We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your Patience, Totally Worth It”
Review of Joe's Famous Deli

Joe's Famous Deli
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Take your Patience, Totally Worth It”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for ice cream two afternoons; such a delicious treat! As an ice cream connoisseur, I'd say this definitely exceeded my expectations.
That said, it was a haven for families with 5+ kids so the wait took some time, especially when the kids wanted multiple samples :-)
Not a quick stop but worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    58
    22
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Winning Value in Vail”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Wanting to save a bit of money on lunch in Vail, we ducked down the stairs below street level to find a tiny, six-table treasure of fantastic deli sandwiches and homemade ice creams and sorbets. My chicken sandwich had thinly sliced purple onions, roasted bell peppers, and what looked like fresh basil and pine nuts, toasted on focaccia bread. It was delicious. The key lime sorbet washed it down and left me very pleased. I will return again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and easy. Great sandwiches too!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Easy and great sandwiches! They also have ice cream. Expect to pay a bit more for food than most places but my husband and I split breakfast and lunches to help with expenses. We could always get something else if we wanted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chanel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
230 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Ice cream was almost melted”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Ok, it was a very hot day in Vail. But, I would still expect the ice cream to be at the correct temperature. My kids were very disappointed when after the 5th or 6th lick the whole lot fell on the ground. I would go back as I know lots of people who love this place but, will visit on a cooler day next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mtngyrl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quick, inexpensive for Vail breakfast”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Grabbed breakfast here before rafting. Was a quick, inexpensive for Vail, breakfast. The breakfast sandwich on foccica was not great. Asked for no cheese, but they put cheese on it. Did not find out until after we left and were on the way to raft. So did not enjoy that sandwich. We also go the Huevos Ranchero burrito. It was good. Not what I consider huevos rancheros coming from Texas, but still a good burrito. Would go back to try a sandwich or breakfast for a cheaper option to eat in Vail.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girl1Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Famous Deli also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Famous Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing