We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant and Game”

Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Steps away from free Town of Vail Bus system
Description: Manor Vail Lodge is excited to announce that the Fitz Bar & Restaurant (formerly known as the Fitz Lounge) will be taking over the Lord Gore Restaurant. As the hotel celebrates its 50th anniversary, plans of renovating the restaurant and bar space are well underway! The new look will meld together its mountain roots of Colorado with a rustic vibe. The Fitz Bar & Restaurant will be a hip and contemporary bar & dining scene featuring comfort food elevated with locally sourced ingredients, hand-crafted cocktails, and local drafts.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Game”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We ordered the elk and the bison and both dishes were excellent (the elk slightly better than the bison). Presentation, flavor, and quality of all ingredients was very good. Service was attentive and solid and they had a nice wine list. Atmosphere was nice as well. All in all a great restaurant. More restaurants in the area should have game on the menu; it's delicious and I like to eat food I can't get at home when I'm on vacation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A gem hidden away in Vail”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

With the demise of the famous Tyrolean restaurant several years ago, the Lord Gore has become the 'go to' place for those seeking game-inspired cuisine. Some may be put off by the the condo setting of the Manor Vail Lodge, but once you're inside everything feels special.

While the menu has a nice variety capable of satisfying a variety of palates (without trying to do to much), its the game dishes that stand out. The Elk was perfectly prepared, very mild and clearly carefully sourced. The Bison was also excellent. This was all complemented by a nice variety of salads (great pear salad) and appetizers including some surprising crabcakes and a hearty baked brie. Nice, reasonably priced wine list, good service and a great view rounded out a very nice experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The setting superb, cozy and romantic, yet not stuffy. The service, outstanding. The food was excellent. Chief Eric's game dishes were beautifully prepared. This place is Rocking!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank V3409ELjohnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Lord Gore!!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Dinner at the Lord Gore was the perfect ending to a few great days in Vail. From the great food, beautiful views and our attentive server Chris, our night couldn't have been better. He helped us with our wine selection and was an added bonus to our dining experience The atmosphere was relaxed and Chris made sure to time each course just right! From the appetizers to dessert it was outstanding dinner! The pear salad and chocolate peanut butter dessert were favorites of ours! This will definitely be a restaurant we will visit again!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marybeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Executive Chef at Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your 5-star rating! I am pleased to hear that the Lord Gore was a perfect ending to your stay in Vail, Colorado. Our staff strives to provide excellent service and unforgettable experiences. Please let us know when you are in the Vail area again, as we will make sure to put some Peanut Butter Chocolate Bar dessert aside for you!

Sincerely,

Weston Schroeder
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lord gore”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lord Gore, located about five minutes east of Vail village, is the perfect restaurant for anyone looking for an exceptional meal in Vail. Our waiter Chris was the perfect mix of professionalism and character. The chef and owner visited every table while we were there. The restaurant is very upscale with a true western menu featuring elk, bison, etc. The wine list was great and the atmosphere was better than any you will find in the village. Well worth the five minute walk, you will not be disappointed. A great restaurant to visit in Vail. We go there every year and are never disappointed

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing