We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get in my belly YellowBelly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowbelly

Yellowbelly
Ranked #50 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get in my belly YellowBelly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Wow, stumbled in here by chance and so delighted I did
Fresh, tasty, healthy and different!
This is a unique fast food experience, it's priced like fast food too. Local veggies, free range organic chicken, beets,quinoa all delicious.
I had one of the special plates a gyros style sandwich with smashed potatoes and beets perfectly prepared by sweet JULIO.
I actually loved the beets which I normally do not eat.
Anyway - give this place a try! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank homeisbest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ridiculous good food for fair value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling through Vail on vacation in CO (from WI) and looking for somewhere to eat lunch. We drove through town scoping out options, and ended up checking for recommendations on TripAdvisor and Yelp. We came across this place as an excellent option with its' high review rating. BOY were we pleasantly surprised x100! The fried and rotisserie chicken were both to die for and the sides options were KILLER!!! Boylan soda on tap! Fantastic customer service, as well...and all of this at a totally fair value. If we were ever in the area again, we would probably go out of our way to eat at this place again. A+++

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleysezwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
245 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Not your usual kind of Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Happen to drop by the supermarket at West Vail Mall, and chanced upon Yellowbelly.
Decide to do a takeaway as am pressed for time

Ordered a 2 piece white chicken set (smashed potato fries & vegetable au gratin). When i finally ate it, it was WOW. NICEEE!!! Really tasty fried chicken that doesnt taste like those KFC types. the sides that i selected were great too.
Did a small research, and found out this is the only joint, so if you are around the area, do drop by to try their chicken. You will not regret it. They do have a dine in area too. It's a pity i am a tourist and would not be in that area anymore.

Great job Guys, hope you make it big!! =)
(there will be tour buses stopping by the supermarket of West Vail, i think 3-4 times a week, so make use of that opportunity)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwinLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yellow Belly is DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Casual atmosphere. Good value. Friendly staff. Easy walk-up ordering. Most of all, everything on their menu is unique and tasty. You can lean towards their healthy options, or go the fried chicken route... either way, you're guaranteed to have a wonderful meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1fishoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Midwest
Level Contributor
190 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Thee best fried chicken local flare and sides A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

So we totally discovered this place by accident. We were sitting in the lobby of our hotel and a couple of local dudes came in off the mountain and started eating their carry out lunch in the lobby. The aroma was so overwhelming I could not help myself but to mosey over there and ask these guys what they were eating and where it came from? They informed me it was from a local joint specializing in fried chicken. It has not been open that long in fact many locals still don't even know about it. I left the hotel and went right over there. The place is in West Vail and is a small local place. They have some dine in tables but mostly carry out. The fried chicken is awesome. But don't think Kentucky Fried or anything like that cause this chicken is way better. It has a dark thin batter that is slightly spicey. Can't really pin point all the spices but it it great that's all I know. They have a good selection of sides and the macaroni pie, brussel slaw,and citrus quinoa were all wonderful. They don't have delivery service yet but I'm told its in the works. However any of hotel shuttle cars will be happy to take you there for a few dollars. Try it. You will love it and its worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caymankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yellowbelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing