We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal and dining room”
Review of Terra Bistro

Terra Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Terra Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: For more than 23 years Terra Bistro has been an essential dining destination for Vail Valley visitors, as well as a lasting favorite among locals. Chef Shawn Miller's adventurous approach to seasonal ingredients yields imaginative, carefully-crafted dishes and ever-changing menus. With a special focus on lighter fare, but with plenty of opportunity for indulgence, our menus naturally accommodate a variety of tastes and dietary restrictions, including gluten allergies and vegans. Accompanying our menus is our extensive wine list presented by our very talented in-house Sommelier. Additionally, we offer a variety Colorado craft beers and our specialty cocktails, inspired by Colorado spirits, are often a highlight of our guest's experience.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and dining room”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a beautiful and popular old-style large restaurant with fabulous service and food. I ordered the trout and highly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    156
    61
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the very best in Vail”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The overall experience was fantastic. A foodie paradise. The food is prepared with the freshest and organic ingredients. And the service is extraordinary. If you are looking for a great lunch or a fabulous dinner (different menu for dinner, lighter fare for lunch yet great) you will love this place. It has a wonderful, soothing vibe.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really good food and great service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were worried when we were seated in a room off the rest of the restaurant and were the old people there; we thought we'd be banished as we'd brought the kids. In fact the room soon filled and we asked them to start the fire next to our table and it was lovely. The meal was outstanding. Daughter 1 had the lamb shank - large and delicious, daughter 2 had the ahi tuna starter (so nice there was a war over who could share with her) then she had the lemon fish (very tasty). Son had the pizza and then the mac cheese from the kids menu. Pronounced it the best mac cheese ever in the world (he's had a few). Better half had the wild boar pasta and then the steak, both delicious and I had the trout, which was really nice. No room for dessert.....the sommelier was so helpful and informative. Worth the expense.....highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Griswalds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a great dinner here - I like the fact that the menu includes choices that are reasonably healthy. The vitality salad was great as were the scallops. I had the the quail as a main course and really enjoyed it. One of our group raved about the tuna. The best dish of the night, however, was the molten chocolate cake - this was fantastic and one of the best desserts that I have had for ages.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I knew the price ahead of time but was shocked at how small the portions are. We also didn't find the dishes tasty. We paid $550 for a dinner for 2 persons total but I doubt the value was worth more than $100-150. Even with season and location added into the calculation, I still don't think it adds up. Lastly, the tip was included in the bill (18%) without asking our opinion. Only giving it two stars for the location.

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terra Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing