We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place, Food Just ok”
Review of Tavern on the Gore - CLOSED

Tavern on the Gore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: This is a brand new restaurant in Vail Village
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place, Food Just ok”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was looking for a place to watch a couple of sporting events in Vail and found Tavern on Gore in heart of Vail Village. Place was nearly empty on a cold and snowy January evening. Staff was very nice and accommodating, restaurant is new, pretty, and cozy, and great for watching a ball game (private screens in the booths, multiple screens throughout the restaurant), yet not really a sports bar. Food was just ok but everyone was so nice and accommodating that the overall experience was positive. The cooks even came out and asked for a critique of the food and seemed genuinely interested in doing better. I hope this place makes it because it has a lot of positives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosiervinophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great salads”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I visited the Tavern on the Gore for the first time. Great salads and good value in Vail. I made a reservation and thought it was the Tavern at the Arabelle, but was surprised when it was a different restaurant. Food was really nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool concept, great service, good food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Tavern on the Gore is good place on the heart of Vail village. It has your standard fish and steak, but also some other unique offerings, such as Bacon Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf. I was wanting a steak that night and it was good, but not great. The clam chowder before was very good, as well as the artichoke dip.

The nice thing was concept of a high end sports bar. Most tables have tvs and there is a room in the back with a large TV. It was nicely done.

Also, the service was excellent, something I can't say for many of the Vail restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RW2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great Service, Great Food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had lunch here yesterday. The inside is beautiful with wood paneling, stone pillars and tvs everywhere. Our waiter was very friendly, the food was great and the manager was very helpful with my sons food allergies. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Has potential to be great, but was just okay”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The setting is upbeat and the service was wonderful - beyond excellent. My child was thrilled with his food from the children's menu, which was hot and freshly prepared. While the bistro steak was perfectly cooked in a delicious - but salty - sauce, the coho salmon was dry and overcooked and the risotto that accompanied it was so salty that it was barely edible (a bummer at $30). We shared the spinach artichoke dip starter, which was good with homemade potato chips (not served in a bread bowl as advertised on the menu) and split a salad that was ho-hum. The wait staff was so attentive and really wanted to please - too bad that the food didn't match their efforts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing