We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, recently redecorated resort. Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A comfortable, recently redecorated resort. Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Spacious and comfortable rooms, with tasty recent remodel. Everything you would expect from a Marriott Vacation Villa, except I can't figure out why there's no air conditioning, especially after the remodel. Days are hot in the summer but it does cool down at night so you can get by. Still, for a resort of this quality this is the main flaw with the place. Otherwise an excellent facility and has my top recommendation.

Room Tip: The valley facing rooms provide nice view but some traffic noise if windows are open. Hill facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our family of 4 traded a week of time share for a stay at the Streamside by Marriott. We were in the Douglas building. Our villa had a loft in addition to the king master bedroom. The loft, which also had a king bed, was great for our two kids. The resort is right near the main Vail bike trail. They also have free shuttles into the two Vail villages. The indoor outdoor pool is nice, with lots of seating around.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FCCOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My husband had to go to Denver on business, so we decided to go as a family and take our daughter skiing. We rented a 1 bedroom w/ loft. Some other reviewers said Douglas is old and run down, that is no longer the case. The units have been renovated with flat screen tvs and granite counters in the kitchen and baths, but the bathrooms are still 1980s. There are no luxurious tubs or showers. However, the pool (an indoor/outdoor), though heated, was too cold for us to use. The locker room was cold and one of the two showers was broken. The hot tub, which was just warmer than what I would have expected for the pool, was not for kids. The kids loved the game room.

It is a bit far away from skiing and when an unexpected storm necessitated leaving a day early, we have to pay $.38/minute to use the internet to make a hotel reservation. We are Marriott timeshare owners and were really shocked that Marriott was so cheap as to not provide complimentary internet with a business center or the like.

The manager and staff were great, but the facilities were not quite what I expect from a Marriott Vacation property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CtCladdagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I went to Vail for our honeymoon at the end of June, and used our timeshare to go to the Mariott here. We have always had great experiences at Mariotts, and we were not disappointed! We had a one bedroom, two bath villa, which also had a full kitchen, private balcony, and family/dining room. We were in the Douglas building, and everything had been recently updated, from the carpets to the granite countertops in the bathroom and kitchen. There was a flat screen tv, and lots of appliances for us to use.

There was some construction going on in the building next to ours, but it really wasn't that loud. There are no air conditioning units, but you don't need them. It was about 45 at night, and maybe 75 during the day during our stay. Our fan broke, and there was someone there within an hour to replace it with a new one. Check in and check out were very easy, and the club house was also recently renovated. The pool and whirlpools were fantastic, and the gym had some great equipment, all of it new.

We spent a lot of time traveling around the area while in Vail, but I absolutely recommend staying here if you have the chance. The biggest problem you'll have is deciding where you want to eat, and what place to visit next!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swim1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My sister and I are co-owners of a Marriott timeshare; this was our first stay in Vail. Overall our experience re the entire trip was awesome...this is a beautiful part of the country. As to our unit in the Streamside-Douglas: we had the one-bedroom with loft; the beds in both our rooms were pretty uncomfortable...mattresses are hard. Would have been nice to have another t.v. in the loft room where my sister stayed, but there were only two downstairs (one in the master br, one in the living room). Kitchen worked well for us...we tried to save money by cooking some meals in and the shopping plaza across the way with a safeway store worked well. While we were there, one bathroom sink didn't drain at all, so we called in maintenance. They left a mess after clearing the drain, assured us that housekeeping would be "right in" to clean up....but it was more than 24 hours and three calls later before that happened. Also, we notified management that the stairs to the loft are dangerous...one stair is loose, and one railing attachment is loose...a disaster (and subsequently possible lawsuit) in the making. Then one day we wanted to do laundry (we were told laundry facilities are complimentary) but learned that the laundry in our building wasn't available, being fixed or something) and we could go to another building to do that. oh well...
HOWEVER....all that being said aside from the housekeeping issue, we would consider returning. Some inconveniences were outweighed by the peace and quiet (we came just a week before the summer season started) and we had a wonderful time. GO TO THE MAROON BELLS if you make the trip at all!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catwoman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We managed to get a very cheap rental there, thanks to craigslist, and didn't regret it at all. One thing that we were uneasy about was that the hotel is somewhat out of the way. We ski, so we wanted to be closer to the mountain. However, we decided that for the price we got it for we can't be too picky.

The room was huge - one bedroom with loft.. .sleeps 8 officially - we had 5 people. It was on the third floor, but with ski lockers located right by the elevator it didn't bother us at all. Oh, did I mention the ski locker was heated?

Unlike 90% of other places in Vail, they don't charge for parking and don't really care how many cars you're bringing. We had two cars and thought we'd have three - they said that's be fine.

Service - we asked for extra blankets once - they were brought in 5 min later and in another 10 min we got a call asking if they were brought in. The hotel allowed us to leave the car on their parking after the check out (we skied that day as well) and even let us use their pool/sauna/steam room all day after the check out as well. They offer free WiFi as well.

Accessibility - Marriott runs their own shuttles to Lion's Head every 15 min in the morning and in the afternoon and every 30 min in between the rush hours. No on-demand service, so it would sometimes take 30 min to get to the village. The city shuttles run every 5 min or so, so once you get to the village, you'll be fine. Marriott drivers, though, are not very friendly and behave as they are doing you a favor. The public shuttle buses' drivers are all about conversations, on the other hand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BorisUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I traveled to the Streamside Resort when my husband was able to borrow a timeshare from a friend. We were going in blind, with no recommendations. The reviews I read online weren't bad, but they weren't entirely favorable either -- i was a little nervous to say the least.

After arriving in Vail, I was pleasantly surprised. Check-in was a breeze and we found our place with no trouble. Our apartment was a one bedroom, two bathroom unit with a full kitchen and living/dining area. We also had small balcony that was facing the woods.

The unit had been recently updated so it had traces of being an older place, but the updates are great and we felt very 'at home'. The kitchen is "stocked", but we brought some of our own appliances and food so we wouldn't be starting from scratch. This worked well, since food in vail is pretty expensive.

The property has five small hot tubs in various locations and a heated pool. We used both and loved it. Since we were there in a quieter season, we usually had the place to ourselves. The racquetball was also fun to use.

Overall, we found the Douglas building to be exactly what we needed. I wouldn't call it the height of luxury, but was an excellent value and perfect for our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twotravelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail
0.0 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
2.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#11 of 30 in Vail
283 reviews
2.9 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
589 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail

Property: Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
Address: 2284 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alluring Vail, Colorado is renowned for its sensational skiing and year-round diversions. Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail masterfully captures the elegance and European charm of this legendary locale while offering the comforts of home and the amenities of a resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Douglas At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriotts Streamside Douglas Vail
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing