We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try The Lamb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Basil

Sweet Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: Voted #1 in Colorado by Zagat Survey, Sweet Basil has been a must for travelers and locals alike since 1977. The cuisine is creative contemporary American utilizing many cultural influences from around the world. Located in the heart of Vail Village, the restaurant blends fine dining with a captivating "bistro-like" energy.
West Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try The Lamb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Food was great, had the Caesar salad with anchovies (but wasn't fishy) and the Lamb T-Bone, maybe the best lamb of my life. Paid a reasonable price for what I ordered. Craig was our waiter, he did a great explaining the menu, gave good recommendations based on my personal likes and dislikes, and made just enough small talk to be engaging but not annoying or intrusive. Hopefully I will be back in Vail often enough to try more of their menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    291
    113
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food but extremely pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We go every year because the food is that good and the food presentation beautiful (We take pictures!). It is a white table cloth restaurant so a bit upper scale dressing which is different for most of Vail. Servers are excellent with great knowledge about the menu which changes. Just know it will be a costly meal. We don't even drink! The view is nice by the windows looking at the river.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best of Vail!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Vail's oldest fine dining establishment.
Excellent Service.
The new outdoor deck overlooking the Gore Creek is great for lunch.
Outstanding Shrimp and Calamari appetizer.
Hot Sticky Pudding Dessert is a must with extra Sticky!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Dissapoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We try to eat at Sweet Basil every time we are in Vail. We like to sit at the bar and chat with the bartender about wine. This particular evening we discussed ordering a Malbec but he suggested a Zin that was very nice and less money than the Malbec. I had the pork belly appetizer which was wonderful and came with very interesting sides. I had the lamb shank as an entree. My husband had the scallops and both were excellent. We are not typically dessert eaters but it was included in the price so we ordered the sticky toffee pudding for desert and took it back to the hotel to eat in front of the fireplace! It was heavenly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CastleRockKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were excited to try this restaurant based on the reviews we had read, but found the overall experience to just be good -- not great, which was a bit disappointing. From the hostess to the waiter, the service was a little lacking for this "level" of restaurant. The food was good, but not as great as what we were expecting. We didn't dine here specifically for the restaurant week special, but ended up trying the lunch prix fixe as it happened to be restaurant week when we were there. One of the people in our party had an allergy and rather than helping accommodate it by adjusting the sauces / preparation, we were told she would just have to choose the other (one of 2) entree option. Unfortunately, the "other" option was lamb, which our friend didn't like. I understand that not all preparations can be tailored, but they didn't even offer to substitute a different dish, after we mentioned that our friend did not like lamb. Slightly disappointing experience, given the "level" of restaurant this is chalked up to be. On the plus side, the trout entree I personally had was well prepared and fresh tasting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EarningsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing