We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, But Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, But Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place has a pretty arrogant vibe to it, even by Vail standards. Staff was very cold, parking was downright crappy. Room was pretty nice, but was also pretty loud. I'd only stay here again if I was skiing in Vail or Beavercreek. Otherwise, I'd advise staying in Frisco. On the bright side, their hot tub was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank off2h2oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear off2h2oski,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. Our goal is to provide excellent guest experiences but we are sorry that this stay was not 100% satisfactory for you due to the level of service received and parking condition being sub par. We take all feedback seriously and your comments are very essential for us to improve to ensure similar incidents are avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    133
    77
    31
    29
See reviews for
93
114
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

For being only a free ten minute shuttle from the mountain you can't beat it. The lobby is also very well done so you know you're in Colorado. Rooms were average but can't beat the price in the area. Bloody Mary's at the adjoining restaurant were a plus as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank yo so much for taking a moment and writing such a complimentary review on our hotel. It makes such a difference to us to know that we're doing things right.

Respectfully,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Pros: Average holiday inn standard, shuttle to vail village for skiing, great adjoining breakfast place, free parking

Cons: Totally indifferent front desk staff, location is not close to Vail village, cost is quite high for the services provided (even for vail).

Overall, an average establishment let down by indifferent attitudes by staff at this location

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo82UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
I am certainly distressed that you were disappointed with your stay and please accept my apologies for our shortcomings. I hope if you're ever in the area again you'll give us another try.

Respectfully,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vail hotels

Bernardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our group of 47 stayed here five nights and it was a very good place to stay. You are close to Lions Head entrance to Vail, but the hotel shuttle which runs every half hour will take you to the center of Vail also. There are city busses that take you there every 15 minutes from Lions Head. The breakfast was very good - excellent omelettes. We had group dinners and the chef did not disappoint us. Staff very friendly, took good care of a lost purse till owner asked at desk. The rooms were not large but quite comfortable with refrig for leftovers. Bed comfortable. Massage available, ask for female. Wood fire to come home to. If on 4th floor, elevator needs code.

Room Tip: ask for one no more than halfway down the hall from elevator. Long walk to end of corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
I am so delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and that we took good care of you. Thank you so much for your kind words and I hope you will return and stay with us again

Respectfully,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn from February 23-28, 2014. The front desk had little energy bars for us each day and face cream which really soothed our faces after a great day of skiing. The restaurant has a reputation with the locals for having the best breakfast in Vail! The sushi in the lobby bar was outstanding and the shuttle to the slopes was reliable and staffed by fun, personable staff. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds as comfortable as any $900 per night room!

We will be back next year unless I can sneak away for some Spring skiing....Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusseyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
And we cannot wait for you to return! Thank you so much for staying with us and I am so delighted to know that we gave you enjoyed the energy bars and face cream. we look forward in seeing you in the Spring as Vail is just as beautiful year round!

Many thanks!

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent 9 days here, from 19 to 28 February.
Good location to the slopes with free hotel shuttle to Lionshead and the Eagle Bahn gondola.
Big clean room and a good restaurant on the premises.
We got in after a long flight from Sweden and a 3+ hour drive from Denver in blizzard conditions (4wd is recommended if snow is forecast). Fast expedient check-in at the hotel.
We were considering extending our stay and got all the help we needed and more at the front desk to evaluate our options (ask for Andrew, he's your man..!)

To sum it up: we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aford1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Very many thanks for your kind words. I am so glad to know that we took such good care of you! Andrew is indeed a valued employee and invariably epitomizes “hospitality”. He is always so happy and his colleagues are also invariably a delight (I hope!). Many thanks for staying with us again and I have passed on your kind words to everyone.

Respectfully,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Vail as my son was having knee surgery. What was supposed to be 2 days turned into 2 weeks. The staff there was so friendly and understanding of my son's needs. One day it was snowing so bad I was afraid to drive and the manager Mark took us and picked us him in his personal vehicle, that's service! And that is how we were treated by the ENTIRE staff. The restaurants there are all great, especially Nozawa..awesome Sushi. Many thanks to the staff of this hotel for their generousity and customer service, you just don't find that very often any more. Good news is we'll be back in the spring!

Room Tip: The Holiday Inn has the best rates in Vail, well worth what we paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQSFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Susie,

Once again, thank you for writing such a wonderful review on our hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you and your son and we look forward in seeing you again in the springtime.

Respectfully,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
2.2 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 31 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.5 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail
2.7 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
0.2 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 2211 North Frontage Rd, Vail, CO 81657-3937
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vail
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Vail - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Apex Vail Hotel is a remodeled multi-million dollar hotel. As a Vail Quality Holiday Inn, the amenities on-site match those of a 5-star resort. On-site you will find three popular restaurants of varied cuisine from sushi to Mexican, a breathtaking cozy lobby lounge, richly appointed hotel rooms and mountain style condominiums , as well as a massage studio for an affordable yet luxurious experience. We pride ourselves in offering our guests a truly unique combination of outstanding products and guest experience combined with value. The Holiday Inn Apex Vail Hotel is located just minutes away from Vail Village and offers a free shuttle service to the Vail Ski Mountain throughout the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Apex Vail Hotel Vail
Holiday Inn Vail
Vail Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing