We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Mountain Cupcakes

Mountain Cupcakes
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Vail
Price range: $3 - $6
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The cake was dry, not sweet and decorated like my child did it, certainly not an expert. It was a small round cake and was 70$. I felt very expensive even for Vail standards when our group of 4 adults and 4 kids didn't even like it. We each tried it and the rest was left over for our week in Vail, no one has eaten it and we will have to throw it out. The second day it was hard as a rock also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IngraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
1,039 reviews
820 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 931 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced Even for Vail”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

$5 for a dry stale cupcake without much flavor is pretty outrageous even for Vail prices. I was totally unimpressed and would not purchase another one. Too bad.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Owner at Mountain Cupcakes, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I apologize for your experience in the store with dry product. Everything is always made the day of with no day old cupcakes of any kind available. Please let me know, via email (mountaincupcakes@gmail.com) or in this platform, what you had on your trip to Vail so I can do my best to not allow this to happen in the future.

Looking forward to hearing from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the village”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I found the cupcakes to be good (2visits)

My wife found them outstanding. Her big like was tat he icing wasn't too sweet

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank buddy084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice - and delicious”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in Vail for my birthday - and my wife got a birthday cake from Mountain Cupcake.
The lady was very helpful, friendly and delivered a delicious chocolate cake - amazing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cakes but pricey”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Well no one makes cupcakes as good as these anywhere in the Vail Valley....that said let me describe the red velvet frosted cakes as heavenly and the best I have ever had. You can't go wrong with the carrot cakes either...that said when you have to pay close to $20 dollars for 4 cupcakes that is a bit over the top for my taste and budget. Give'em a try as they are rich, moist and really good!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrewVail8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing