We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing barbecue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moe's Original BBQ

Moe's Original BBQ
Ranked #5 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Moe's Original BBQ is a Southern soul food revival with food prepared fresh daily with recipes passed down for generations.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Amazing barbecue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent barbecue. The only hitch is that they only make so much, so you have to get your order in early. The space is not so nice, so it is best to bring it back to your condo and eat it there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NYNYGIraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    131
    39
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Ribs Ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We always stop at Moe's when in vail, we can't skip Moe's Ribs! The best ribs we have ever had, really ever!!! You have got to try them:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 224love2travel1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great BBQ right off the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

What more is there to say? If you are hungry and coming down the mountain in Lionshead this place is to the left and up the stairs on your way towards Lionshead hotel. We passed it every day last trip and didn't stop. Wish we had. It's not a fancy restaurant, just great BBQ at a good price with good music. If the weather is nice you can sit outside too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
“Cannot wait to eat there again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I loved this little place...Everything from the wood picnic tables outside and the Rastafarian music streaming through the music. And of course the food! It was reasonably priced with a good amount of food and FLAVORFUL! I didn't get to have any, but they seemed to have some good beer on tap too. Oh, and super customer service! Other stuff: It's a small place with no onsite bathroom (there's a single public stall for Men and Women a couple of doors down) so be weary if you're going with kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EETLIVLAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great, fast BBQ in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I am not a big fan of bbq but it must have been due to the fact that I haven't had any as good as this place. We ordered a variety of things and sides all of which were excellent: juicy, flavorful, and without those chewy, inedible bits I hate. They are fast but not to fast. What I mean is that they take their time to make it well. Plan on waiting a little bit for your food so if no tables are open when you get there, don't worry yet. You can also take it to go and sit outside in the plaza areas it the weather permits. Their Mac and cheese is really good as a side. And their cornbread is far from the boring typical stuff at other bbq places. All of this at more reasonable prices than the other places nearby.

Helpful?
Thank Achilles07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moe's Original BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Moe's Original BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing