the high cost.
Finally we loved the wall of glass looking onto the mountain and the fireplace was great as well which we were encouraged to use!

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view FACING the mountain
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wren

Address: 500 S Frontage Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vail
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $169 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wren 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wren’s convenient, central location assures our Owners and Guests easy access to Vail’s wide variety of year-round outdoor sports and activities. In addition, cultural and entertainment events, specialty shops, galleries, and more than 100 restaurants and nightspots are located nearby.Stay in Vail for an affordable and reasonable nightly rate. Vail Village and Golden Peak are within walking distance. And utilize The Wren’s private skier shuttle during the Winter ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wren Hotel Vail
Wren Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing