We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of La Bottega

La Bottega
Reserve with OpenTable
La Bottega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Vail Rd.
Transit: Free in town public transportation is available on Meadow Drive which runs from 7:00 a.m until 2:00 a.m. La Bottega is just steps away from the Vail Plaza stop. La Bottega is on the corner of Meadow Drive and Vail Road.
Danville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were in Vail for a family ski trip and 12 of us made a reservation at La Bottega one night for dinner. We waited about 45 minutes for the appetizers to arrive. We had requested that the children's pizza be served with the appetizers because the kids were hungry. That didn't happen. After we had been there an hour and a half the dinners finally came. The pizza order was wrong but by that time we didn't care. Two of our party were told at that time that their dinner order was no longer available. They couldn't have mentioned this sooner? Rather than wait another hour and a half we all shared what we had. We asked to speak with the manager. Our waitress walked out of the restaurant. The manager was belligerent and slurring his words. We won't be returning! To top it all off, the food was average at best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dini35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    116
    72
    36
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal at La Bottega”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate dinner at La Bottega this week and really enjoyed it. The service was good and the food was excellent. We especially enjoyed the Veal Marsala and the Calamari, but everything was good. My only suggestion is to improve the bread served before the meal, it wasn't up the quality of the rest of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JScribner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good italian”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We ate at the pizza bar with a good views of the chefs preparing food for the whole restaurant. Good pizza and i had a great pasta dish. The wine was expensive but very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 387goose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
1 review
“Never miss this restaurant when visiting Vail!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Always the best food, service, and wine in Vail! Reserve a table in advance because it is so popular! Even the wine bar is a charming place to hang out! Whether you want pizza/calzone and a salad OR a more substantial entree, you will enjoy all of these Italien dishes! The chef usually adds a couple of specials each day which are innovative and delicious... For example, the arctic char stuffed with crabmeat and the pork chop with a homemade Tuscan sauce was "to die for"!!!
We have been going to La Botega for the past 20 years or so and will continue this tradition... Even our grown adult children never miss going there for both lunch and dinner each time they go to Vail!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just average and going down”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Over the year this has gone from a real treat to a last resort. Loud obnoxious characters are definitely tolerated consistently. Food is Italian do not read good or great. Mussels a specialty are tough and near tasteless from standing in bland sauce. Service is often EE and typically brash and curt, not pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega also viewed

 

Been to La Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing