We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the wall under the bus station”
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #53 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall under the bus station”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We live in San Diego where there is an abundance of good Mexican food. La Cantina doesn't have much atmosphere but it has some pretty good offerings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nonnashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not where you want to eat Mexican”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were looking for a mexican restaurant to bring food back to our hotel for dinner. We tried getting food from the other Mexican restaurant in town but they didn't do to-go, so we ended up here. First of all, it's in the "transportation center", which should have been our first clue. The place was dirty. I watched the order taker/bartender/busser change the trash, take someone's order, and put a lime in a drink without washing his hands between. They may have been understaffed but it didn't seem that busy. I had a margarita while we waited for our food, which was poured from a tap. Not good! The food was fine, nothing special. But it was hard for me to get past the dirtiness to enjoy it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaceyJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap & quite good”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is located in the parking structure and is almost a closet in the structure. Think a small food stand in a run down mall.

But... the food is really good. Not awesome but quite good. It's plain Mexican food well made. So nothing weird or unusual. The tacos are cooked in the fryer with the meat - the best way to make tacos.

The beer choice is decent - a ton of Mexican beers and a couple of micro-brews. It's cool but not ice cold (like you generally get in Europe).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is good if you're in a hustle and need food. Yes, as the other reviews say, La Cantina is in the transportation center, so it's not a great location. It did feel a little dirty due to the sub station atmosphere. However, the food and the prices were pretty good. You also get chips with free refills. The staff is nice, too.

Helpful?
Thank 55015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Refreshing Prices and Great Mexican!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Our 3rd night in Vail we were tired and looking for a "quick snack." The kind folks at Sitzmark Lodge immediately told us of this place. I loved the reasonable (normal) prices and my son gobbled up his enchiladas. I was stuck with leftovers from last night's dinner. Hope to come back to try the crunchy tacos and margaritas.

Helpful?
Thank SStichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing