We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst vacation ever!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Vail Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vail Run Resort
Ranked #15 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst vacation ever!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The entire staff was rude, unprofessional, and all around unhappy. The bus driver screamed at us for not being at the pick up spot after we waited 35 minutes for him and then had to pay for a cab to bring us back to the resort. The manager was the worst of all. After going to him with a long list of issues his response to us was that we were there illegally (we have a time share and are on the deed). We tried to remedy the situation but management told us too bad deal with it. We left two days early because the manager was so nasty. I have never had a worst vacation. Stay away from this place if you can!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTGirl206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Guests did not take time to read and understand the private shuttle schedule. All drivers are well trained and very courteous to guests, plus we have videos and serve wine on our shuttles. Guests became very hotheaded and upon examining our records, we found out they had no legal right being in the Resort. Managers conversation with said guests was to the point and lasted about 20 seconds. If she was a real owner, she would not tell people to stay away from a place she owns. That would be like shooting yourself in the foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Vail Run had some good points but I wouldn't recommend it to my best friends unless they had no other choice. The parking was annoying. They charged 10.00 a nite to park in the underground garage and it was empty. Downtown Vail gives summer visitors free parking but not Vail Run. We also couldn't park in the lot outside the entrance, that was for customers of the commercial businesses on site. There was a hair salon on site but the other businesses were not the type that would add to your visit. One in fact was closed and was an eyesore, extremely messy. The game room was hot, dark and the floors were covered with old carpet, making table tennis a dangerous sport. The pool was nice and heated. The lounge was nicely appointed and offered free fresh coffee and hot chocolate. Upon registering, they gave us zero info on events in the area. The unit was clean but dated. Our unit was above the pizza cafe and we got all the cooking odors. There was allot of highway noise. We did not find the location to be as appealing as other reviewers.. We would have liked to have been on the other side of the highway were Vail is located. The fitness center was filled with antique equipment. We had a studio and tho we had a couple nice windows, there was no balcony. We had a small camper with us and they offered no place to park it. The city of Vail did tho..
Overall, it was ok, but would not appear on my list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Choose a unit away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roadtriperArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
First of all let us explain, for those of you that to not know, we are a timeshare Resort. We sleep approximately 331 guests every week. We have studios all the way up to 2,700 sq ft. Penthouses Because of high demand, we are hard to get into and many people have to exchange a 2 bedroom just to get one of our studios. We do not allow campers and we charge for underground parking, this information was given to him prior to arrival. Parking in Vail is a very high commodity; a parking space will cost you up to a quarter of a million dollars with annual assessment fees of another $2,000. Parking spaces within 30 to 50 feet of the building are available to customers, 25 yards away is outside parking for residential guests, and this is close and convenient by anybodies standards and makes common sense. The commercial space that he said was closed and an eyesore, was not closed and the establishment was working on scanning 30 years of pictures for a client. The fitness center is filled with equipment and weights for the serious athletes that like to work out. This gym is used by Vail’s ex-mayor, by a 2-time Olympian, by 2-time US-Alpine national champion, etc. Mr. Camper got very negative, when he was told he cannot leave his camper in our parking lot and put out his frustration against the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vail hotels

Brookfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Being timeshare owners we traded in the 1st week of February and we are having an awesome powder week so far. The check in was smooth and easy and the staff very friendly. Parking on the other hand was another story. You have 2 options, one you can park on a lower parking lot or two you can pay $10 a day and park in the heated underground parking. We thought we would save some money and park outside. To get to this parking area you have do go down a level via a ramp. While this probably isn't an issue during warm weather, I wouldn't advise it during snowy weather. The ramp was snow packed and the lot appeared that it hadn't been plowed in 2 weeks. We got stuck in the deep snow instantly. Our first clue should have been several cars buried in snow banks and looked like they had't moved in weeks. BTW did I mention there is underground parking for $10 a day? We're doing that now. The studio that we have is big, comfortable, and everything works. They offer a shuttle service and it's great and gets you where you want to go. Beware of the driver he has a trigger attitude! I'm guessing it has something to do with a broken windshield and a automatic door with wiring that is hanging on the outside and has broken twice in 2 days??

After a great day of powder skiing we decided to hit the hot tub. First stop by the front desks and pick up some really nice towels. They have 2 tubs outside which is perfect except one of them is 84 degrees and didn't seem to get hot. We moved to the other one which was hot but hard to get into and is the dirtiest tub I've ever been in. I stayed less that a minute worried of what kind of crude might be living in this tub. Oh well, we are here to ski, not hot tub.

Over all Vail Run is in need of some serious TLC (a.k.a. $$$) it's run down and in needs of lots of work. We have stayed at many resorts around the world so sometimes you just take it in stride. Vail Run does have location, location, location!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dobskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your considerations and comments. We want to apologize that during your stay we were doing a half million dollar renovation of our indoor sports center, which includes our men's and lady's locker rooms, sauna, hot tub, outside passage to the pool and starlight computerized show. We provided two outside hot tubs during our construction phase. We are sorry for any inconvenience in parking, but that's why we offered inside heated underground parking for $10 a day or $50 for the week, which is a small price to pay, considering the added value received. This is money well spend. But each individual needs to decide their priorities and how they want to spend their money, when being in Vail. All outside lots are plowed on a daily basis, when it snows. We are continually remodeling and updating, and we really appreciate your constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Did a timeshare trade for 1st week in Feb. Very pleased with resort. Our suite faced the mountain. Very clean. Front Desk went out of their way to make our stay great! Resort shuttle picked us up at front of resort and took us to ski area and then picked us up after a day of skiing. Our room was a 1 bedroom with kitchen, great room with dining area, fireplace was great. Room was very clean and we say the resort staff cleaning the entire resort while we were there.
Only complaint is the parking lot. If you do not pay $10.00 per a day for indoor parking you must park in the lower parking area. Problem is there is no pedestrian walkway back to entrance. You walk up the drive that automobiles use and when the drive is slick it is dangerous.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have initiated steps to improve the walkway. Our underground heated parking is the best value in Vail, $10 for the day or $50 for the week. So you understand how valuable parking is in Vail. We have those that pay $1,750 just for seasonal parking. Thanks for help making our Resort more user friendly and safer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Vail Run Resort is an awesome place that really makes Vail accessible to the rest of us...

For those of us who can't afford to eat at a 5-star restaurant every night and walk around in fur coats, but want to ski/snowboard at a 5-star mountain, Vail Run is the place for you. From the hot tub and pool, to the game room and pizza/bar downstairs, Vail Run is the perfect place for anyone!

Anyone who writes a negative review needs to remove the stick from their keester!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrfitz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

they have a private shuttle that take you right to lifts. Pleanty of storage areas. Underground parking. Not the Ritz but room was ok. For goodness sake your 5 minutes from the lifts.
Mike

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesterm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wake forest,nc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

we really enjoyed our stay at Vail Run. yes, the facility is older but kept very well and extremely clean. the condo was very roomy with everything we needed and a well stocked kitchen. the shuttle was convenient and the staff very friendly and helpful. it is rated 3 star but i give it 5 star for comfort and a great place to stay for a week.
A Copley
Wake Forest, NC

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acopleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simba Run Vail Condominiums
0.4 mi away
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Run Resort

Property: Vail Run Resort
Address: 1000 Lions Ridge Loop, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Run Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Run Resort is a 54 unit fixed week timeshare property. The Resort offers for rent studios, one/two bedrooms Condominiums, Executive Penthouses and Presidential Suites with fully equipped kitchen, fireplace and a sofa sleeper in the living room (sleeping capacity 2-10).Each unit is unique. The Resort itself offers a Gym with weights and cardio equipment, a heated outdoor swimming pool, a hot tub, sauna, game room, free wireless Internet, free outdoor parking for one vehicle, lounge with complementary coffee, hot chocolate, tea, computers, and local newspapers. During the ski season the Resort has a complimentary shuttle to the ski slopes. Vail Run Resort strictly adheres to the 4:00 PM Saturday Check-in time. No early check-ins are allowed as the time is reserved for realtors and perspective owners to view the property. All owners and guests must checkout by 11:00 AM on Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vail Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Run Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing