We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Osaki's Sushi & Japanese
Ranked #64 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vail, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

If your a sushi fan this is the spot. a little hard to find, its hidden behind the Sebastian hotel.
l better than Yama, and as good as Matsu, but half the price. walk in only unless your a regular.
only negative no drinks besides beer a, sake, and wine, and no dessert.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    17
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Incredible place, only has around 25 seats but service and food are incredible.
They only take reservations one week in advance, but make sure you have one.
Place is small so large parties are difficult to fit in.
Osaki sushi is my favorite dish, along with the specials which are flown from japan.
Very friendly service and owners are there always ensuring top quality.
A must visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We ate here for our daughter's 7th birthday on vacation. The food was good, not one of the best hibachi places we visited. They don't have the big hoods above the tables and one of the cook's fire displays set the fire alarm off. I imagine this happens frequently without the hoods over the cookers. The fire alarm went off for a good five minutes during our dinner, as we had to wait for the fire department to come turn it off. Even with this experience, the food was decent, it wasn't busy, and the workers were really good to my daughter. They made her birthday dinner enjoyable by singing to her and bringing her a dessert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaceyJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It is so good, we dine there 3 nights of 7”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

being the place so small, makes it super exclusive, the quality of the fish is amazing and the chef takes care and pride in his work! love it love it.
it is expensive, (100 usd per person at least), but soooo worth it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BEUGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

If you've spent any time in Japan, you will appreciate the authentic feel of this little place in Vail. They even had seafood specials flown in from Japan! Everything was delicious and fresh, and they have a very extensive specials menu of sashimi and appetizer dishes. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaki's Sushi & Japanese also viewed

 

Been to Osaki's Sushi & Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing