We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant Reception”
Review of The Left Bank

The Left Bank
Reserve with OpenTable
The Left Bank is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: International Bridge
Description: Recently remodeled after 44 years, Left Bank has been a place to wine and dine for discerning locals and visitors from around the world since 1970. Specializing in a very traditional French menu with a modern twist, Left Bank brings you a true fine dining experience in an exquisitely classic way. We have cultivated relationships in France and California over the past 44 years in order to bring you selections of the rarest wines available, impeccably stored and aged for your drinking pleasure. With Jean-Michel Chelain as your Chef - it is my pleasure to consistently use only the freshest ingredients of the finest quality and prepare everything from scratch. Our menu features specials such as Gigolette d'Agneau and Bouillabaisse de Crustaces au Fenouil to offer a truly remarkable culinary dream giving your taste buds a treat. Come see what Left Bank has to offer where you don't just come to eat, you come to dine.
Mexico
1 review
“Arrogant Reception”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We were so badly received that we decided not even to enter the restaurant.
Coat lady friendly and from there all goes wrong.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    50
    15
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

As mentioned in an earlier post, the service was a huge problem. We had a reservation, but the staff appeared very unorganized. The real problem came when it came to paying the check. Our party of 7 did ask to split the bill 3 ways, which I am sure is not ideal for any restaurant, but it did take over 30 minutes for that when the restaurant was clearly not busy. When the divided bill arrived, it was divided incorrectly which then took another 45 minutes. Not cceptable when you have a 7 am meeting! Also as mentioned in a previous post, the food was mediocre….certainly palatable, but not amazing. I had the elk chops which were prepared as ordered, but with the accompaniments the meal was something that I easily could have prepared at home. Since we live in Denver, we go to Vail often, but will not be visiting the Left Bank. Try Kelly Liken.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABWSPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Traditional French Food with slow service”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Walked into the restaurant coat check was very friendly, waited at the host stand for at least five minutes before anyone even acknowledged us, several people walked past & didn't make eye contact. Once seated service was very slow, water order, then finally beverage order, then food order.

The food came out in a timely manner and was fantastic, traditional French, freshly prepared, very hot. Steak was tender, Duck cooked perfectly, Snails in a great garlic butter.

However our drinks were finished well before the food arrived & no refill was ever offered, they left money on the table as all of us would have had at least one more.

Waited upon the again 10 plus mins for check to be dropped. Even though the restaurant is very old fashioned the The food is great, slow unattentive service lets this place down.

Helpful?
Thank Dakine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fine French Dinner”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My first visit to the Left Bank was in 1992 and I have always enjoyed the experience. While it has been some time since I dined there, my family and I had dinner earlier this week. The food was every good and the service was excellent. We enjoyed appetizers, dinner and desert. The wine list was a little pricey and they would be well served to adjust the list to offer some more reasonable options. We would definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBS5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Mediocre...”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Frequent visitors of Vail but it had been years since dining at The Left Bank. We knew of new ownership and looked forward to the experience. Unfortunately it was nowhere close to meeting our expectations and the experiences that we loved at other high end Restaurants in Vail. It wasn't bad by any means but the food didn't seem very fresh and the decor in the restaurant was incredibly dated and drab. A woman came over to inquire how our meal was which was a nice touch since the restaurant was nearly empty. My daughter noticed immediately that she smelled very strongly of cigarettes, which didn't really improve the already weak experience. With a lot of very delicious options in Vail will unlikely return here on our return visits.

Helpful?
Thank bvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Left Bank also viewed

 

Been to The Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing