We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”
Review of Garfinkel's

Garfinkel's
Ranked #16 of 124 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Since 1992 Garfinkel’s (or, "Garfs" as it is locally known) has been a cornerstone in Lionshead (VAIL) for both tourists and locals alike. Our sunny deck provides the best après ski, sun catching, and overall late spring and summer experience. Over the years some things have changed but the feeling of Garfinkel’s as a classic ski town sports bar/grill atmosphere remains the same. Seasons pass by, memories are created, good times are had, and lifelong friends are made. The walls inside tell the stories of the past with photos of patrons, athletes, and events gone by. You could one day be one of them. So come on down to pay us a visit, relax, eat, drink, enjoy our atmosphere and become part of the Garfinkel’s story.
Magnolia, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Location”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Best location in Vail for drinks/eats on the patio. Food was very good. Staff was busy at times but no hurry in Vail.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    233
    84
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, DE
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great salad and service”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

After completing the berry picker trail hike my wife and I stopped in for lunch.. Sitting on the deck the sun felt great. I had a harvest salad which was excellent. Had the salad dressing not been a store brand the salad would have been superb. My wife had a vegetable plate. The veggies were fresh and I don't know what else you can say about a veggie plate. The server was excellent. Very efficient and very friendly. I enjoyed speaking with him.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bjdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“"Still A Family Favorite"”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our family spent eight days in Vail and ate at Garfinkel's three different times! We ate here the first night in town at the insistence of the 'young men" (ages 16 and 10) in the family!
Garfinkel's is obviously a favorite of the "locals" as well and is nothing "fancy". However, the atmosphere is welcoming and the staff will acknowledge you as you walk in, even though they are busy attending to patrons at the tables. The "decor" is "well-worn", but that doesn't matter because you can tell it's a fun place when you walk in. Bring the kids because there are pinball machines and a couple of other games to keep them occupied until the food arrives. There's also a pool table towards the back of the restaurant.
The view of the mountain from both inside the dining area and of course, outside on the patio is worth a couple of visits. It's situated at the base of the Gondola in Lionshead. The tables outside are wooden picnic benches and your silverware is already on the table in a tin bucket! Nuthin' fancy, folks!
The menu is mostly of a "bar food" nature, but don't bypass the soup on a chilly day cause it's made from scratch! Same for the fettuccine alfredo.The cheese fries are "killer". They cook a great burger. If you like "medium", ask for "medium well" and you'll be happy. The prices are reasonable and the selection of beers will not disappoint.
The wait staff are all very capable and accommodating without "hovering". "Chris" was the star of our experiences at Garfinkel's. He had a great sense of humor and kept us entertained. We were happy to see that our overall impression of Garfinkel's from at least two other recent vacations in Vail has not changed. Of course, we'll go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better than average bar food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

It seems like the food might just be regular "bar food", but we were really pleased with our burgers and salads at Garfinkel's. Good service, great location, decent food. Worth trying.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DM335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Spectacular View, Everything Else 'So So'”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a drink before dinner. The location and the view can't be beat, right at the base of the Gondola.
Being native Texans, were surprised to see that they carried Deep Eddy vodka - a nice treat!
The service was friendly, but there was nothing very special about the restaurant or the menu. Just a normal bar menu. Good enough for a drink or a snack, especially if you just came off the mountain.

Helpful?
Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garfinkel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing