We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDEST General Manager We've EVER encountered”
Review of Vail Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vail Run Resort
Ranked #14 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Reviewed January 29, 2010

In his defense, we think he was drunk...

Don't Walk...RUN AWAY from Vail Run! Outdated rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalmonRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

The General Manager does not drink and was overseas during your stay, ??? and who were you talking to?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

It is no surprise this hotel is ranked as one of the worst in Vail!!! It is bad enough, that I'm writing this after just 24hrs of being here. My wife, our 9-month-old son, and myself arrived yesterday at about 2:30. To start with, when we arrived we drove around the place looking for the main check in office area and finally parked and walked through 2 big wooden doors that luckily were the front doors. We tried to check in but they wouldn't let us, they said check in was at 4. They make you fill out, sign, and initial 2 pages in regards to there "parking lot rules", I was nervous enough with the 2 pages that after sitting in the lobby for 45 minutes, our car was in a one hour parking spot so I ran out to move our car to the parking space beside us in order to prevent getting our car booted, which they so nicely told us they would do If we broke any parking rules. Only after parking our car in the lower parking lot did we realize that there were no entrances to the hotel from the parking lot. My wife, and 9 month old along with myself had to walk with 6 inches of new snow and blizzard conditions, back through the parking lot and up and around the ramp, with other cars driving down the ramp. When we got back up to the front desk, covered in snow, I asked how we get into the hotel without all the walking in blizzard conditions. They explained that if your an "owner" at this particular resort, you can park in the enclosed parking garage below the hotel and simply come up the elevator, and if your not an owner at this resort you park in the outside parking lot and walk through the lot and up the ramp! Boy, all this after just being here for a couple hours, I felt so welcomed. Even though the timeshare that we own is affiliated with this resort, that wasn’t good enough for the parking garage. The icing on the cake was when we went down to the game room area, we peeked our heads into the garage only to see about a dozen of about 80 parking spots taken. The room was clean but very out dated. We had a room that over looked I-70 and you could hear every car, truck, and oh yes the snow plows that sound like jet airplanes flying over the hotel. Not quiet at all. I haven't slept on a hotel bed that was worse than this one. It was horrible. This morning the shower was the worst shower I had ever taken. It would go from nice and warm to boiling hot to cold, and then do it all over again, the entire shower. The personnel that work here don't seem to care about much, including customer service. Trust me, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travledad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

This guest was an exchange, not a renter. Who in his right mind does not let his wife and a 9 months old baby off at the front door, plus upon check-in, we give all guests a 30 min underground heated garage pass, to pull in into the heated garage where there are luggage carts and easy access to the elevator. The beds are great with memory foam, the hot water system is state of the art, common sense was not used, and $50 for heated underground parking for a week was beyond his budget for a ski resort that charges $100 plus for lift tickets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

The location is the only redeeming quality at this timeshare, and I say this because we actually had to walk the 15 minutes to town twice because the shuttle left before it was supposed to – thankfully we are young and in good shape. Another time they just decided not to run the shuttle even though 5 other guests were waiting and we all took the city bus instead. We exchanged with RCI points to this week/location, and we received less service than owners, including having to park in an adjacent parking lot outside (5 min icy walk) while owners parked in a garage under the building with plenty of extra spaces and exchangers have earlier check out times. The rooms are outdated, dark and awkward. The bedroom is not walled in, but instead the unit is all one room with a temporary wall that slides closed. The building is right next to Interstate 70 and the windows are old and not sound proof so it is very difficult to sleep if you are on the highway side. The heat does not work properly and is either way too hot or too cold, or, at times it just had a mind of its own. They do offer boxed wine on the shuttle and a Keg in the pool area every Monday, but for all of these inconveniences I would prefer to buy a bottle of nice wine and enjoy my stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

The problem being our shuttle does leave on time and does not wait for stragglers. It’s a quick 1 1/2 minute ride to town center with a great schedule designed by years of experience and owner input. Our parking lot is just outside the building, just 25 yards from the front door. Our building is hart to exchange into and they were downgraded by their exchange company, a studio is a studio, and their printout shows them what they were getting. But they were very upset and didn't take the time to read the material prior to their arrival. When people are upset from the start, something we didn’t had to do with; it’s hard to meet their expectations, especially with room size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The room was VERY CLEAN, full kitchen, DVD player, fireplace, plenty of towels and lots of free samples ie; shampoo, soaps, razors, cold medicine, even granola bars and they even offer you 30 min. free phone access.

Bus stop just steps outside the door, five minutes from Vail Center.

Very helpful staff

Would defiantly stay again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FuninVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denton, NC
22
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I read the reviews shortly before we left and they were so true! We did an RCI points exchange for this "resort". The showers were terrible....warm and cold water - hardly ever hot. One day, I had to wait an hour and a half to get hot water for a shower! There was also a terrible smell upon entering the room...no one could explain it. When we arrived, we went to our room to discover we had a murphy bed or pull out sofas to sleep on. We did not expect that. We knew it was a studio, but expected a regular bed. When we asked the management about a change they said they could for $100 extra per night. We were there for 7 nights and could not do that, plus, with what we pay for the timeshare and maintence, we didn't feel we should. The shuttle that was provided to get back and forth to the ski area seemed to be run at the resorts convenience, not the guests, much different from other areas we have stayed. I would never go back to this place and will be letting RCI our opinion of this place as well. Also, it was suppoesed to have internet ....I guess it did ....when it worked! Overall it was definitely below standard of what we expected.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

It's hard to get into our Resort, because so many people demand it through the exchange company. They are not Renters! They are downgraded just so they can get in and the exchange company tells them that maybe they can get upgraded, when they arrive. That's not possible. Then we are blamed for everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Be very careful when staying at these condos. We rented a 1 bedroom that looked huge but had mirrors on one end. It was so small, old and dirty. I had to clean it before we unpacked. I reserved it www.vrbo.com and it didn't have a place to see reviews. That should have told me not to rent it. I know better for next time. I wished I had more pictures to show you but I hated it so bad. A lesson for next time. Ask for interior pictures from ALL ANGLES.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank designerchicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

She did not stay in our Resort! We do not have mirrors, we never used VRBO that time nor did we knew what that was at the time and the picture is not near our property, but not a bad picture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

This is one of the more economical options in Vail and it shows. The hotel has a shuttle that has a restricted timetable and then you can request a pick up outside of these hours - well we requested and half an hour later (we could have walked) it still hadnt turned up.
The rooms and furniture are very old and outdated, however the kitchen is modern and well equipped.
The hot water in the shower runs at normal temp for a minute then is scorching followed by freezing, these temperature changes repeat thoughout your ablutions.
The matresses on the sofa bed are awful and are not condusive to a skiing holiday where you need to rest well. The matress on a pull down bed we had was only slightly better.
We booked for 4 nights thursday to monday and friday evening at 10pm were told we would have to move to another room - most inconvenient, the staff did help with moving our things over but the attitude of the manager was terrible. When I went to register my complaint about having to move I was literally told to like it or lump it - honestly it doesnt take much, an upgrade, a bottle of wine with compliments, even an simple apology would do the job. We will not use this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gerencia_LVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

They booked a studio, the smallest unit available. Then, when it's not what they expected everything else is wrong. They were rude to front desk staff and demanding an upgrade. Never ever talked to the General Manager, must have mistaken the identity, thinking the front desk manager was the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Run Resort

Address: 1000 Lions Ridge Loop, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $130 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Run Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Run Resort is a 54 unit fixed week timeshare property. The Resort offers for rent studios, one/two bedrooms Condominiums, Executive Penthouses and Presidential Suites with fully equipped kitchen, fireplace and a sofa sleeper in the living room (sleeping capacity 2-10).Each unit is unique. The Resort itself offers a Gym with weights and cardio equipment, a heated outdoor swimming pool, a hot tub, sauna, game room, free wireless Internet, free outdoor parking for one vehicle, lounge with complementary coffee, hot chocolate, tea, computers, and local newspapers. During the ski season the Resort has a complimentary shuttle to the ski slopes. Vail Run Resort strictly adheres to the 4:00 PM Saturday Check-in time. No early check-ins are allowed as the time is reserved for realtors and perspective owners to view the property. All owners and guests must checkout by 11:00 AM on Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vail Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Run Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing