We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly remodeled very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a conference the first week in February. The hotel and conference facilities are very well done and seem to have recently gone through a remodel. The main lobby has a cozy library as well as sofas around the fireplace seating. The exercise room is fairly decent for a hotel. There did seem to be elevator problems consistently during the week that we stayed though. Overall the core is very nice the rooms are of good size, the valet crew was exceptional! The ski valet area is great if you are visiting and planning and skiing. They check your skis boots and poles, and also little drive you right to left or you can take the bus that is conveniently located 50 yards away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 852 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2011

The location of the hotel is fantastic: right in the center of Vail Village. That is about all the hotel has going for it.

For the price of the Ritz in Paris, one gets a tiny, no-frills room with a view of the service driveway.

Staff were very sweet but utterly clueless. Check-in and check-out were arduously long. Bags were sent to the wrong rooms which meant waiting 20 minutes at a time when no one else was checking in. The bar has zero atmosphere and the worst singer straining out "songs." Staff forgot to clean the rooms one day and almost refused to come do it because they were about to go off shift. Excuse me? You don't do your job and expect me to live with a dirty room? That's what you get for a $600 room. I understand that they just opened under new management and there are hiccups related with this. These issues went far beyond.

The Market breakfast was the only highlight of their operation. Staff was friendly and, more important, competent. They went out of their way to make sure needs were met without being on top of you all the time. But a good breakfast does not warrant the outrageous prices for a nothing hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCDesign78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

We apologize for not meeting our own services standards during you most recent stay. Thank you for letting us know where we fell short.

We want you to know that what you experienced is not acceptable nor is it the norm. We apologize and would like to discuss with you what we need to do to have you as a loyal Sebastian – Vail customer. We are happy to work on a solution with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at a 1 bedroom suite with living room and full kitchen. The hotel location is central to Vail Village. Vail provides free bus transportation every 15 min to as late as 2am, making it easy to reach other villages within Vail. Resort fee and valet is mandatory, since Vail does not have street parking.

We arrived near midnight and was offered a nice two-bedroom, two-level suite as an upgrade for our 10yr wedding anniversary. (Room 402) However the renovation for the room was not complete. There were drywall dust on towels, pulled back wall paper for plumbing access, cut electrical wires, and a handful of other imperfections. The neighboring suites were under construction as well. There was a compressor outside the master bedroom that streaks upon start-up, which kept us up throughout the night.

The gracious manager Eric apologized abundantly and helped us moved to another completed room. Eric and his staff did a lot to compensate us for the mistake and the trouble of moving and we appreciate him for doing a fantastic job making all things work out for us.

The room we moved to (406) has eaves and pop-out to windows. The roof line/ceilings are very low at places and between my wife and I, we have bumped our head a half a dozen times over the course of our 6 night stay. I'd avoid this room if you and your party are tall. (I am 5'9") Also construction begins at 8am, making it difficult to sleep in. For those who like to cook, this room is for you. It comes with a long island with granite counter top, housing the sink, dish-washer, plenty of counter space, and 4 bar-stools to entertain while cooking.

This hotel is under renovation and is scheduled to complete by December 15th under the name of Sebastian. I'd recommend this facility to anyone, but plan on booking after December 15, 2010. Confirm with the hotel that this facility has completed construction, as the website gives no indication that the facility in under a major renovation.

The best rooms face Golden peak and Vail Village. I recommend you request these rooms and avoid the rooms that look out into the glass atrium and other balconies.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirktsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights here for our niece's wedding. Got a pretty good rate although I don't like the hotel charging your VISA before our stay. Anyway, the room was clean, spacious, spotless and quiet. The view was just OK, but what the heck. The desk and housekeeping staff were excellent. The dinner and service for wedding reception were also very professional. Only complaint is the price of te food in the "coffee shop". Sausage, eggs, prepackaged home fires, toast ,coffee and small orange juice was $17.50. Seems a little unreasonable although Vail is very pricey. All in all, we recommend this hotel but bring money to Vail - lots of it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife & I live in Denver and booked a last minute trip to Vail and selected the Vail Plaza Hotel & Club because of the incredible rate they are offering for a king room (www.visitvailvalley.com for $119 a night). We wanted a quality room with a good location in Vail. The Vail Plaza could not have been a better choice! The property is beautiful, comfortable and clean. We were pleased to find the pool area pictured on the hotel's website had been redone and enlarged. There was a wine tasting, BBQ, and free water at the pool during our stay. The on site fitness center and spa were also very nice. There is some minor remodeling in the lobby area and the on site restaurants (Galileo & Da Vinci) were not open but none of this impacted our stay. This is a great location, just steps from the door to a stop on the Vail Transit Line, all of Vail is at your doorstep. We parked our car and rode the bus or walked to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkohnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This trip was for both business and pleasure, with my husband. We loved the location, service, room, everything! It made our "business" portion of the trip SO much nicer! On Friday they served free drinks around the pool in the afternoon, on Saturday had a BBQ for guests around the pool, had great front-desk service, and a great room. They also gave us a wonderful price on the room, which had us sold from the beginning. They're right at the center of Vail so we could walk to everything. Very nice. Parking is $15/night at the hotel or you can park in the parking structure in town. We decided the parking structure was too far away so were fine with the per-night charge, especially with the low rate we received on the room.

There is a complete gym, a wonderful spa for massage, and 4 jacuzzi's at the pool. Free internet in the room.

One thing our room didn't have, unfortunately, was a refrigerator of any sort. I found that interesting, considering I haven't been in a room in years that didn't have one. Maybe it was just the low-cost room we purchased didn't have that. Not sure, but really would have liked one. Coffee maker in the room.....DON'T use their tap water to make your coffee!! They give complimentary water bottles in the room and now I know why....the tap water is TERRIBLE!! We made a pot of coffee with our bottled water first, then the next morning made a pot with their tap water (it's VAIL,one would think the tap water is fine)..OMG it was horrible! Tasted like chlorinated pool water mixed with coffee. Threw the entire pot out and remade it with their bottled water.

One thing I will say is not about this hotel, but the online pricing I found, particularly at Priceline. Very disappointed as Priceline had the room at $278. This is the highest price for this particular room out of season. All of the other sites had it at $195. I decided to just call, asked for their best rate and got $119. My suggestion is to call the hotel before purchasing anywhere and ask for their best rate. Then buy online if you can't get it cheaper at the hotel. Sometimes it works this way, sometimes it doesn't.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripmeisterAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

After 17hrs in the air to reach Denver from Australia, the 2hr drive to Vail in the dark on icy roads and falling snow was quite stressful. The close proximity of this hotel to the I70 exit made it a breeze to locate and the very warm welcome we received at check-in put the challenges of the trip well behind us.
Our room had a clear view to the slopes and the recent snow falls had created a lovely winter-wonderland picture.
Without exception, we found the staff very friendly, responsive and helpful. The public areas of this hotel are absolutely stunning and we could have easily believed we were in a 5-star establishment in Zermatt.
The main restaurant, the Da Vinci, was closed for the off-season but we still managed to enjoy great casual food in the bar.
Only a 2 night stay as part of a road trip but this was a really memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 31 in Vail
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $281 - $1,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the experience. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian - Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing