We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vail Run Resort
Ranked #15 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Vail
sanford, nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a great time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were concerned after seeing all the reviews. But we had already booked the place so we decided to go.
We had two rooms one facing 70 and one on the other side. The room facing 70 was noisy but we all were able to sleep. The fans kept the rooms very cool. We had a great time at the pool hot tub And game room. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to go to vail

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sturtzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This resort was clean and decent. It is dated, but we are laid back and just wanted it to be comfortable. Overall, it was. The mattresses were VERY uncomfortable. The staff were not rude, but they surely didn't go out of their way to be nice-very laid back. We did enjoy the pizza place downstairs where the staff was very nice. The parking lot is very rough. If you just want a clean, decent place to rest your head and focus on the village itself-I would go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family just returned from a 7 night stay at Vail Run. My parents exchanged points in their timeshare program to stay here.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. We stayed in a penthouse on floor 5. It was very large and accomodated our family of 6 people with it's 3 bedrooms and loft (with 3 additional twin beds). It was very clean with comfortable furnishings (minus the beds).

The common areas were very nice with comfortable seating, toys for the kids, coffee and lemonade. The pool and hot tun area were excellent and we spent many afternoons there. Comfortable patio furniture and new grills were great additions!

The staff was capable but not great. They didn't seem super excited about their jobs (at least learn to fake it!) but got the job done.

While I enjoyed our stay I do have a few complaints regarding the overall quality of the building. A previous poster mentioned how run down the parking lot was and is absolutely correct. It looks very shabby and does not leave a positive impression. The walk up the ramp is dangerous as you cannot see oncoming traffic. And why are we being charged $50 a week for parking in an empty garage when the city of Vail offers free parking?

The interior of the resort itself, while clean and comfortable, needs a cosmetic facelift. The salmon pink walls need to go.

The building only offers one elevator which breaks down occasionally and is VERY slow.

The WiFi is a joke. I saw a small modem duct taped to a beam on the 5th floor. We didn't get a strong enough signal to run the internet in our room.

During the week of our stay, the resort had flowers that looked ready to be planted that were left sitting in trays. No one ever bothered to plant them. Is there no landscapers or maintenance people? The job was just left half done.

Our room lacked screens on several windows, another maintenance issue (or lack thereof). Also, our room faced I-70 and the sound of traffic was extremely loud. Since we couldn't open our windows (for lack of screen and also due to the sound of semis traveling down the interstate) no one ever got a great nights sleep because the rooms got so warm and stuffy. There are no ceiling fans and the oscillating fans provided just don't get the job done. Finally, beds are extremely uncomfortable. Very hard mattresses.

My final complaint is regarding the balcony. The guard rail on the balcony is NOT SAFE for children. It does not provide rails that are narrow enough to prevent a small child from falling through. Since we were on the 5th floor and had two small kids this was an extremely dangerous place. I cannot believe this hasn't been taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afo529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you go to Vail when it's warm out you do NOT want a room that faces the road. There is no A/C in the rooms, so you have to leave the windows open and it is very noisy from all the cars. I had read that in other reviews before going, but believe me, just saying it doesn't give it justice, it was really loud. I think the place is poorly managed because there are several maintenance issues that I think of as first impressions (I manage properties, so I notice things). The main one; You have to park kind of below the entrance, so you have to walk around the bottom of the ramp and then walk up it. At the bottom of the ramp they had built a little fence of some type. It had fallen down, the boards were all broken, the grass was grown up in it, and looked awful, and this is one of the 1st things visitors will see while walking to their room. It would take 1 hour to tear that down and mow the grass and yet it was never touched the 7 days we were there. I understand big projects take time, but when it comes to little things like that, and I see people standing around doing nothing that work there, I just don't see how a manager could look at that everyday and not get it taken care of- If I had to I would do it myself. The room had some little items that needed repairs, but nothing major. As a customer I was satisfied, and got what I paid for, but speaking as a property manager, I would probably fire the manager and get someone that wanted a job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Vail Run Resort in a 1br suite facing the mountain (not highway 70). Quiet. Very good size for a family of 4, including 2 queen beds in the bedroom area. Kitchen was nicely stocked, including basic cleaning supplies. Underground parking at $50 per week, free outdoor parking. Outdoor pool was very warm and comfortable to swim in, even with temps in the teens (pool towels provided at front desk). Great game room for kids.

This resort is a timeshare, but no one even asked us if we would attend a sales presentation that can sometimes happen at timeshares.

Vail Run is on the north side of highway 70 (Vail Village is on the south side). 5 minute drive to Vail Village. There is a free shuttle bus that runs continually during peak times and every hour upon request off-peak. The shuttle also makes runs to the nearby Safeway each evening.

I would have given this a 4 except the decor of the rooms and public areas is very dated and somewhat cheap looking. Bath towels were pretty basic. The dishwasher didn't really get the job done. Bring your own shampoo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay, once you understand that it is a time share, not a hotel. The outdoor pool is very nice, the facilities are not in top shape but pretty nice. Unless you are some hotel snob, this is a great location for skiing in Vail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank realkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Vail Run is our 'home resort'. We visit almost every February. The resort is in a great location. There is free transportation to Vail or to the transportation center so you can catch the bus to Beaver Creek. Box wine is available (free) on the ride back to the resort at the end of a day of skiing The city bus also stops right outside the front door to take you into the village. Our unit is a one bedroom sleeps 6. There are 2 queen size beds in the bedroom which can be open to the rest of the unit or closed off with a heavy wooden accordian wall. THe bath room is small. There is a full kitchen with all amenities that you would need to cook complete meals. The units are small but cozy with a gas fireplace and a balcony. The rooms are always clean with enough towels. There is an elevator that will take you to the upper floors so you don't need to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs. THe lobby contains a hospitality room with coffee, tea and cocoa. THere are also 2 computers there that you can use for no charge. THere is a sauna, hot tub and outside pool that is heated for winter use. The pool can be entered from inside. You swim or walk thru an opening to get to the larger pool area. Inside parking is available although they just initiated a charge for use. Prior to this year it was free. Ski lockers are available as no skis are allowed in the rooms. The furniture, carpet and beds are all updated regularly. ThHis is a nice resort that I would recomend to friends

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice. Try to avoid near the elevator and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 31 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Run Resort

Property: Vail Run Resort
Address: 1000 Lions Ridge Loop, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Run Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Run Resort is a 54 unit fixed week timeshare property. The Resort offers for rent studios, one/two bedrooms Condominiums, Executive Penthouses and Presidential Suites with fully equipped kitchen, fireplace and a sofa sleeper in the living room (sleeping capacity 2-10).Each unit is unique. The Resort itself offers a Gym with weights and cardio equipment, a heated outdoor swimming pool, a hot tub, sauna, game room, free wireless Internet, free outdoor parking for one vehicle, lounge with complementary coffee, hot chocolate, tea, computers, and local newspapers. During the ski season the Resort has a complimentary shuttle to the ski slopes. Vail Run Resort strictly adheres to the 4:00 PM Saturday Check-in time. No early check-ins are allowed as the time is reserved for realtors and perspective owners to view the property. All owners and guests must checkout by 11:00 AM on Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vail Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Run Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing