We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is Excellent here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I just came from a 5 night stay at The Sebastian in Vail. The location is perfect, very near from The Solaris Complex, in Vail Village, and there is a Bus Stop just outside. You can choose to keep your skis at the hotel or at The Sebastian Basecamp in front of the Vista Bahn Gondola. If you ski from Golden Peak or Lionshead it's better to keep it at the Hotel, and if you return through Vail Village at the end of the day, you can leave it at the Basecamp anyway, and they will send them to the Hotel, it is very convenient. They also have an SUV service on a first come basis to take you to the mountain whenever you're ready. The hotel is beautiful, Lobby, Library, Restaurants, full of interesting art pieces, in our first night we enjoy the opening of a Mexican Art exhibition with the presence of the Mexican Consul in Denver. The accommodations are excellent, they have In-room Nespresso Machines (I'm a Fan), Wi-Fi at no extra charge, water bottles everyday, the Spa services awesome, the pool area with four Hot Tubs is very reconfortant after a Ski day. Breakfast at the Market Restaurant is also excellent. I really recommend The Sebastian to anyone who wants to have a very nice stay in Vail.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LudwigMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 836 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

My 13-year old son (Cameron) and I stayed at The Sebastian for 6 nights (3/10-16) for a "boys week." Generally, with our family (i.e., 3 kids) we stay at The Westin (Beavercreek)--but wanted to ski Vail's back-country plus engage in other off-piste activities, so Vail was more centrally located. Accordingly, we took a shot at The Sebastian given its high TripAdvisor rankings. Beyond a couple of days of resort skiing, the main purpose of our trip was to go cat skiing off-piste as well as other high adrenaline activities. Due to a lack of snowfall for 3+ weeks in the Vail/Breckenridge & Keystone areas, we had several cat skiing day outings cancelled. Given our quest for "powder" however, I wanted to single out a member of the Concierge staff (Ms. Kelly Benson) who was very accommodating--i.e., she looked for other resort destinations within a 2 hour radius. Kelly was able to find us an outing up at Steamboat Springs, which was a blast. Additionally, she booked us on a private snow-mobile and Polaris Rzr (4X4) adventure (near Wolcott). I can't say enough about how Kelly's proactivity and follow-up assisted with our trip. We engaged her numerous times and her rolodex/contacts were extensive--thanks again Kelly!

Apart from the Concierge desk, the entire staff at The Sebastian was ultra-friendly. This extended from the valet parking employees to the front desk team, to wait staff at The Market, housekeepers (i.e., turn-down service), as well as the folks at Base Camp. The outdoor pool/hot tub was another highlight. Overall, if you are looking for pampering in a boutique environment, then The Sebastian is worth strong consideration. Kudos again to the team & management! -- Jim W.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_and_Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The staff at the Sebastian Vail makes this property the best property I've stayed at thus far. We stayed at the property for a total of 4 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer it was that good.

Prior to arrival, I called the property to inquire regarding car rentals nearby. Audrey at the concierge set up our car rental and accommodated our arrival and departure schedule. The minute we stepped out of our car, Jeff, greeted and helped us with luggage. Annie at the front desk checked us in and out and gave us the layout of the hotel. Chris Robinson at the concierge was awesome! Each time we came up to the counter he answered alllllllllll of our questions and provided us with great recommendations i.e. show shoeing trail, best green trails. Also, the day we went snow shoeing the Sebastian provided us with a lift to and from West Vail.

The hotel itself is very pleasing to the eye. Walking into the hotel the fireplace and chandelier instantly caught my attention. The rooms are very clean and tidy. The turn down service (with fresh baked cookies), complimentary water bottles and fruit are an added bonus. We also liked the blue time display on the ceiling - which we noticed the second night of our stay. On Friday nights, the hotel offers complimentary sparkling wine mixer in the library, they also serve up their white chocolate covered popcorn (yummy). We ate at the Market - breakfast buffet our first morning and were full and content for the rest of the day. I particularly liked the fresh made granola and oatmeal toppings.

Base Camp, a five minute walk from the hotel, is another great concept and service of the hotel. Jacob fitted me with proper sized ski boots. We were able to leave our gear there every day instead of lugging it back and forth from the hotel. Base Camp is connected to a Beignet Cafe which serves up fresh coffee and warm fresh beignets, I had one everyday. The cafe also had complimentary internet access on their Macs.

Take it from a very very detailed oriented (picky) traveler this is a great property and the staff and added amenities makes for an awesome time and stay in Vail. I am already looking forward to booking my nice stay.

Thank you again :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKK0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Most accomodating service, in this well designed hotel in the heart of Vail. We stayed 4 nights. There's a regular shuttle to the vista Ban lift but we only took it once, preferring the short walk. The Sebastian also has an excellent service center close to the lift where you collect your skis and boots. A friendly hotel despite its size.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our experience at The Sebastian was very positive and we were happy with every aspect of our 4 night stay at the hotel.

The front lobby of The Sebastian is aesthetically pleasing and provides a warm welcome upon arriving at the hotel. There are several comfortable gathering spots, my favorites being in the front lobby around the fireplace and the adjoining library which offers opportunities for reading or playing games with family/guests.

We stayed in a deluxe plaza room on the first floor. The room was clean, updated and felt spacious enough for the two of us. Our king bed was extremely comfortable with down duvet comforters and plenty of soft pillows. We appreciated the amount of storage space in dresser armoire and closet, which allowed us to have easy access to all of our personal belongings. Having access to a humidifier in the room made for an even more relaxing night sleep, although the temperature in room could get a bit toasty despite the controls on thermostat. We did crack open the windows a few times to allow some fresh cool air into room. The room itself felt private and quiet, but in walking down the interior hallways you can sometimes hear guests talking in their rooms.

We found all of the staff at the hotel to be very pleasant and accommodating. We enjoyed the nightly turn down service, which included robes and slippers bedside and cookies for nightly snack. If we had a need request it was sure to be met. They even went so far as to kindly bring a vacuum to the room at the end of our trip so we could vacuum seal our ski clothes for the trip back home.

Being located in Vail Village was a huge convenience for us. It made for easy access to surrounding shops, restaurants and chair lifts. Having access to The Sebastian base camp was fabulous. They always had our snowboarding gear readily accessible and it was within feet of the Vista Bahn chair lift. You can access the base camp by the free shuttle, but we chose to make the short walk which allowed us to explore the village along the way. One thing to note is the pathways/streets are heated within the Vail Village so ice/snow on ground for walking is not an issue.

As this trip was a combination of business/vacation, we weren't able to enjoy some of the things the hotel offers (Frost Bar, Block 16 or Bloom Spa). We did enjoy breakfast each morning at the Market, which offered a variety of delicious foods to choose from. We also enjoyed the great aroma upon walking past Bloom Spa each day and will definitely take advantage of their services upon returning on our next stay. Other guests that we traveled with had spa services and had nothing but positive remarks about their experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbennetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have been to this hotel a for the past few years. Every year it has improved. The owners are outstanding as is the staff. Service is 1st class.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Really this review is for Block 16 restaurant located in The Sebastian Hotel. The atmosphere is above average for a ski town-inviting, appropriately dim lighting, and intriguing enough decor. The music was modern and not too loud- appropriate for a restaurant of this caliber. The service was good with just the right level of attentiveness. The food was innovative, well executed, and deliciously, differently flavorful. The desserts were very good. The restaurant was appropriately priced for a gourmet restaurant. You'd be pressed to find a finer dining experience in Vail. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will return on my next trip to Vail.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
Thank NikkoHenderson_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $238 - $1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the experience. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian - Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing