We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The people at this hotel were so nice and helpful. There were cookies, snacks and drinks in the room waiting when we arrived. They have a free movie rental box where you can pick out a movie and watch it in your room. There is a nice gym, pool and 4 hot tubs. The hotel is right in the heart of Vail and within walking distance to everything. This is a great hotel and I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hilandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 840 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is located in an ideal spot close to the center of Vail. Checking in the clerk actually walked us to the elevators explaining all the amenities of the hotel. The room was comfortable, excellent beds and linen. Complimentary water, soda and small snacks were always available in the room. Around 6 each evening the staff checked on our comfort and dropped off some cookies. The hotel was quiet and it was easy to get a good night of sleep.

There is a small warm pool with a waterfall surrounded by 4 hot tubs. Poolside service was quick and friendly. Walking out from the hotel there are a myriad choice of restaurants within 5 minutes. The staff, from the maids to the concierge, were all friendly and helpful, quite the best hotel we have stayed at for a long time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adams52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Sebastian in late September. The hotel is very elegant, the staff is extremely courteous and the pool/spa area is fantastic. The rooms are a bit disappointing. They are clean and functional but extremely dark (I'm sure that depends on which side of the hotel you're staying in). The biggest disappointment was the bathroom--dated. For the price of the room, I would have expected more--it reminded me of a bathroom you find in a budget hotel.

A minor disappointment was the audio visual and music technology in the room--also a bit dated. I was expecting an easy way to use my iPod but that was not the case. Finally, much was made about the value a guest gets from the resort fee. I was a bit disappointed that it ended up being some bottled water, a few cokes, some trail mix and some coffee. Not a great value.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay as I wasn't in the room much. I'd recommend staying there as the location is great, the staff are extremely helpful and the other amenities are first class.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelADC_Azzuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your great feedback on our service, location and amenities. We are glad that you had a good time and will return. If you could get in touch with me to let me know what you would like to see from a technology standpoint that would be wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at The Sebastian during the off season and it was pretty quite in Vail. The people at the hotel, however were busy and took excellent care of us. The room was amazing, the chocolate chip cookies, the robes, slippers and beverages in the fridge were as expected - GREAT. This is a first class facility and you cannot lose when you stay here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My Boyfriend and I went with some friends for a weekend (in the summer)
The Sebastian has been a great experience. The "Frost" bar is an awesome place for pre and post dinner drinks And the Block 16 restaurant has great food too.
It is in Vail centre, walking distance to the shops and restaurants.
Its staff are very friendly and the fitness centre and swimming pool are nice too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Like the other reviews say, everything about this hotel is exceptional. The entire hotel staff was very courteous and made everything very convenient for us. We had a basic room so we weren’t expecting much but it was large, very clean, had (free) sodas and snacks, and both a coffee maker and cappuccino maker. The pool area was beautiful at night with four spas, a pool with a small water fall, and warm fire pit. Great location in Vail Village but still close to the gondola. If I wrote everything we loved about this place you would think I was the hotel manager:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

the staff is professional, the hotel is immaculate and the service is exceptional. I had stayed for business and the hotel staff assures I have everything I need proactively. They didn't miss a thing and made me feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $330 - $1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the experience. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian - Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing