We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ski vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebastian - Vail to your Saves list
The Sebastian - Vail
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Specials!
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Pinecrest, Florida
1 review
“Best ski vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

What can I say but "Wow"! This has to be one of the best managed hotels in the country. From the second we arrived the staff made us feel like we were at home. We were warmly welcomed and made to feel special by everyone of the hotel staff you run into each day. They all knew our names and made it easy to get directions and make recommendations for us to get the most out of our vacation. All of our requests were promptly responded to with higher than expected attention and accommodation. The Hotel itself is simply gorgeous and just a short walk to the lifts. The Sebastian provides a "base camp" at the lifts that valets your equipment so that you don't have to carry around your gear unlike the other hotels and condos in the area. The room was spacious, luxurious and clean. Housekeeping did a marvelous job of keeping our room clean and organized despite the mess our sons created daily. You are provided with a new robe and slippers daily to either lounge or take down to the the jacuzzi/pool area to enjoy a relaxing soak after a long day of skiing. Even the jacuzzi area is promptly serviced by friendly and attentive staff. Unlike I have experienced in all of the other hotels in the area,or elsewhere, the Sebastian offers weekly events where they serve champagne, or sparkling wine, with the, to die for, white chocolate covered popcorn. We called it "crack" popcorn because it is hard to stop eating it. This offers you a wonderful opportunity to meet other guests and to learn more about the hotel and services. I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed the food and wine at the hotel resturant "Lenora". What else can I say? We are already planning a return visit for the summer. Our sincere thanks to Lance, Kevin, Nikki, Daniel, Florencia and to many others for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank attyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    75
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
185
279
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place has it all: comfortable, chic atmosphere in the lobby/bar/library, great sized rooms, amazing spa (best massage ever), very nice hot tub/pool set-up, convenient, professional, efficient ski concierge and base camp, adorable and friendly staff, not to mention fantastic location. The Sebastian satisfies every need one has on a ski vacation. I'm already plotting next year's trip...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from 10 days at The sebastian and it was everything I hoped for. The staff were exceptional both in the hotel itself and the ski valets at 'Base Camp'. The room was spacious and perfectly clean and the daily house keeping services were very good. The breakfast offered a wide and substantial choice setting us up well for a day on the slopes. I have stayed in numerous ski hotels in Europe and the west coast of the USA and overall this was the best hotel and skiing experience. We visited the other local ski resorts that are included in the Vail ski pass and they dont come close to Vail - dont bother trying them !.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliG2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sebastian Vail is ideally located in the Vail Village - just steps away from the heart of the Village and the mountain! I enjoyed a lovely two night stay there last week - and from the minute I arrived, checked in - every single employee I came in contact with had a smile on their face, made eye contact and extended the most genuine service I've had anywhere in the world. The F & B at the hotel is VERY special and everything from the Tapas / Small Plates in Frost - to their extensive Breakfast Buffet in Leonora or their Spa.......all makes this hotel world class!! I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I stayed in a Standard KG room which was very well appointed. While I was there I did get a chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschulte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just back from a long weekend at this Vail Boutique hotel. Great looking place that knows how to treat it's guests. It's the kind of place where the help senses that you need assistance and are very happy abridge. From check-in to Check-out they were there to make you feel important and at home. We had a nice room on the 5th floor with a partial mountain view that was stylish and clean. The lobby, Library, pool area, Frost and Market were comfortable and clean. We are definitely going to be back in the future. We may even bring our kids since it seemed to be a kid friendly place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zzzdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights at The Sebastian for a skiing holiday. The hotel is gorgeous and in a central location. The staff are all superb - helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I agree that the sodas and snacks in the room are a great touch and they are happy to replenish if you ask. We found the hotel very relaxing - it was luxurious but not pretentious or intimidating. As recommended in other reviews the Friday evening fizz and popcorn was a great idea and the place was buzzing. We ate in Leonora one evening and the food and staff were very good. The Frost bar is certainly the place to be - it can get busy on Fri/Sat nights but added the general buzz of the place. And it does excellent cocktails. We had breakfast included and could help ourselves to whatever we wanted - it certainly set us up for a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRich137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so glad you were able to have and extended stay with us. Our associates enjoy ensuring our guests happiness while on property. Leonora is a new restaurant for us this winter season and we are happy you enjoyed it. The official name for “Fiz and Popcorn’ is Sparkle & Pop, we host it every Friday evening for all of our guests. At The Sebastian it is not just, with whom you travel, it is whom you meet along the way! It is a wonderful event and one of my personal favorites. Come back and see us soon. Thanks for taking the time to tell us how we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for 5days and 4nights a planned birthday trip for 2 friends. How would we know that we would have front row tickets the the Burton Ski and Snowboarding US Open!!! Did I mention it was free because Burton supplied monitors all throug Vail village. Way to go Burton!! They also sponsored other free and interactive activies. What a plus for 2 first timers!! Now the hotel, it was absolutely gorgeous. Our room (residence 223B) had a perfect view of the slopes and the competition with a view of the heated outdoor pool and jacuzzis below. The public areas where beautiful in addition to the lobby with the continous burning fire place, the spa, the restaurant, the bar and the library. It was a great find!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#1 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#6 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonnenalp
Sonnenalp
#2 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Property: The Sebastian - Vail
Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing