We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect honeymoon start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, ma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect honeymoon start”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I have never skied out west before so for our honeymoon we decided to start there and then head to Mexico. I could have stayed in Vail forever!

From start to finish The Sebastian made our trip an absolute dream! Their booking department is small and we dealt with Able the whole time. He was awesome. Able was able to get us an amazing rate for our stay there, followed up with us to make sure everything was satisfactory , and honestly just seemed genuinely excited for us to come there.
The second we arrived and pulled in ( we rented a car and drove from Denver), the Valet was beyond pleasant as well at the front desk staff. By this point we could tell that this hotel prides itself on the happiness of its guests.
Our room was very nice, you don't spend much time in it so we chose to just go with a standard room. The Whole hotel has this rustic chic feel, its has all the essentials to make sure you feel like you're in the Mountains, but also bring in a sort of swanky modern boutique feel ( my husband and I love boutique hotels). The hotel grounds are amazing, every night we spent at least an hour out in one of their outdoor hot-tubs and then by the big fire pit. Its amazing being surrounded by snow mts and lights while outside but being completely comfortable and toasty.
The Frost Bar was great, Their bar manager Ben we immediately clicked with because he was from Boston as well, but that aside he was so beyond friendly, knowledgeable, and you can just tell he truly enjoys the service industry. Ben is absolutely and asset to The Sebastian.
The concierge Morgan was so helpful and friendly, he was able to pull some strings and get us a reservation last minute at one of the most popular restaurants in the area.
Im so mad at myself that I cannot remember his name, but one of the guys who worked the front desk was so above and beyond great too. The maid had accidentally broken my Chanel Perfume while cleaning our room ( accidents happen no big deal). Upon returning from dinner, it was as if he was waiting by the door of the lobby to tell us, but he also had a few solutions for us as well. This was our last night and we were flying out to Mexico early the next morning, they had tried to track a new bottle down for me but it was late and were unable to. They offered to get a bottle as soon as the stores opened in the morning and express it to our hotel in Mexico for me. I was so grateful at the lengths they were willing to go to make sure I was compensated. We opted to just be compensated and save them the hassle.

Few other notes-

Hotel GM is so nice, great to talk to, treats everyone as a special guest ( as does the rest of the staff), Same with the gentleman who runs the functions there. So personable I'm sure planning a wedding with him is a dream!

Food is SO good! Hands down the best burger Ive ever had was at the Frost bar; the Wagyu burger ... HAVE ONE

Sorry if this review was lengthy but I could go on forever about how much I love this hotel and cannot wait to return, You don't know what you are missing until you visit the Sebastian. From both my husband and Myself, Thank you so much to the entire Sebastian family.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    86
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
220
316
24
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
451 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here for 3 weeks in December/January and really liked the place. The staff are very attentive, pleasant and generally a credit to the place. The rooms are good, although not quite as luxurious as described. Don't get me wrong - they are nice - but if you read the website you would think that you are entering the world of the top hotels rooms of the world - they are not quite there.....

The ski valet service is second to none - I have to say it really worked well for me. The short walk to the slope is good for loosening up and then your skis are about as close as they could get to the gondola.

I really liked the breakfast at the Market (separate review done) and the water and fruit service was very nice. I guess part of the resort fee.

So - I would probably come back - unfortunately on my next trip to vail in Feb - the prices were 4 times more than I paid in January so off to try another hotel next trip. I may well regret it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
419 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Spent 4 nights here w/ some friends. Large two bedroom suite w/ shared living room and kitchen... all very nice, great views. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, huge variety and staff could not have been more welcoming. Only minor issues w/ trying to order breakfast in room...despite our efforts to get them to take our breakfast card...it somehow fell off the door and was never picked up. Another day breakfast arrived (though a bit late)...then called when we were done at 8am...yet six and half hours later when we returned breakfast was still on table.
Overall, great hotel, would stay there again but for the price would like to see service a bit tighter.
Nice little gym, great pool/hot tubs. Easy 5 min walk to their base camp, where you keep your skis etc.

Room Tip: Our room looked over pool and at mountain, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our 10 day stay at the Sebastian just didn't seem enough...our two bedroom-3 full bathrooms residence was impeccably appointed...and equipped to make you feel right at home. The conveniently located Base Camp provides you in Vail a close enough ski in/ski out experience. The restaurant Leonora, Market and lobby's Frost -bar- are top notch (great Margaritas by the way!!!). Our 5 year old daughter also loves the hotel because it is very kid friendly. I also enjoyed the recently revamped gym. All in all, a superb experience!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt like we were at home. Bryan from reception, Eric and Brendan, right through to Audrey and GM Lance made us feel so welcome.
That aside, it's a beautiful boutique property. It's located central to Vail village and a few minute walk to the village. This is truly a classy property that I couldn't recommend higher enough. Thanks to staff and management for making our stay so such a memorable one :-) 10/10

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is very quaint and lovely. It is the perfect size, not very large and it feels very homey. The staff is so friendly and they greeted me every single time I walked into the lobby. I was always offered a beverage or absolutely anything in order to make my trip more enjoyable. I was here during Christmas with my family, and although they could definitely put out some more festive decorations, it was still very nice. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I can't wait to stay here again at a future date.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a very nice time. The hotel is beautiful and very well located. We where the with all the family and went skiing every day. The rooms are huge and you have everything you need. Kids love to get there and rest and be cozy and warm.
The went walking distance to ski school and they had tons of fun. Is really fun and I really recommend it.

Room Tip: If you try nice the people at ski school they will show you how to do more diferent tricks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASF4thGrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
8.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#10 of 30 in Vail
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Property: The Sebastian - Vail
Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing