We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and great food!”

Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Steps away from free Town of Vail Bus system
Description: Manor Vail Lodge is excited to announce that the Fitz Bar & Restaurant (formerly known as the Fitz Lounge) will be taking over the Lord Gore Restaurant. As the hotel celebrates its 50th anniversary, plans of renovating the restaurant and bar space are well underway! The new look will meld together its mountain roots of Colorado with a rustic vibe. The Fitz Bar & Restaurant will be a hip and contemporary bar & dining scene featuring comfort food elevated with locally sourced ingredients, hand-crafted cocktails, and local drafts.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great food!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Five adult family members enjoyed this wonderful restaurant. Our server, Chris went above and beyond to make our meal memorable. His terrific knowledge of the menu was of great help to us. The panoramic view at this restaurant is wonderful...looking directly at the ski mountain through 2 story windows tall and windows the entire width of the restaurant. The food was beautifully presented and very tasty. It was very quiet there that night and we felt like we'd had a personal dining room experience. We would highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 883Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

wonderful waiter, Chris De J was great. My family loved the food and the view of the mountains. Chris' knowledge of wine helped round out the meal. We enjoyed getting to know him a little after the meal. Thanks for the great dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dave k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Director of Sales at Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. We will most certainly share your review with Chris. He is definitely knowledgeable in his wines and adored by all of our customers. We look forward to your visit again in the future!


Sincerely,
Nicole Whitaker
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I went up to Vail for a summer weekend and took advantage of the 3 for $39 deal to celebrate a special occasion. We made our reservation on Open Table but when we arrived, we realized it was pretty empty and we didn't need a reservation. However, we were told that it was usually much busier at that time- I think it had something to do with an event that was going on. We decided to sit outside since it was so mild out and I'm glad we did. The view from the patio was stunning and because of all the flowers all around us, hummingbirds were flying up less than 5 feet away.

The 3 for $39 meal consisted of an appetizer, an entree and a dessert. My absolute favorite was the appetizer of fried green tomatoes and crab cakes- I can't stop thinking about it! I ordered the steak with truffle frites and my steak was exquisite- cooked perfectly medium rare. As for dessert, I went for the creme bruleed cheesecake and my boyfriend chose the chocolate dessert with the passionfruit sauce. We both decided that the cheesecake was the winner but the other was still pretty good. We also ordered a bottle of 'Prisoner' wine- fantastic. And all bottles were 20% off.

Also, overall fantastic service. We decided to order all our courses at once and they were perfectly timed. We enjoyed visiting with our waiter and our host Taylor. We decided to stay to finish our bottle of wine out on the patio and they brought us our own little heater which was so considerate. Highly reccommend this- a great spot in Vail!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I came to the Lord Gore for dinner for our anniversary and I am so glad we did. The restaurant is charming, it feels like you are in the great room of a rustic european lodge. There are literally 12 tables in the whole place. The service is just wonderful, from the host to the server to the manager, they all went out of their way to make our evening special. Apparently when they found out that it was our anniversary they were all arguing about which table to give us because they couldn't agree on which was the most romantic. That is great service. The food is also incredible and they offer 1/2 portions, which is really nice because I can never finish a huge portion anyway. We will absolutely be back.

I would assume you really need a reservation in the busy season as there are so few tables.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time with friends.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a fabulous time catching up with friend. The food was excellent and the service was even better. I would recommend this resturant to anyone looking to have great experience in a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crayzrayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing