We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi is good... service not the best”

Osaki's Sushi & Japanese
Ranked #66 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sushi is good... service not the best”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I came here to eat several time, abd the sushi is good, but the staff sometimes are rude, the place is small and a lot of people want to come here to eat, maybe for this one sometimes they are rude! So last time i had problem with the hostess and i will not back again! I no recommend because i dont like the way how they manage it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bimbumbam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    17
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood Village, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We went for the experience of the hibachi grill. That was OK, but not worth the cost. For the money, the food should have been better as well. There are too many other great places in Vail to bother with this one.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“love this place”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Foos is amazing, too bad is so small, you have to make reservation at least 15 days in advance, but if you love sushi, this is the place in vail

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BEUGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but greeting is from hunger”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I tolerate going here because my husband loves the food. I have to agree, the food is outstanding. I can't get past the service.

This time our table service was absolutely fine, but our greeting as we walk in the door by the hostess/coat taker is abominable. She literally barks at you from up the stairs - "Got a reservation with us this evening". (of course we did) No smile. No "Welcome to Osaki Restaurant" nothing. We stood in the tiny, cramped vestibule while she went to check and see if our table was ready. Of course she knows it's ready - there was only one other party in there at the time!

We were seated next to this only other party in the room consisting of 6 very loud Spanish-speaking men who couldn't be bothered to move their chairs to let us in to our chairs so we could sit down!

While the food is quite excellent, it does have a get 'em in get 'em out feel. Just know you're not going for a nice relaxing evening or the friendly greeting!

Your hostess is the first and last person you see and they make the first impression - what an impression she made on us!

I give 5 stars for food, but only 1 star for the service (the hostess).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pineapplegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

In Vail. Want Sushi. The best sushi in Vail is Osaki's. It's very small. Make reservations.

Helpful?
Thank TMGVail_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaki's Sushi & Japanese also viewed

 

Been to Osaki's Sushi & Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing