We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Mom&Daughter Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My daughter Jordan and I were in Colorado for her campus visit at CU Boulder. I tacked on a Vail trip because I really wanted to share the Vail experience with her, having visited once before myself 2 years ago with a friend. From the moment we checked in, we felt like family and were treated well, especially when I checked in with my military ID - thanks Eric :-) From managers to front desk staff to in-room service staff to base camp staff, everyone was just fantastic - Eric, Jeroen (dank u wel!), Heidi & Kirk & all the base camp staff, Doug (in-room service), the ladies behind the bar at Frost (Saturday night), GM Lance - I'm forgetting names but everyone was just great. The property is beautiful and the location is fantastic - in the Village and uber-close walkable to Vista Bahn lift. Breakfast at Market became a habit with the huge portions and scrumptions pancakes. Being able to leave skis/boots/poles/board at base camp - priceless! Relaxing in a hot tub after icy opening season conditions on the slopes - awesome :-) Liquor store directly out back door - convenient. Our Colorado trip had gotten off to a stressful start so to come to a beautiful oasis like The Sebastian and meet such friendly people in the staff was a godsend. I got an excellent deal on Hotwire but the property is definitely worth the hotel's web site rates. The only minus is that the room was really dark; more lighting would be a huge plus. That's a very small issue though. I can't wait to go back; if my daughter picks CU, The Sebastian may very well become a home away from home and would make sending my only kid off to college more sweet than bitter :-) I've already started pricing an MLK or Presidents' Weekend stay - thanks again guys for helping us create great mom & daughter memories!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoaterGirlKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 840 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed with my husband and two teenage children in the week prior to July 4, 2011. This understated property is actually very elegant and tasteful. The staff is wonderful and friendly and the service is excellent. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I came up here for an off-season package, and were surprised by how wonderful staff was, how beautiful the facility was, and how many amenities were offered. I travel constantly for work and can say that this is, by far, the best resort I've ever visited. From the late night popcorn craving that a nice restaurant staff member obliged to the complimentary steam and sauna rooms, we were in heaven.

Room Tip: Look for Travel Zoo or other online offers in the fall off-season for half-off rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed with wife and 2 kids ages 10 and 11 the weekend before ski season. Best way to describe this hotel is a smaller version of a ritz or four seasons. The lobby is fantastic with comfortable sofas/chairs and a warm fire place. Check in was quick and easy.
We had a basic 2 queen room which was on par with ritz/four seasons. The bathroom is smaller with only 1 sink but still nice. The pool area is fantastic and consists of a pool with waterfall and 4 hot tubs. The locker rooms and fitness area are also fantastic as they have steam and sauna with showers. Did not visit the spa.
Breakfast at Market was very good...some of the best we have had. Location is great as you walk to everything. Service was excellent. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
Thank clarkgriswold817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come and stay with us during the ski season.

It sounds like your kids enjoyed the pool which is wonderful. The pool area is wonderfully family friendly. Next time you are here please visit Bloom Spa, you will find it wildly relaxing and fun!

Thank you again for you kind words and thank you for choosing The Sebastian - Vail.

Annie Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Staff made the difference at our recent, offseason stay at The Sebastian. The hotel itself is stunning (it IS Vail), from the stone parking area to the incredible lobby, but being warmly greeted like "regulars" (it was our first time there) made all the difference. The accomodations were very nice--we had a standard room, which came with free wi-fi and some spa-quality soaps and shampoo. The bed and its linens were luxurious, as were the robes and slippers that were provided for our use. The pool area had great potential--picture a warm, steaming outdoor night-time soak in a waterfall-fed stone pool--but for some reason the water temp in it and the "hot" tubs was lukewarm to cold. That would not be how to end a day of skiing when the slopes open next week. The Bloom Spa was outstanding--it hosted a "Full Moon Goddess Night" that was one of the best bang-for-the-spa-buck we've ever experienced. Chair massage, oxygen treatment, hair and nails, and wine--all for $40. They had to throw us out at the end of the evening! Our experience went from very good to great, though, because of the staff. "Eric" in particular was fantastic--he could not have been more outgoing, engaging and attentive. He gave us insights into the local restaurant scene, tried to get us into a hoity "closed" event (it IS Vail), and overall added a dimension to our stay that made The Sebastian truly memorable. It was "close" to perfect because of a few rough edges, most likely due to it being offseason:
* Wait staff at the Market restaurant and Frost bar were uninterested, at best
* Promised "white chocolate covered popcorn" event failed to produce said popcorn (although the complimentary proseco more than made up for it)
* Cold hot tub (see above)
An excellent internet rate smoothed those edges, though. We thoroughly enjoyed Vail's offseason pace-as another reviewer noted, the restaurant deals were fantastic. If one must go to Vail, The Sebastian should be your choice!

Room Tip: Standard room was more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you for your kind words about The Sebastian - Vail. We are happy that you took advantage or the Full Moon Goddess Spa night in Bloom. This is very a popular event, a wonderful value and done every month on the full moon!

We apologize that you experienced any hot tub issues. We did experience some boiler issues last week which affected the two hot tubs closest to the pool. This has been rectified and they were up and running this opening weekend.

Thank you very much for your time to review us, we celebrate the successes and work on areas that may have fallen short. We want all of our employees to be as engaging as Eric and this includes all of our waitstaff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention it will be fixed and Eric's interaction celebrated. Eric is indicative of the caliber of associates we surround ourselves with. Thank you Annie Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our stay at the Sebastian was delightful! It’s beautiful inside, and in a great location. The manager, valets and check-in staff are awesome - young, vivacious, friendly, attractive, and helpful. You won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which overlook the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwatson103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

In the last week of October of 2011, I had the pleasure to be a Guest at The Sebastian. Umbelivable!!! It was a great time and the whole service of the hotel were outstanding!!! The Front desk team, the concierge team, the Vallet park team, the Special agents designated to treat my family during the stay, everything was like been in a dream. By the way we stay in a period out of the season and the hotel and the whole Vail, I can say " Don't loose the opportunity to take a vacation or spend sometime of your life there".

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THAJUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $334 - $1,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the experience. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian - Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing