We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and drinks”
Review of Tavern on the Gore - CLOSED

Tavern on the Gore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: This is a brand new restaurant in Vail Village
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This restaurant is nicely located right on the Gore Creek. We sat outside on the deck which overlooked the Creek and watch the kayakers. I enjoyed the chicken marsala which was delicious. My husband ordered the 1/2 rack of ribs. They were very good, but very spicy! I had two bites and my tongue was on fire!! They also made a very good Colorado bulldog!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nebrtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice spot to have a drinks and snacks”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Sports tavern that offers outside seating on the water. Singer was entertaining on the deck and the staff was very good. Nice beer selection and the food menu offers many options. Highlights.....tempura shrimp, hummus and bruschetta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quick service, good food and drinks, and a great view!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A friend and I ate lunch at Tavern on the Gore in Vail to get a pub-ish style restaurant that wasn't too fancy. The other options in town were more than we wanted to pay at that moment. The inside of the restaurant was nicer than we expected, and the food was higher quality than your average pub. Great hummus starter, and I wanted comfort food, so I ordered the tomato soup and grilled cheese. Don't judge! It tasted great, and it was the perfect portion for me (especially after a drink and an appetizer)! I would recommend anyone to go here, and I would go back. Actually, we stopped in again the same day around 10pm. The kitchen was closed, but the bar was open, and the drink menu was pretty good. Give it a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMarieDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cozy not over-priced upscale sports restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

It is a classy sports bar/restaurant with tv's all over and at most tables. The food and the ambiance was great. Buffalo steak ($30) and the lamp chops ($33) were great. They have also a patio overlooking the river. But it was too cold to sit outside. We were 4 guys, but it looked also like a good place for families. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenStateTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Adventurous Take on Pub Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I stopped in here after turning in our skis during our last full day in Vail. The restaurant wasn't too busy during this lunchtime. Our server was nice, and she checked back frequently enough without being bothersome.

The view from our table was beautiful (overlooking an outdoor fireplace on the shore of Gore Creek). Sarah had the Bison sliders, and I had the Tavern burger (also Bison). We were both very pleased with the food.

The menu was a little expensive for lunch, but, hey, it's Vail. We were very happy we went, and I would like to eat here again someday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on the Gore also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing