We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing- Not nearly as good as 2 years ago”
Review of La Tour Restaurant

La Tour Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tour Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 129 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Village Center Rd
Transit: If you are riding the Vail Bus, please get off at either the Solaris or Bridge Street stops. If your arriving by Eco Transit or hotel shuttles get off at the top level of the Vail Transportation Center and walk down the steps to your right. We are located directly across the street from the West end of the Vail Transportation Center.
Description: Chef Paul Ferzacca is the chef, owner, and force behind the La Tour experience. Dedicated to developing the best restaurant in Vail he is passionate about creating lasting memories through his carefully crafted dishes.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The waiter was extremely poor and the food mediocre. The waiter didn't address our table for at least 15 minutes after our being seated and upon reaching our table greeted us with "So do you want something?" Really not the best first impression. I think we saw him maybe twice during the remainder of our 2 hour dinner. My husband and I both ordered the Dover Sole, which is one of the more pricey dishes, so we expected to the fish to be excellent. Unfortunately, what we received was less than impressive. The fish was bland with a slightly sour flavor and a tomato salsa on top that didn't complement the fish at all. I had also asked the waited for a recommendation on a wine to pair with the fish. He seemed not to know and finally said why don't you just get a Chardonnay. So I ordered the Chardonnay which I never received. At the end of the meal the waiter returned to say "I guess you don't want that Chardonnay now, right?'
All in all I would have to say our romantic night out without the children turned into a relatively bad experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacy705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Stacy, we appreciate you taking the time to review your experience with us. We truly value your business and take your feedback very seriously. We hope you consider a return visit the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 457 of 727 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great food, modern architecture, good atmosphere, lively bar crowd, unpretentious, efficient waiters. Happy hour includes French lessons.

Thank blueskybasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of La Tour Restaurant. We truly appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Vail, Colorado - PF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We fortunately found LaTour on the 2nd night in Vail and returned two more times for an absolutely superb & memorable dinner. That's 3 astounding meals all in the same week! Where can you achieve such high standards in our world of today? We truly can't say enough about this first-rate restaurant...the staff was super friendly and we throw accolades at the manager, Thomas Gutherie--he performed with such calm while the restaurant was abuzz with activity! Tom made us feel right at home as soon as we walked in...his notable temperance was something to experience & watch! This was our first visit to Vail; we are anticipating a return if only to once again dine at LaTour. LaTour made our Vail visit unforgettable. A 5 Star experience! Jack & Charl from Sedona, AZ

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackerceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Jack and Charl,

Thank you for that wonderful review. We cannot express enough how much we appreciate your loyalty - even if just for a week! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself in Vail and couldn't be happier to have been a part of your experience. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Vail, Colorado. - PF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

LA Tour is a fine dining experience. The staff is friendly and courteous from the minute you walk in. The wine list is extensive and fabulous. Now the food, begin with the appetizers and try some unique sauces and dressing with your meal. All dishes are infused with awesome flavor and vegatables. If anyone is looking for meat and potatoes, surf and turf is on the menu (consisting of steak and scallops). LA Tour has a passion for food and presentation. One note, this restaurant has a noise due to their heating system which was apparant but will not hinder your experience. As expected, desert was outstanding and was served with the best dark chocolate drink!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAS12NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank your recent review of La Tour Restaurant in Vail Village. We truly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Vail, Colorado. - PF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Service was friendly and efficient, and the ambiance was nice. But the food was just ok., which for this price is really not good. One appetizer was a bouillabaisse of decent seafood in a bland broth. On the recommendation of our server, we tried the fried oysters-this was an attempt to be creative, but alas the only bad dish we had. The bacon and cheese overpowered the taste of the oysters. We really should have just had raw oysters. For main courses, there was a vege pasta with added scallops (for $17 on top of an already pricey dish). Here the broth was really tasteless. Some of the veges were good, others also rather plain. I had the pork special, which had an interesting cut of pork, but a bit dry, and mixed with boring seared cauliflower, thick cuts of bacon (a bit overpowering) and a nice tangy relish. This was the best dish of the evening. The "superdark food chocolate" dessert was not memorable. But they did offer as a finish a wonderful small hot chocolate drink. Much better than the dessert we ordered! Overall, this is really not haute cuisine francaise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for choosing to dine with us during your stay in Vail. We value your feedback and truly appreciate you taking the time to review your experience with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Vail - PF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Tour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing